Discoburg Supersonic June 6, 2021 Author Share June 6, 2021 Just now, BabyBlade said: OI. Hahahahahaha. These are all my type but wonder why is it blue? The blue should be some colouring. I see before blue nasi lemak rice from some Nonya restaurant. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BabyBlade Internal Moderator June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 1 minute ago, Silver_blade said: By right should be blue…or at least most of the nonya zhang I eat is blue. But Kim Choo’s is white. Kim Choo ones cost $5 each. Normal price ah? Didn't know bazhangs so expensive. Bazhangs are best eaten with soya sauce and pepper. Nomnomnom. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 3 minutes ago, BabyBlade said: Spot on. I don't eat any of the ones you mentioned haha. Just a Nonya bazhang is good enough! I am not a fan of Nonya zhang because I find the taste 1 dimensional. It is just minced sweet meats with every bite. I like the hokkien and cantonese ones because the ingredients are not mixed together. Each bite of different corners of the zhang will give you different textures and taste, but yet held together by the fatty meat. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 Just now, BabyBlade said: Kim Choo ones cost $5 each. Normal price ah? Didn't know bazhangs so expensive. Bazhangs are best eaten with soya sauce and pepper. Nomnomnom. Honestly I cannot remember how much I paid for 1. But I think $4 - $7 is normal. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 7 minutes ago, BabyBlade said: OI. Hahahahahaha. These are all my type but wonder why is it blue? Use of butterfly pea flower I think. Nonya food always have it. 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 10 minutes ago, Kxbc said: I am not a fan of Nonya zhang because I find the taste 1 dimensional. It is just minced sweet meats with every bite. I like the hokkien and cantonese ones because the ingredients are not mixed together. Each bite of different corners of the zhang will give you different textures and taste, but yet held together by the fatty meat. I'm opposite. Cos I need the sweetness of the minced meat to pair with the plain glutinous rice cover. I like salty/savory food. But maybe cos i never had a really good hokkien zhang. I don't really like to bite through one gao lak inside... And the gao lak not even roasted type, so even more one dimensional haha 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 23 minutes ago, Kxbc said: I have never eaten zhang with dried oyster before but I think I will like it. It should be a cantonese zhang. Teochew and hokkiens don't seem to favor dried stuff like these so would probably not add them. I didn't like dried oysters when I was younger but liked it after turning 30s. Don't know why. Maybe taste buds changed. In the days that my mother still making bak zhang, she will add pork belly, dry mushroom, dry oyster, chestnut. I am hokkien. Now she don't make anymore as it is too tiring for her, she more 80s. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoseyboh Twincharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 16 minutes ago, BabyBlade said: Kim Choo ones cost $5 each. Normal price ah? Didn't know bazhangs so expensive. Bazhangs are best eaten with soya sauce and pepper. Nomnomnom. Now you know why....... 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 actually eating with soy sauce and pepper is quite unusual. I just eat it plain. haha some people eat with chilli sauce? 2 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 5 minutes ago, Tohto said: In the days that my mother still making bak zhang, she will add pork belly, dry mushroom, dry oyster, chestnut. I am hokkien. Now she don't make anymore as it is too tiring for her, she more 80s. Your mother's zhang sounds damn delicious. I think most of our parents' generation of traditional food got lost in our generation. I am one of those guilty ones too. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 59 minutes ago, Silver_blade said: Can lah. Just heat up to eat. I have kept bak zhang in freezer for over 2 months 😅😅😅 Bak zhang can keep so long even in freezer? 😅 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 4 minutes ago, 13177 said: Bak zhang can keep so long even in freezer? 😅 Yah. 🤣 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 lai lai lai.. lobang ah... sheng siong got sell ah... 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 6, 2021 Author Share June 6, 2021 14 minutes ago, Nolicense said: lai lai lai.. lobang ah... sheng siong got sell ah... Cheap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 6, 2021 Author Share June 6, 2021 4 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged June 6, 2021 Share June 6, 2021 (edited) Gao lak ergo fung lok ergo chestnut is major with the Queen of the household. Edited June 6, 2021 by Datsun366 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kar_lover Supercharged June 7, 2021 Share June 7, 2021 Any good bak chang to recommend around kovan/lor ah soo/hougang area? TIA!! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Discoburg Supersonic June 7, 2021 Author Share June 7, 2021 46 minutes ago, Kar_lover said: Any good bak chang to recommend around kovan/lor ah soo/hougang area? TIA!! Some will tell you to google. 😅 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...