Parliament debate 2020/2021

Yewheng

12 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Talking about university ranking.. My friend was saying one of the criteria to have higher up university ranking is the ration of international students in that university. Meaning the higher the number of international students the higher the ranking if all else equal. (don't know is it true or not?). So that itself create issues like must have certain number of international students coming in if not our university ranking will drop. So perhaps that's the reason why our universities keep on want many international students. Is it good or bad? I think it work both ways, if there are locals that eyeing on say this degree courses and actually have slot. But then too bad need to have certain number of international students to up ranking, so end up this slot goes to international students. So the whole university ranking itself is somewhat a little bit flawed in a way. 

But that narrative doesn't square up when govt is telling locals no need degree while flooding the market with FT degrees. 

To add fire... I'm pretty sure those locals rejected by local U also have no problem getting into those very foreign Us the FTs are coming from... this is a VERYYY serious logical disconnect. 

39 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

JT in parliment, off hand maybe do not have the figure. It is not immediate get the figure out of nowhere. Need someone to give the figure, even if can chun out figure fast, she need to call, email or WhatsApp or what and need to wait for the person to reply. This process can be all done in parliament sitting itself? 

https://www.gov.sg/article/how-parliament-works

MPs can send in notices of questions that they wish to ask the Ministers, amendments that they wish to propose to Bills already introduced, or issues which they want to discuss at the forthcoming sitting. All the items to be considered are printed in an Order Paper.

the questions are sent in before the parliament

the ministers should have already prepared the answers with the help of his ministry and resources

35 minutes ago, Freeder said:

Cannot churn Out then CRY lor...

Win liao Lor...

Dont know since when or who started, ministers like to cry during parliment? Dont know what it means? Or what they are trying to prove?

29 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

I mean we should think things in a logical way in a setting. The Crying got nothing to do with jamus lim question leh. She did not cry when jamus lim asked about the absolute number in terms of % is not that dramatic as compared to the numbers itself. 

The main crux of the crying game is that being a highly paid ministars, they should be firm and steady when dealing with pressure from all angles..

Not getting emotional when all hopes are on them to turn things around when they are elected by the people to do it..

So it doesn’t cut it for me..

4 minutes ago, Freeder said:

The main crux of the crying game is that being a highly paid ministars, they should be firm and steady when dealing with pressure from all angles..

Not getting emotional when all hopes are on them to turn things around when they are elected by the people to do it..

Ya lor.. But end of the day we all are human. Yeah.. It is that we also need to constantly remind politicians that there is risk of using emotion to make decision and cloud judgement. So need to be very careful on that. 

Edited by Yewheng

Really wasted inderjit Singh should continue remain as a mp or even to become a minister. He has the caliber, but well.. Haiz.. 

Edited by Yewheng

1 minute ago, Freeder said:

Exactly, these ministers are so overly paid, and yet if cannot handle the job, pressure, criticism and stress, guess they should step down from the position. No point crying infront of the public, esp if you could not do a good job in the first place. Unless you have done a very good job, connect and empathy with the ground people, trying very hard and best to find a solution, but the end result still cannot make it and when you cry, people might still sympathy you.

1 minute ago, 13177 said:

Exactly, these ministers are so overly paid, and yet if cannot handle the job, pressure, criticism and stress, guess they should step down from the position. No point crying infront of the public, esp if you could not do a good job in the first place. Unless you have done a very good job, connect and empathy with the ground people, trying very hard and best to find a solution, but the end result still cannot make it and when you cry, people might still sympathy you.

This is what it is and what we have now, have to make to with it for next 5 yrs. So yeah, must think of ways to help each other and not kill each other. 

3 minutes ago, Yewheng said:

Really wasted inderjit Singh should continue remain as a mp or even to become a minister. He has the caliber, but well.. Haiz.. 

If he have the chance to become one, he have to  [lipsrsealed]  mouth as he is under LHL... -_-

He cannot talk bad about the system implemented by his own party, right ?  :slow:

10 minutes ago, Kopites said:

https://mothership.sg/2020/09/singaporeans-two-jobs//amp

Quote"S'porean workers should be allowed to take up 2 jobs for 'better job security': Chong Kee Hiong"

Stupidity has no boundary!

Ya lor.. Wtf man.. This one also need to bring up parliment to debate? This one is between employer and employee agreement lao leh. If employer just don't want employee to have 2nd job outside and this employee feel that he/she would like 2nd employment outside. Then this employee should decide for him or herself whether to join this company or find other company that allows him or her to take 2nd employment. So no need parliament debate to tell employer what to do what.. 

They thought they could micro-manage everything? How can it be? They are not working in that company, so how they know what's happening on the ground? Companies sure have reasons to make certain decisions, no need government step in and micro-manage and make things worst. They do not work in that company and yet want to have a say and micro-manage? Common.. 

Edited by Yewheng

21 minutes ago, Picnic06-Biante15 said:

If he have the chance to become one, he have to  [lipsrsealed]  mouth as he is under LHL... -_-

He cannot talk bad about the system implemented by his own party, right ?  :slow:

Be he still acted as election agent for lhl right?🤔

It's just strange to me... if don't want to work for him.. yet still be his agent.