Showrooms not opening in Phase 1. What about COE?

Lotr

43 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Entire sectors like aviation, exhibitions have revenues dropped to zero. And globally too. An you think this is not as bad as 08 or 97?

construction. retail, various wholesalers to construction and aviation and autombiles, semicons, some F&B also jia lat. The list goes on.

Govt has a hand in this. They can always announce a quote reduction citing lower demand and high used car inventory. If you ask me, COE price needs to be more stable. If can maintain around 25k-30k will be good.

Number of private car

2018: 551,575

2019: 555,540 

May 2020: 554,767

Number of PHV

2018: 66,480

2019: 77,141

May 2020: 75,336

We could be looking at reduction in quota.

11 minutes ago, yishunite said:

When COE is $30k, $20k seems like buyer market.

When COE is $10k, $20k seems like seller market... we need to see an actual bid first all the talk right now is tikam tikam

3 hours ago, Jamesc said:

I will only believe 20k COE when I see it. 

Then I get a new car for my MIL. 

2 hours ago, Wildfaye29 said:

no 10k no talk la

so when 10k come?

@Philipkee wan to buy honda city, Kah advertise 45k exclude coe

honda fit is 25k exclude profit and coe - do the math 

So wait for COE bidding first lor.  Then see.

I hope to get it this year.  If not next year.. if not I hope the SE don't retire first.  Or the Honda City become something not sold.  Example. My accent.  Wanted to get a manual.  I think and think until the SE told me this is last unit and they are not getting any more manual.  You want you buy or forever hold your peace....

Only then did I buy my accent.  :D

Edited by Philipkee

2 more weeks we see the coe results. Hehe. Long over dued.

Though my gut feel is coe will drop. Perhaps 20k coe range frm june 6th

1 hour ago, Philipkee said:

So wait for COE bidding first lor.  Then see.

I hope to get it this year.  If not next year.. if not I hope the SE don't retire first.  Or the Honda City become something not sold.  Example. My accent.  Wanted to get a manual.  I think and think until the SE told me this is last unit and they are not getting any more manual.  You want you buy or forever hold your peace....

Only then did I buy my accent.  :D

No rush no rush since you have already been thinking and thinking for so long liao. Lol.

Actually I've a suggestion to LTA, in order to buy a car - instead of having the COE system. You issue a permit system. In order to be eligible for the permit, you must first submit an approval list - stating why you need a car? For those families with young children, elderly with disabilities, you will be issued with a permit to buy a car. Individual can submit/apply for this permit via this SingPass account. And they will need to submit the necessary supporting documentations and go for an interview with the authorising officer/approving officer from the agency for requirement assessment before they can be get the approval.

For those who job function, role and responsibilities are requires them to have mobility transport - in order to aid their job, the company HR will make use of CorpPass to submit a request to LTA requesting for approval for permit to use, own and drive a car on the road on Singapore. 

For commercial organisation, like logistics company, transport company who usually purchase commercial vehicle for transportation, they will also need to submit this application in order to prevent families and individual who purchase commercial for household purpose.

Having a car is like having a washing machine, a fridge and helpers for some families. These are tools to aid them to make their life easier, and not to make their life more difficult. Instead of just dishing out money via grant, we give these families the "tools" to make a living for themselves. It is usually these families that requires these "tools" to make their life better. Removing/Taking away this set of "tools" is like asking these individuals to work, but not giving them the necessary and required "tools" to perform their function.

1 hour ago, Dinosaur33 said:

Actually I've a suggestion to LTA, in order to buy a car - instead of having the COE system. You issue a permit system. 

Hard lah.. People buy car for no reason oso leh.. they just like the new ferrari.. lambo.. the new BMW M series Mercs AMG etc.. how to justify these purchases? not necessary Needs but a Want..And these are the people that make the economy goes around.. 

Honestly is there a Real need for most? for me is the conveniences and privacy.. if these can consider a needs.. 

Maybe they need to hire more maids.. "Low mileage car for sales.. Maid use for mkt on weekend only" 🤣

2 hours ago, Dinosaur33 said:

Actually I've a suggestion to LTA, in order to buy a car - instead of having the COE system. You issue a permit system. In order to be eligible for the permit, you must first submit an approval list - stating why you need a car? For those families with young children, elderly with disabilities, you will be issued with a permit to buy a car. Individual can submit/apply for this permit via this SingPass account. And they will need to submit the necessary supporting documentations and go for an interview with the authorising officer/approving officer from the agency for requirement assessment before they can be get the approval.

For those who job function, role and responsibilities are requires them to have mobility transport - in order to aid their job, the company HR will make use of CorpPass to submit a request to LTA requesting for approval for permit to use, own and drive a car on the road on Singapore. 

For commercial organisation, like logistics company, transport company who usually purchase commercial vehicle for transportation, they will also need to submit this application in order to prevent families and individual who purchase commercial for household purpose.

Having a car is like having a washing machine, a fridge and helpers for some families. These are tools to aid them to make their life easier, and not to make their life more difficult. Instead of just dishing out money via grant, we give these families the "tools" to make a living for themselves. It is usually these families that requires these "tools" to make their life better. Removing/Taking away this set of "tools" is like asking these individuals to work, but not giving them the necessary and required "tools" to perform their function.

Don’t waste time la.

Except Open Cat, all other cat must be bid using Singpass/Corppass.

AD price will be more transparent 

2 hours ago, Dinosaur33 said:

Yeah free COE for family man with 3 kids or more. 

I vote for you. 

7 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Don’t waste time la.

Agreed. Waste of time to implement all these. In the end the KPI is how much revenue from coe. So more important to balance quota vs price to eek out the maximum. Who cares what the people need or want. Got money buy, no money F off one side. 

Edited by Mkl22

3 hours ago, Dinosaur33 said:

Usually when people give such suggestions like a permit system, usually by coincidence, they or their loved ones will fit into the criteria where a permit should be granted.

Another possibility.

Set a reserve price for COE.  Let's say $30k.  If it goes beyond that, take the higher value.  If it's lower than that, take $30k.

Then have some for those who need it.  Like the ones you suggested.  They have to agree to be means tested. Pass it and they get a COE for $30k - fixed regardless of quota or actual COE.  If they fail it, they bid like everyone else.

51 minutes ago, inlinesix said:

Don’t waste time la.

In addition, every successful bid MUST end up with a purchase. This will prevent speculators or people who bid for fun and never use the Coe.  If condition changed after bidding so you cannot buy the car, you pay a fine of 30% of the COE price so you need to think very very carefully before bidding.

1 minute ago, Philipkee said:

Usually when people give such suggestions like a permit system, usually by coincidence, they or their loved ones will fit into the criteria where a permit should be granted.

Another possibility.

Set a reserve price for COE.  Let's say $30k.  If it goes beyond that, take the higher value.  If it's lower than that, take $30k.

Then have some for those who need it.  Like the ones you suggested.  They have to agree to be means tested. Pass it and they get a COE for $30k - fixed regardless of quota or actual COE.  If they fail it, they bid like everyone else.

Don't waste time all this.

Just make COE (except Open CAT) bidding via SingPass/CorpPass, can liao.

No cash no talk.

Just now, Philipkee said:

In addition, every successful bid MUST end up with a purchase. This will prevent speculators or people who bid for fun and never use the Coe.  If condition changed after bidding so you cannot buy the car, you pay a fine of 30% of the COE price so you need to think very very carefully before bidding.

Only open cat can transfer.  How to speculate?