Ody_2004 Turbocharged February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 4 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said: SME faster. My zichar uncle and kopitiam auntie have been charging me tabao and takeaway container for 20 cents liao. hahahah. They undercharge you liao loh.. my place 30 cents ↡ Advertisement 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Daniu82 Supercharged February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 Just now, Ody_2004 said: They undercharge you liao loh.. my place 30 cents Ya lor, the kopitiam noodles stall near my ulu workplace already already charging me $0.30 for tabao. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 21 minutes ago, Daniu82 said: Where are those biodegradable bags when you need them? They don't care about the quality anymore! The word is CHARGE! 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 13 hours ago, Blueray said: wah piang, start thread for PSA end up kena angry reaction and points deducted ... pai tan ... note to self - next time let mods start threads. 🙂 No deduction la. Just no score for that response. nb When ppl dulan already what do you expect? A thumps up? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 Just now, Fitvip said: No deduction la. Just no score for that response. nb When ppl dulan already what do you expect? A thumps up? fireworks ahahahaha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 1 hour ago, Ody_2004 said: They undercharge you liao loh.. my place 30 cents 1 hour ago, Daniu82 said: Ya lor, the kopitiam noodles stall near my ulu workplace already already charging me $0.30 for tabao. Charge 30 cents for dabao a bit ex lo. But seems like more and more food stalls charging 30 cents now. I have even saw one food stall got notice say, for all dabao will charge 30 cents, even you bring your own container. Wtf. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Author Share February 7, 2023 8 minutes ago, 13177 said: Charge 30 cents for dabao a bit ex lo. But seems like more and more food stalls charging 30 cents now. I have even saw one food stall got notice say, for all dabao will charge 30 cents, even you bring your own container. Wtf. the styrofoam box used for food is really single use. so charging for it is fair. but plastic bags we got re use mah. Aunty Grace still make us pay 5c per bag. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 4 minutes ago, Blueray said: the styrofoam box used for food is really single use. so charging for it is fair. but plastic bags we got re use mah. Aunty Grace still make us pay 5c per bag. A lot of countries had stop giving out plastic bags for grocery. Including Thailand and Malaysia. We are so behind the curve (not because of G) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Author Share February 7, 2023 3 minutes ago, inlinesix said: A lot of countries had stop giving out plastic bags for grocery. Including Thailand and Malaysia. We are so behind the curve (not because of G) yeah. I actually have an old gym sack in the boot for groceries if plastic bags are chargeable. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
serenade 6th Gear February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 I always bring my own bag for grocery shopping at Fairprice and Cold Storage. The only times I take a bag is when it is an unplanned trip, and the things I bought cannot carry in my hands to the car. The days when I do take a bag, the same bag is used multiple times on my next trip to segregate frozen foods, before ending up as trash bag to go down the chute. I use the bag multiple times. I ta pau food, most of the time I bring my glass, silicon and SS containers. To me, this Bill just pushes the problem to the next person, and the person tabling the Bill is taking the quick, dirty and easy way out. The real solution is to spend lots of time and effort to educate the general public to change their mindset about using single use bags, food containers and cutlery. I concur that there should not be a 5cent per bag charge but instead a 0.10 bill rebate for using your own bag. Carrot approach instead of the stick approach. I oppose the bag charge because it shifts the trouble to the cleaners who have the dirty job of cleaning chutes, and PUB to manage the additional water used to clean. When house holds throw naked refuse down chutes to save 5 cts in bag charge, the cost to clean curry, lard and fish waste splatter on the chute walls from 38 storeys downwards is very high. The amount of water used to flush the chute rises exponentially. Then guess what? PUB says the water surcharge tax not high enough and raises it. Town Councils say need more staff to clean chutes and charge more. The very early residents of HDB used to throw naked rubbish and it took a a generation to educate residents to bag their rubbish. I remember walking at HDB and had to make an effort to avoid the chute areas due to the stench, cockroaches and rats there. Chargeable bags will mean we go back to those "aroma" days. Chargeable bags will work after all the thrifty Pioneer Gen all die off. To them every cent counts after growing up in poverty post WW2. Carrot approach and not stick approach says my simple mind. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kobayashiGT Internal Moderator February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 I need to start a manufacturing for this type of t-shirt liao. You go supermarket, never bring bag, just stuff it inside your shirt. I do 2 version. - Waterproof, for seafood and frozen chicken - Cotton, for normal grocery 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 2 hours ago, RadX said: i give u angry one more time haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Test test. 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 1 minute ago, Tianmo said: Test test. Give y angry bird too hahah 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 1 minute ago, RadX said: Give y angry bird too hahah Give you another one. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 1 hour ago, inlinesix said: A lot of countries had stop giving out plastic bags for grocery. Including Thailand and Malaysia. We are so behind the curve (not because of G) Even Jakarta... high end shopping centres charge Rp 1000 per bag but road side shops hapi hapi to give ..... made it convenient to shop .... but it seems they give me "recycled ones" see the bags like really one time use only ...... not how it works there exactly .... maybe they got some kind of incentive to "resell" back the bags 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 No plastic bag can juz anyhow throw rubbish down the chute or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Share February 7, 2023 Just now, Soya said: No plastic bag can juz anyhow throw rubbish down the chute or not? If chute inside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueray Hypersonic February 7, 2023 Author Share February 7, 2023 aiya, so far Aunty Grace sustainability initiatives all half f**k one. appears to solve one problem but then later generate downstream issues. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...