SIM Only Mobile Plans Discussion

Blueray

In real life usage is Lion king 5g faster than 8 4g?

Or cannot feel it?

5th Gear

i have switched to 8 Mobile

when i go JB, network is showing as starhub... 😄 not sure why 

On 4/2/2025 at 9:22 AM, Actan72 said:

i have switched to 8 Mobile

when i go JB, network is showing as starhub... 😄 not sure why 

You didn't go far enough.....

Just like East Coast Park some people get Indonesia signal if their roaming is on and they got charged overseas call.

The best was when M1 had CDMA I get SG signal 6 miles into JB.

CDMA was the better technology than GSM.

On 4/2/2025 at 11:38 AM, Jamesc said:

The best was when M1 had CDMA I get SG signal 6 miles into JB.

CDMA was the better technology than GSM.

Like Betamax vs VHS, just that the US p@rn industry chose VHS and we all then had to suck it up and follow suit.

On 4/1/2025 at 6:20 PM, Jamesc said:

In real life usage is Lion king 5g faster than 8 4g?

Or cannot feel it?

I just did a test. I can't fault Simba 5G as slower.

eight 4G (top) vs Simba 5G (bottom)

rovz7vC.jpeg

That's a big difference. 

On 4/2/2025 at 12:03 PM, Kb27 said:

I just did a test. I can't fault Simba 5G as slower.

eight 4G (top) vs Simba 5G (bottom)

rovz7vC.jpeg

So 8 4g speed is comparable to lion king 5g but 8 coverage is better.

And roaming 8 has 8gb and lion only 7gb.

Used car salesman coverage more important. 

Customer call up to buy car and half way line drop and lose the sale. 

Cannot lah.

On 4/2/2025 at 12:32 PM, Lala81 said:

Eight 4g inside my workplace. 

Screenshot_2025-04-02-12-31-11-98_79d0ff8f9752a3fc32487e6d62330a6a.jpg

It seems like the speed is dependent on location.

4G / 5G is the initial point of contact for the mobile device, which defines the RF network capabilities.

But the backend which is connected to the routing network and internet is dependant on aggregated traffic at that area.

So, MVNO like eight, cannot be assumed to have the same speed test as Starhub, which it used only for the RF network.

Theoretically, 4G+ network has a max speed of 250Mbps.

How yours do the speed test? Through an app?

Edited by Kopites

On 4/2/2025 at 3:17 PM, Kopites said:

How yours do the speed test? Through an app?

just search speedtest. 

Simba aka TPG kena short changed from IDA, gotten the 4g license in late 2016 and started trial in 2018 and launch in 2020 which also the year for bidding for 5g. Loss the 5g bid in 2020 and only gotten it in 2021 when IMDA reconsider the 5g license, whereas other telco already got a head start in 5g infrastructure. Probably need a few more years to catch up provided they have enough $$$ to burn.

8 mbps download speed? Wah, is like go make a cup of kopi come back the page still loading? 

Actually I am also thinking of switching, so I also just did a test. My M1 5G download speed is just above 300 mbps, and already I feel it is not exactly fast, don't think I can live with 8 mbps download speed man. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Screenshot_2025-04-02-17-28-52-65_79d0ff8f9752a3fc32487e6d62330a6a.thumb.jpg.4a7d4abef4b4c0664c13b8eabf9f17c4.jpg

On 4/2/2025 at 10:11 PM, Tianmo said:

8 mbps download speed? Wah, is like go make a cup of kopi come back the page still loading? 

Actually I am also thinking of switching, so I also just did a test. My M1 5G download speed is just above 300 mbps, and already I feel it is not exactly fast, don't think I can live with 8 mbps download speed man. [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Screenshot_2025-04-02-17-28-52-65_79d0ff8f9752a3fc32487e6d62330a6a.thumb.jpg.4a7d4abef4b4c0664c13b8eabf9f17c4.jpg

At my place, eight is consistently getting only 8Mbps, maybe that's why it's called 8. 😁 Simba 5G is not the best, it seems to peak at 100Mbps.

I remember I had giga 5G, and it did 300Mbps.

Perhaps both eight and Simba are throttling on the backend, which is why they can offer "more" for less.

Maxx now also adding data and more roaming.

I hope my new friends at zero1 also jump on the bus. 😏