Kyoto travel tips needed - baby in tow

therock

On most streets hailing a taxi is easy. Just raise your hand for an oncoming taxi as you would in your home country. 

The good thing is you don't need hands to open the taxi door as its automatic.

The bad thing is not all speak English so have the smartphone with the location you want to go in Japanese ready.

Not all take cards so have some cash ready. 

https://www.kyotostation.com/taxis-in-kyoto/

Kyoto eki wa doko desu ka? 
In my first trip I taped my Jap friend saying common phrases and also took pics of common items like a sandwich, ramen, taxis etc and showed them to the locals🇯🇵

this is way before google translate was a thing 

On 4/17/2023 at 10:20 PM, therock said:

PS- I once visited a palace with a wooden floor that detects ninjas, but I can't remember what's the name - love to let my little 'un test that.... despite my martial arts background, I failed that test... 

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_53ea.thumb.jpg.1df113d6af074c0ecc9498d27808030b.jpg

Nijō castle in Kyoto has wooden floorboards that squeak, which made it easier for occupants to detect ninja assassins.

On 4/18/2023 at 4:35 PM, therock said:

Kyoto eki wa doko desu ka? 
In my first trip I taped my Jap friend saying common phrases and also took pics of common items like a sandwich, ramen, taxis etc and showed them to the locals🇯🇵

this is way before google translate was a thing 

point here point there like 这个那个?

we all use Google translate and the jap use some apps similar, quite common nowadays using the apps almost everywhere [laugh]

On 4/18/2023 at 5:30 PM, Jamesc said:

On most streets hailing a taxi is easy. Just raise your hand for an oncoming taxi as you would in your home country. 

The good thing is you don't need hands to open the taxi door as its automatic.

The bad thing is not all speak English so have the smartphone with the location you want to go in Japanese ready.

Not all take cards so have some cash ready. 

https://www.kyotostation.com/taxis-in-kyoto/

Best is google map the location and then show driver. No problems. 
side note, in Tokyo now. Sibei many tourist especially ang mo. 

Edited by Mkl22

Because of Tokyo 2020 Olympics many Tokyo taxi drivers learn to speak English.

1379217950_download(40).jpeg.26908e9887b1be1f8a952b90969b1fab.jpeg

On 4/18/2023 at 5:07 PM, Mkl22 said:

Best is google map the location and then show driver. No problems. 
side note, in Tokyo now. Sibei many tourist especially ang mo. 

I’ve taken their taxis 

even in a small town, the drivers have so much pride in their work 

the taxis are clean and well maintained 

kudos

Oh yeah. Taxi in kyoto is good. I also thought pay and arm and leg but fact is taxi ride in kyoto is cheaper than say in australia cities.

I last went in 2017 or 18. Cherry blossoms. Many tourists in the kiUymura. Fushi inari. Arasshiwa and most temples lar. Hee. Peak season.

But getting a cab still doable. Not too difficult to hail one.

On 4/18/2023 at 7:03 PM, Spurman said:

Oh yeah. Taxi in kyoto is good. I also thought pay and arm and leg but fact is taxi ride in kyoto is cheaper than say in australia cities.

Do they provide or require baby seats?

On 4/18/2023 at 8:06 PM, therock said:

Alamak. The last time i went. Without kids. Hee.

On 4/18/2023 at 9:06 PM, therock said:

Don’t quote me. But have never seen any taxi in Japan with baby seats. For sure they do not provide and likely not needed. 

Edited by Mkl22

Bro you mentioned that if I take the SQ flight that lands at 9.45 pm, there’ll be no train left on the same day to Kyoto from KIX ? 
it looks like the Scoot timing is the most ideal 🤔 

On 4/18/2023 at 7:04 PM, Spurman said:

I last went in 2017 or 18. Cherry blossoms. Many tourists in the kiUymura. Fushi inari. Arasshiwa and most temples lar. Hee. Peak season.

But getting a cab still doable. Not too difficult to hail one.

I climbed up the Fushi Inari.  Not that high, but took quite long like more than an hour to walk up......

Will be challenging with a baby.......😆

Kyoto nice.....old vibes and charm.  I like it better than Osaka.

On 4/19/2023 at 12:41 AM, therock said:

Bro you mentioned that if I take the SQ flight that lands at 9.45 pm, there’ll be no train left on the same day to Kyoto from KIX ? 
it looks like the Scoot timing is the most ideal 🤔 

There will be a train but will be a little tight. Immigration queues are bloody long in Japan these days. When I was in Osaka last Dec it took me 1hr plus after landing to get out. With the hoards of tourist now, might even be longer. 
the train ride to Osaka main station will take 45-1hr. Then it’s another 30-40mins if they have the express train to Kyoto at that time. 

I would think after queuing 1hr for immigration you might be tired. Maybe you can be faster as you have baby, but this time in Tokyo I see loads of parents with strollers also in the priority queue! 🤣

thus my suggestion to take a breather in Osaka or airport hotel. 

Thanks

i guess I may not have a choice but to take scoot

i checked ticket prices and SQ is almost $700 more 

I can get a nicer room especially since my MIL might come 

Like this better take Skoot!

If hungry just book with the meals.

If really have to take SQ and arrive at 9.45pm book the airport hotel with the shuttle pickup and have a nice sleep and next day fresh then proceed to Kyoto.