S’pore Grandson Takes Grandparents Shopping For Shoes, Snaps Pictures To Remember Their Day Out

Fitvip

On 3/22/2023 at 10:03 PM, inlinesix said:

These so called Alternative News Media uses other ppl Tiktok to capture eyeballs.

Really CMI.

TS helps these News Media to capture more eyeballs.

From a different perspective, hopefully this video will inspire more millennials to spend more time with their grandparents or parents.

Not everyone can bring up kids to behave like Carbon82.

We need more of these warm stories.

Bolehland has plenty of such heartwarming stories...i must say they're quite genuine and candid...

On 3/23/2023 at 9:42 AM, mersaylee said:

Bolehland has plenty of such heartwarming stories...i must say they're quite genuine and candid...

We must have more of these stories to make the country more humane.

On 3/23/2023 at 10:42 AM, inlinesix said:

Totally agreed. Compassionate and understanding...not just standing the under...😁

On 3/23/2023 at 10:42 AM, inlinesix said:

negative news gets eyeballs. Ok lah, whether it's self promotion or virtue signalling, whatever works go ahead lor. It's like similarly doing stunts on charity shows to get donations. 

On 3/22/2023 at 10:57 PM, Fcw75 said:

Do one time post big big 🙄

The times I had to clean up after my mother, washing her backside then shit come out, lift her up until my lower back pain returned…..I can get fillal son of the year liao. Too bad I no Instagram or TikTok.

Wittingly or unwittingly you have also told us here about it leh! We feel for you. It is really tough on you. 

There are bound to have naysayers, and many of these are the non doers!

Whether I have helped to promote more eyeballs or not doesn't matter as what I have shared is a positive deed. If it inspires someone, good. If it doesn't, so be it!

On 3/23/2023 at 12:20 PM, Fitvip said:

Wittingly or unwittingly you have also told us here about it leh! We feel for you. It is really tough on you. 

There are bound to have naysayers, and many of these are the non doers!

Whether I have helped to promote more eyeballs or not doesn't matter as what I have shared is a positive deed. If it inspires someone, good. If it doesn't, so be it!

We are becuming a cynical nation especially after the saga of golden tap...kongsifacai...celebrity monkey...

I is now very selective when it cums to giving...sometimes buy tissue papers at HC also kena F...becos I only want to take one pack with my 1 dollah...said liddat they very hard to stock take later...limpeh donno to laugh or to cry...😂

On 3/23/2023 at 7:49 PM, mersaylee said:

We are becuming a cynical nation especially after the saga of golden tap...kongsifacai...celebrity monkey...

I is now very selective when it cums to giving...sometimes buy tissue papers at HC also kena F...becos I only want to take one pack with my 1 dollah...said liddat they very hard to stock take later...limpeh donno to laugh or to cry...😂

That's why I try to donate blood. 

Can't be beneficiaries drinking it right 🤣🤣.

My cash donation occasionally through SG Pools... which I heard supported many charity cause....🤣

Main cash donation is through the charity organisation where I do monthly grocery deliveries. At least I know where the money goes.

On 3/24/2023 at 7:51 AM, Hamburger said:

i always DIY at petrol kiosk as i do not want to trouble the uncles working there.

Like that got count boh....???

This one not so clear cut. 

You could make uncle's job redundant. 

And I think it's more to prevent wrong grade/amount of fuel pumped than not troubling them. 

😅😂😂😂

If you can quietly slip $2/5 to them after asking for windscreens to be cleaned then maybe just nice cross the thin line over to be counted. 

Yada-ing. Stay safe. 

On 3/22/2023 at 10:57 PM, Fcw75 said:

Do one time post big big 🙄

The times I had to clean up after my mother, washing her backside then shit come out, lift her up until my lower back pain returned…..I can get fillal son of the year liao. Too bad I no Instagram or TikTok.

Take care of own health. 

Never easy looking after parents in their frail old age, especially when they need help in almost every aspect. 

Had a friend who went into depression whilst looking after her mum. Had to clean up after her wheelchair bound mum. She was overhead telling her mum tearfully one day to please behave as she is very very tired and exhausted looking after her. Seems she just washed her up and the next moment she wheeled around the house with fresh sxxx and urine on the floor. 

When she realised that her own health, physical and mental was badly affected, she arranged for her mum to stay at a facility to be looked after. It was fortunate that she has the means.

Her mum passed away 3 years back. She shared that she felt no guilt as she was at the brink of self harm and bringing her mum along. Her mum had dementia too which is very emotionally draining. 

She visited her mum daily, then thrice a week till her death. She is relieved that her mum has 24/7 care and she took awhile to get better herself. 

There's a thin line with being filial and doing what's best in order that both parties will not lose out in quality of living. No one to know what is better than the parties themselves. 

Filial piety is not cast in stone in that certain actions must be taken to be considered one. There are many considerations that outsiders will not know and they need not know. 

I am now an orphan. My dad died in hospital many years ago and my mum in her sleep 5 years back. 

Sorry for the long yada-ing. Be strong and may you have the strength to do what you want. 

Stay safe 

Edited by PSP415

On 3/24/2023 at 8:31 AM, PSP415 said:

Take care of own health. 

Never easy looking after parents in their frail old age, especially when they need help in almost every aspect. 

Had a friend who went into depression whilst looking after her mum. Had to clean up after her wheelchair bound mum. She was overhead telling her mum tearfully one day to please behave as she is very very tired and exhausted looking after her. Seems she just washed her up and the next moment she wheeled around the house with fresh sxxx and urine on the floor. 

When she realised that her own health, physical and mental was badly affected, she arranged for her mum to stay at a facility to be looked after. It was fortunate that she has the means.

Her mum passed away 3 years back. She shared that she felt no guilt as she was at the brink of self harm and bringing her mum along. Her mum had dementia too which is very emotionally draining. 

She visited her mum daily, then thrice a week till her death. She is relieved that her mum has 24/7 care and she took awhile to get better herself. 

There's a thin line with being filial and doing what's best in order that both parties will not lose out in quality of living. No one to know what is better than the parties themselves. 

Filial piety is not cast in stone in that certain actions must be taken to be considered one. There are many considerations that outsiders will not know and they need not know. 

I am now an orphan. My dad died in hospital many years ago and my mum in her sleep 5 years back. 

Sorry for the long yada-ing. Be strong and may you have the strength to do what you want. 

Stay safe 

Thanks for the kind words. 

Many suffered from caregiver’s burnout.

Unfortunately, Asian culture is all about fillal piety whereas western culture the parents know what to do when they are old. For example, going to a nursing home. Here when we sent the parents there, there’s a sense of guilt. 

Many who are not in the shoes always asked why you don’t do full time job blah blah blah and just doing part time. Sometimes really wanna slap them. 🤣

On 3/24/2023 at 8:45 AM, Fcw75 said:

Thanks for the kind words. 

Many suffered from caregiver’s burnout.

Unfortunately, Asian culture is all about fillal piety whereas western culture the parents know what to do when they are old. For example, going to a nursing home. Here when we sent the parents there, there’s a sense of guilt. 

Many who are not in the shoes always asked why you don’t do full time job blah blah blah and just doing part time. Sometimes really wanna slap them. 🤣

Yes, they deserved to be slapped, more than once too. 😅😂

No guilt, bro. Life is too short and quality of life matters.

As long as your decision is truly for their good and better care, it is fine to be misunderstood and afterall, you are not living a life to win approval of people. 

All the best and wishing you good health and wealth. I always have this mental image of you selling ice cream on the beaches of Hawaii, passing your days in just being alive. 

Your fault. You did share about your bro doing just that now in Hawaii. 

😂😂😂

Have a good weekend. 

Can post pix of IRAS income tax boh? Contribution to nation building mah 

It not HL ok? Just to remind others to contribute to the country mah. Shld get plenty of likes.

LOL

Did a recent test on burnout. I am moderately at risk. Wow not bad thirty plus years in.

Anyways being cynical or rather overly critical is a trait of high achievers. Trust is valued.

Asian or rather East Asian from Confucius school of social structuring and regulation features filial piety. Dont know much about other Asians such as official social teaching that is ingrained into culture as Confucian influenced societies, Chinks, Japs and kimchis. To a lesser extent the banhmis.

Its positive reinforcement of a desirable social trait, the praise and acknowledgement.

See any other Asians doing instagram grandparents?

Something to think about.

Native Americans have a respected place for their elders. Their Elders would take themselves out if their survival would take from their tribe during difficult times. Very parental and full of love.

Not because Datsun was mistaken as a native american ever....🤭

at my workplace, i can see those professional freelancers/small companies trying to convince people to sign up for donation (usually they want to convince u to sign up for subscription) for Cancer/heart Failure/Children/etc etc etc.

Every week on a few of the days, got different ones. 
see them until sian liao. I just put up my hand and ignore them.

This I suspect is belonging to those syndicates. 

At the end of the day, they want to count the balance stock and calculate the profit. So, when you took only 1 pack, they get confused as they sell by three packs collectively.