Dust Mite

Hamburger

just throw away things that u have used for a while. especially mattresses and bolsters and pillows.

U can use hot water cycle on your bedsheets but they do wear down fast if u wash them often like that. And the elastic band on the fitted sheets will also chui.

34 minutes ago, Evo5sg said:

@Hamburger I used to use osim dust mite attachment to vacuum. Could see brown liquid after using. Too lazy to do nowadays.

Those are real scams... any mattress,  use strong enough vacuum plus keep scraping hard,  will lose a lot of fibres, mixed into the water,  of cos look dark coloured. 

Especially if the mattress are coloured in the first place.

Are there mites,  likely.. but there's alot of magic show too.

On 8/15/2008 at 3:56 PM, Tarzan666 said:

Still got such thing ah..i remembered when i was in pri school.

The door to door sales man came & demo to us too..sibeh expensive..also a few k, imagine it was in 1980s..

$2,000 Rainbow vacumm cleaner?

2 hours ago, Hamburger said:

Anyone here use any gather to get rid of dust mite on our bedding? 

New thread la. 2008 thread leh. More than a decade. 😂

Anyway I bought a Xiaomi Deema vacuum cleaner few months ago for my bed. Got it from Qoo10 for about $60 or so I think. UV function to kill dust mites and also functions as a normal vacuum cleaner. Idk if it works on killing dust mites but it does remove a lot of the white dust from the mattress. 

Screenshot_20210607_202416_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202438_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202448_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202455_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202502_com.lazada.android.jpg

10 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

New thread la. 2008 thread leh. More than a decade. 😂

i dont think the technology to remove dust mites has change 1 iota since then.. 🤣

2 minutes ago, Nolicense said:

i dont think the technology to remove dust mites has change 1 iota since then.. 🤣

The old thread was on dust mite scam leh. What dust mite scam!? 🤭 Now 2021 already. Wanna scam also don't use dust mite to scam liao. Locked! 

6 minutes ago, BabyBlade said:

Anyway I bought a Xiaomi Deema vacuum cleaner few months ago for my bed. Got it from Qoo10 for about $60 or so I think. UV function to kill dust mites and also functions as a normal vacuum cleaner. Idk if it works on killing dust mites but it does remove a lot of the white dust from the mattress. 

Screenshot_20210607_202416_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202438_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202448_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202455_com.lazada.android.jpg

Screenshot_20210607_202502_com.lazada.android.jpg

looks good.. the UV light shines on the fabric?

but must be careful not to look at the light.

also you need to have a strong UV light and the light cant really penetrate much below thick fabric so only kills the surface mites.

Does the instruction say how long the surface of the fabric must be exposed to UV light when you vacuum? like 5 secs exposure minimum?

Not resurrecting scam thingy but more of addressing dust mite issue. Btw wanna write gadget but became gather. Diao.... 

I also see those  handheld vacuum w/attachment. So it's the uv ray strong enough to exterminate the creepy crawlie? 

Got it from Mr google: And gonna get the vacuum attachment plus the below. 

Baking Soda & A Vacuum

Then sprinkle the baking soda across the entire top side of the mattress and let it sit for 15 minutes. After the 15 minutes are up, vacuum up all of the baking soda from the mattress so that the dust mites are sucked away as well as the baking soda. 

image.png.89c211614edc198e7a04d9a92aeac431.png

Edited by Hamburger

get a good mattress protector which u can wash every 1-2 months below ur bedsheets. Then at least got 2 levels before your skin fragments/hair reaches the surface of the mattress.

I would think practically. layering of the above reduces dust mite contamination of your mattress. 

Bolsters/pillows just throw after a few years. 

50 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

get a good mattress protector which u can wash every 1-2 months below ur bedsheets. Then at least got 2 levels before your skin fragments/hair reaches the surface of the mattress.

I would think practically. layering of the above reduces dust mite contamination of your mattress. 

Bolsters/pillows just throw after a few years. 

Wah, I'm doing everything mentioned...

I'm using waterproof protectors for mattresses, pillows and bolsters. Change every 3 weeks.

I also sprinkle baking soda and vacuum up every month.

Oh ya, and I clean the air using air purifier before going to bed every night.

19 minutes ago, badlammy said:

Wah, I'm doing everything mentioned...

I'm using waterproof protectors for mattresses, pillows and bolsters. Change every 3 weeks.

I also sprinkle baking soda and vacuum up every month.

Oh ya, and I clean the air using air purifier before going to bed every night.

Bro. You OCD sibo 😝?? Just joking... 

Anyway all worthwhile effort for a quality sleep. Thumbs up. 

Anyway just bought an attachment as in the pix. 

Screenshot_20210607_221001_com.shopee.sg.jpg

4 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

It all started 5 years ago when my wife's ENT recommended all these.

Prior to that, we both used to have severe runny nose in the morning and frequently had to resort to zyrtec-D to stop the sneezes and blocked nose.

The fact that we have none of those ever since we started the routine says a lot. It really works.

11 minutes ago, Hamburger said:

I bought this months ago. Yet to use! 

The cordless vacuum itself is not bad.