COVID Anxiety

This coronavirus anxiety caused me to make these money mistakes. I've read that the swift and unprecedented spread of the COVID-19 outbreak has made the financial markets extremely volatile, leaving investors with huge losses in a short timeframe. I must admit when pandemic started, stocks and crypto went down and as an aggressive investor, it lead me to sell my shares. It give me literally losses and up to now, I'm doing no good. I'm having panic attacks thinking on what kind of investment is the right ting to do. There are also sleepless nights and its making me feel drained. What do you think should I do? I need help.

49 minutes ago, racerbum said:

This coronavirus anxiety caused me to make these money mistakes. I've read that the swift and unprecedented spread of the COVID-19 outbreak has made the financial markets extremely volatile, leaving investors with huge losses in a short timeframe. I must admit when pandemic started, stocks and crypto went down and as an aggressive investor, it lead me to sell my shares. It give me literally losses and up to now, I'm doing no good. I'm having panic attacks thinking on what kind of investment is the right ting to do. There are also sleepless nights and its making me feel drained. What do you think should I do? I need help.

Don't trade?

Are you doing this for a living? I suggest that you walk away. Find smth else to do.

I know of some ppl who dont have a job and do this full time instead. It is dangerous to have nothing to fall back on. The burden to provide and the anxiety are heavier than ppl who have a permanent job or a fixed income.

2 hours ago, racerbum said:

You are not suitable to make financil investments.  Stay out of financial markets.  
you cn consider to invest in physical assets which you can see and touch.

maybe you wont be sleepless then.

good luck

Your investments shouldn't keep u up at night.

If it causes you that much distress. Just use a robo advisor like endowus or others. Then just dollar cost average into a 60:40 etf/global fundb bond portfolio and just don't touch it or think about it.

It will auto rebalance for u. 

Certainly you shouldn't be in something so volatile like crypto. 

The above is as brain free as possible if u want to be vested in financial markets and earn index returns minus costs. 

Your investment strategy should match your own emotional comfort with money. 

32 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Your investments shouldn't keep u up at night.

If it causes you that much distress. Just use a robo advisor like endowus or others. Then just dollar cost average into a 60:40 etf/global fundb bond portfolio and just don't touch it or think about it.

It will auto rebalance for u. 

No use.  He cannot invest in anything which moves daily.  Use robo also no use. 

6 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

No use.  He cannot invest in anything which moves daily.  Use robo also no use. 

Depends on your own psychology. 

I know people who just can't have money sitting in bank account. They will find someway to put the money to work, or just spend it cos its there. 

Physical assets like what you said is good but real estate quantum is significant. Endowment or insurance would be an option but u are mostly enriching the advisor or insurance company. Not everyone should be holding rolexes lol. 

A robo advisor fund that gives u a monthly email maybe a compromise in between. 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Depends on your own psychology. 

I know people who just can't have money sitting in bank account. They will find someway to put the money to work, or just spend it cos its there. 

Physical assets like what you said is good but real estate quantum is significant. Endowment or insurance would be an option but u are mostly enriching the advisor or insurance company. Not everyone should be holding rolexes lol. 

A robo advisor fund that gives u a monthly email maybe a compromise in between. 

Rolex is not an investment to me, its a game and hobby and passion, its a plus that i make money.  
Robo advisor is way overrated. Might as well just buy a series of etfs when the time is ripe then spread it over time. 

however, that isnt the issue here i believe.  
the issue is that he simply cant quite take the volatility of financial markets.  and this volatility is simply the nature of the markets
nothing wrong with that, as everyones risk profile is different.

Cant have your cake and eat it. Only he knows what he can acceptor not.

14 hours ago, racerbum said:

No shame admitting that you are not suitable for equities investment and getting out to find other means like property.

I know the feeling... got friends group always talk about all the great value stocks they have identified in US/HK market and how much savvy gain they have made (in friendly way). But I just read as an interest and do not make impulsive moves due to FOMO.

What kind of help ST need? For personal matters, it is better to go to your own relatives or close friends. For advise, if you cannot have that investment attitude, then invest in other areas where there is little risk and of cos, little growth. Or even property. 

Investing in stock not only need attitude, it needs knowledge and other info do it. Also your attitude and knowledge needs to be supported with financial capability and blah bal blah. Some people say, 不能言传,只能意会......Meaning you cannot read or study by passing words, you need to understand the meaning and apply

16 hours ago, racerbum said:

@racerbum 

There are people went bankrupt, need to sell house, sell car, sell underwear and stay in rental flat. Compere to you, they are doing no no no no no no good.

For future investment, just invest whatever Temasek don't invest. And whatever Temasek invested, don't invest. 

for sleepless night - do more exercise, eat healthy, take sleeping pills.........or see ENT specialist for sleep apnea test. 

Investment definitely need to do your due diligence. 
many thinks that they know and even tries to trade in/out in days and weeks. Very few do it successfully. 

even if they can tahan the financial losses, they can’t take the emotional ride. 

based on what little we know here, maybe it’s the emotional ride that you are uncomfortable with?
Behavioural finance is real. 

and the thoughts that are keeping you up at night(s), are they caused by your anxiety to make back the money or the FOMO cos “everyone” is making money except you? 

you probably need to stay off the market, the risk isn’t right for you or like @Lala81 says, get into something more diversified and less volatile. Just that not all robo are good or Low risk. They have higher risks portfolio also. 

and if you need to speak/ask someone about your financial decisions, try finding a good adviser from your circle of friends or family. But you got to accept that an advisor means you got to feed his/her wallet as well la. Nobody work for free.

Ask a friend who knows how? 
But nobody want to be responsible for your money la. You make also nvr share with them, lose liao later friendship also soured. 

On 8/24/2021 at 6:04 PM, racerbum said:

see doctor eat medicine. Chlonozepham/Xanax helped me a lot when i was young and anxious.  

Dont fight seeing a doctor lah.  treat illness when it is light.  病从浅中医