Is it recommended to do regular engine flushing?

shutterbox

44 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

Bo Dai Ji Mai Cheh Dai Ji!

Don't scold new member leh. be friendly! 🤣

59 minutes ago, Beregond said:

u refering to the oil filter?

It must be change for every oil change. even if drive below mileage. if change oil just change the filter. 😁

Air filter lah

hahahahahah. Oil filter cannot save one lah! how to save oil filter!!! hahahahahahahahahaha

I don't believe in engine flushing too, never do that to the cars that I owned, I even stop the dealer from doing it during warranty period

I took some cylinder head photos of my ex car when I replaced the valve cover gaskets

mileage was 140,000km when I took these photos

I used the cheapo shell helix ultra bought from giant at $29.90 per 5L (some say it's fake oil)

oil change intervals were every 7,500km or 10,000km or 15,000km depending on my mood

you can see how clean are the parts under the valve cover, all are still in bright aluminuim colour

20161024_161448.thumb.jpg.99416246e196a9974b870bef02c8d44b.jpg

20161024_161538.thumb.jpg.a6d17f25db8e0c3212286d9154356b3e.jpg

20161024_161510.thumb.jpg.abecf572fa75b734ab7d62fc3d6447a2.jpg

close up photo of the cam lobes, the most prone to wear area amongst the parts in cylinder head, they are all smooth and shiny like mirror, no scoring no marks, the blue colour of the cam lobe surface is not due to overheating, it's the reflection of my old samsung phone 😁

20161024_161526.thumb.jpg.0695a7509c79bc2f9157aa65a040bd12.jpg

14 hours ago, shutterbox said:

I see many Sgcarmart/fb/carousell ads will include engine flushing in their regular engine oil n filter change 

Heard ppl recommending not to do engine flush for cars that have been running for long, as the sludge acts as fillers to protect seals though. 

Does it mean if done when the engine is "young", it's a recommended step to do, as part of the regular eo+filter change steps?

If u no bowel problem or constipation, would u suka suka buy a bottle of laxative to drink?

14 minutes ago, Phang said:

I don't believe in engine flushing too, never do that to the cars that I owned, I even stop the dealer from doing it during warranty period

I took some cylinder head photos of my ex car when I replaced the valve cover gaskets

I used the cheapo shell helix ultra bought from giant at $29.90 per 5L (some say it's fake oil)

oil change intervals were every 7,500km or 10,000km or 15,000km depending on my mood

you can see how clean are the parts under the valve cover, all are still in bright aluminuim colour

close up photo of the cam lobes, the most prone to wear area amongst the parts in cylinder head, they are all smooth and shiny like mirror, no scoring no marks, the blue colour of the cam lobe surface is not due to overheating, it's the reflection of my old samsung phone 😁

Exactly. Modern synthetic oils has made these snake oil products redundant but yet still got ppl fall for it. Lagi worse, AD upselling these. Margins must be very good

20 minutes ago, Phang said:

I am trying to decipher what engine is this. hahaha. I dunno. My knowledge limited. hahahahahaha

13 minutes ago, Soya said:

Exactly. Modern synthetic oils has made these snake oil products redundant but yet still got ppl fall for it. Lagi worse, AD upselling these. Margins must be very good

over the years, I have learnt that car consumables (oil, filter, spark plug, brake pads, tire etc) are almost like religions

everyone has their own belief, you won't get an answer after twenty pages of debating 😁

14 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I am trying to decipher what engine is this. hahaha. I dunno. My knowledge limited. hahahahahaha

it's a merc M271 Evo 1.8L turbocharged direct injection engine

12 minutes ago, Phang said:

over the years, I have learnt that car consumables (oil, filter, spark plug, brake pads, tire etc) are almost like religions

everyone has their own belief, you won't get an answer after twenty pages of debating 😁

lmao 👍

55 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Don't scold new member leh. be friendly! 🤣

That is a simple statement. Where got scold?😇

oh yes, I also took some photos peeking from the oil filler hole during the last engine oil change at 270,000km

the aluminium camshaft carrier cap is still as bright as new

20190705_234552.thumb.jpg.5bf1a7ca3cd1038e916f6294614b140d.jpg

20190705_234619.thumb.jpg.7e0b83a767714d0f9ce94109a438e999.jpg

20190705_234619_resized.thumb.jpg.9099455c380deb685c436a19bb423c5c.jpg

3 minutes ago, Phang said:

oh yes, I also took some photos peeking from the oil filler hole during the last engine oil change at 270,000km

the aluminium camshaft carrier cap is still as bright as new

20190705_234552.thumb.jpg.5bf1a7ca3cd1038e916f6294614b140d.jpg

20190705_234619.thumb.jpg.7e0b83a767714d0f9ce94109a438e999.jpg

20190705_234619_resized.thumb.jpg.9099455c380deb685c436a19bb423c5c.jpg

Very clean leh! the engine oil you use must have been blessed by some thai monks. Got super power one. 🤣

Actually I did the engine flush before I come back for CNY, my engine was so quiet like new one although my ride coming to 5 years liao. 

No need to do lah, but just backside itchy lor

5 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

Very clean leh! the engine oil you use must have been blessed by some thai monks. Got super power one. 🤣

$29/5L from Giant supermarket, you dare to use or not? 😁

20180113_205615.thumb.jpg.b4e122dbce2460d99d435bc4045695d0.jpg

Just now, mersaylee said:

5L!? 🤔

it's 4L actually, I mixed up with the other Motul engine oil 

15 minutes ago, Phang said:

it's 4L actually, I mixed up with the other Motul engine oil 

Alamak! Was gonna chiong there with my trolley...😁

Most important is to change your engine oil regularly.

The protective detergent/additive does wear out and then less protection for the engine.

If you keep doing this, there's little chance of sludge forming. And no need for any flushing. A good working engine oil basically is flushing it all the time when the engine is running.

Also the engine temp must be within operational temp, not too hot and not too cold, to prevent forming of sludge.

For those who modified their engine or cooling system, without knowing what they are doing, then these kind of trouble is self-made.