10 hours ago, RadX said:

My 12 yr old thinkpad t420. Boosted to 20gb RAM and 2TB ssd

what’s gd is the parts easily found and cheap

t420 costs $199 now haha

E14C0795-322F-4E13-9A60-B0CBC2C37789.jpeg

You may pretend to be Normal. 

But I know that you are a Standard Deviant, just like me. 

Ok, I'll stop being Mean now. 

😁

Actually why Pundek like you teaching Normal ah? You should be teaching Poison right? Or is it Poisson? 😂

One thing about Linux Mint is the author's politics. 

I don't want to get political here (this is not our usual kuching kurap kind of politics, this stuff can inspire very vocal, even violent views in many folk). The important thing is that the author (Clement Lefebvre) basically does not want you to use his distro if you hold a particular political view on the Middle East. 

You can read more about it here: https://abriefhistory.org/?p=774

That's one reason I've never been tempted to try it out, despite the rave reviews. It's not so much about my own views, it's that I just don't feel like using the work of someone who feels so virulently about a certain political issue that he actually sets limits on supposedly "free" software because of it. I don't trust people like that.

1 hour ago, Turboflat4 said:

You may pretend to be Normal. 

But I know that you are a Standard Deviant, just like me. 

Ok, I'll stop being Mean now. 

😁

Actually why Pundek like you teaching Normal ah? You should be teaching Poison right? Or is it Poisson? 😂

Lol

that up next la 😂

5 minutes ago, RadX said:

Lol

that up next la 😂

You gonna cover the Gay Ah Ma distribution also? 😂

How about the related Er.... Lan!!! distribution? 🤣

5 hours ago, Turboflat4 said:

One thing about Linux Mint is the author's politics. 

I don't want to get political here (this is not our usual kuching kurap kind of politics, this stuff can inspire very vocal, even violent views in many folk). The important thing is that the author (Clement Lefebvre) basically does not want you to use his distro if you hold a particular political view on the Middle East. 

You can read more about it here: https://abriefhistory.org/?p=774

That's one reason I've never been tempted to try it out, despite the rave reviews. It's not so much about my own views, it's that I just don't feel like using the work of someone who feels so virulently about a certain political issue that he actually sets limits on supposedly "free" software because of it. I don't trust people like that.

Is it really not your own views?

If he said those who support hitler and his genocide in ww2 should not use the software, you would also not feel like using it?

20 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

Is it really not your own views?

If he said those who support hitler and his genocide in ww2 should not use the software, you would also not feel like using it?

As I've already said, I am not debating this, no matter the strawmen or false equivalencies you may try to proffer. You can start this flame war by yourself if you like but someone other than me may rise to the bait and it will not end well as there are always those who hold diametrically opposed views on any hot button issue, and this issue is more sensitive than most.

I am only highlighting it here so people who use the software are aware of the author's stance (his views are not as relevant as what he said about his wishes about who shouldn't use his OS). 

That is all. Use Linux Mint or not, that's up to you. No one will police you. Cheers.

On 4/30/2020 at 6:08 PM, Tok said:

I have a Dell CPU installed with window 7. It has been with me for about 7 years.

As window 7 cannot be used anymore, is it worthwhile to install window 10.

Not sure how long more would the hard disk and the rest of the parts will last.

i just upgraded an old HP 4421s laptop with 128GB SSD for about $30.  My wife used it as a spare laptop for doing web surfing and MS apps.  good enough for normal usage.  Although it is a little bit slow compared to our newer laptops, but still 100% functional. 

The laptop must be 9-10 year old now...still going strong

wanna seek some quick advise.

I've a Dell desktop about 2 years old running on window 10. Almost every startup the PC doesn't load, CPU light shown as blinking but monitor showing blank screen. I'lll need to hardpress to restart before it will load to show on my monitor, what could be the likely reason. I've done a full format with window 10 still facing the same issue.

16 minutes ago, Dafansu said:

I've a Dell desktop about 2 years old running on window 10. Almost every startup the PC doesn't load, CPU light shown as blinking but monitor showing blank screen. I'lll need to hardpress to restart before it will load to show on my monitor, what could be the likely reason. I've done a full format with window 10 still facing the same issue.

Quite likely a hardware fault or intermittent connection. Try to remove, clean or re-insert any added hardware, like expansion memory or cables connecting hardisk, etc.

23 minutes ago, Dafansu said:

Dell sucks !! Bought one 6 years ago for about 2.4k. Lucky bought extended warranty. After 1.5yrs, motherboard koyak. 4 years later, battery dead. Last week kenna this --> 

1720402674_howtofixerrorcode0xc00000341.jpg.782081ea9bbcb52ce668b19a1129fc0f.jpg

Also bought an Acer AIO at the same time, about 1.5K. Surf prawn everyday and other rubbish sites ..... Till today still no issues apart from CD player spoil. 

10 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

unless u are a techie, why would u want to run linux.

Agree. I think chrome OS is more user friendly in term of usage and learning curve. Since, almost everyone have used a chrome browser before. . . 

As for browser, you all should test drive Brave.

It's based on Chrome, but with all the goodies like ad blocking, https everywhere, etc...and fast.

10 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

As for browser, you all should test drive Brave.

It's based on Chrome, but with all the goodies like ad blocking, https everywhere, etc...and fast.

Agree

quite a clean no nonsense browser

On 4/30/2020 at 6:08 PM, Tok said:

I have a Dell CPU installed with window 7. It has been with me for about 7 years.

As window 7 cannot be used anymore, is it worthwhile to install window 10.

Not sure how long more would the hard disk and the rest of the parts will last.

OK.  So you missed out on Microsoft FREE Win10 upgrade in 2016/7?? Whether legal or illegal or whatever Microsoft OS.  Free upgrade to Legit Win10 lor.

No problem.  Go find the Genuine W7 License Serial label.  Go google Microsoft Win7 upgrade for Win10.  No need to go darkweb to find la.  I assume you don't know how to access darkweb la .....

While the offer is closed.  The server is still working as of early this year 2020.

Try to see if you can get a FREE upgrade lor.

Can't find ?

https://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/get-windows-10-free-or-cheap,5717.html

Actually hor, these day, without license key you can continue to use Win10 lor, just live with the Activate Windows watermark and cannot change wall paper. You still get critical security update.

Next think is, yes, you can continue to use your CPU, I just upgrade my 7 years old PC :

a) Change HDD to SSD 512GB crucial mx500 lor.  The speed up is worth the $80++ I paid, or I remember.

b) Clone HDD to the new SSD using 

Watch :

I recommend you use EaseUS ToDo, free trial copy.

Use a USB to SATA controller if your is a NOTEBOOK, use naive SATA if your is a PC.

Where to BUY USB to SATA controller ........ Cheaply...

Where else ?  Qoo10 lor..

https://www.qoo10.sg/item/SAVFY-USB-2-0-3-0-TO-SATA-22-PIN-SSD-CABLE-CONNECTOR-2-5-HARD-DISK/603172141?banner_no=1305330

I buy USB2.0, cheap good and reliable ... a few months ago was like $3.....now, the situation, major increase $5.

Keep the original HDD.

Still want a Legit and Cheap Win10??

Try this :

https://www.kinguin.net/c/15019/windows

How they get such low price ?  Microsoft sell to PC manufacturer very cheaply lor, they buy up the excess lor.

Another way is that they recycle Win7 licence key to Win10, the one I mentioned above.

Finally, I also upgrade monitor 24" Samsung don't know simi model .......S$129 before the lockdown.

Good luck hor....

PS: PC too old I usually change OS to Ubuntu LTS - Long Term Support version.  It run leaner and faster than Win10 got everything Win10 have lor.  Like for this thread viewing I am using Ubuntu 18LTS lor ......

8 hours ago, Othello said:

Dell sucks !! Bought one 6 years ago for about 2.4k. Lucky bought extended warranty. After 1.5yrs, motherboard koyak. 4 years later, battery dead. Last week kenna this --> 

1720402674_howtofixerrorcode0xc00000341.jpg.782081ea9bbcb52ce668b19a1129fc0f.jpg

Also bought an Acer AIO at the same time, about 1.5K. Surf prawn everyday and other rubbish sites ..... Till today still no issues apart from CD player spoil. 

Yup agreed, my first dell, seems like alot of issues. 

On 5/2/2020 at 9:06 AM, Othello said:

Wah. I also kena this blue screen on Friday. Tried to reconnecting the HDD and redo the bios but still dead.

• Sad 1