inlinesix Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 11:16 AM, 107fan said: Sadly we can be as safe, as skilled or civic minded a driver as we can be, and yet some things are still beyond human reaction and control due to the recklessness of others. Especially after viewing the recent nus law professor case on Sgrv where it's beyond anyone's reaction time. Anyway I don't drive a hard body SUV like old Volvos or anything, but am starting to feel more and more it's important because of all the other clowns on our roads Hard body car is bad for passenger as impact energy is absorbed rather than dispersed. To be really safe against accident like NUS law Professor, you definitely need BMW X5 (or bigger), Merc GLE (or bigger). Not forgetting that that Camry does not have current safety standards ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 (edited) On 8/28/2023 at 10:57 AM, Soya said: For me, NVH is important Underpowered car or CVT = sibei gruff n noisy when accelerating off the millions of traffic lights in sg More powerful or efficient powertrain (decent low rpm torque) = smoother or brisk acceleration, less gruff n generally better NVH Not about how fast u can go Same. NVH is impt to me too. must have Noise (Audible exhaust from outside, tonality of engine note from cabin) Vibration (wheel Spin cos too much torque) Harshness (as low to the ground as possible, feel the road) //endoftheoldjaffatalkingcock 😂 Edited August 28, 2023 by Theoldjaffa 1 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 11:32 AM, inlinesix said: Hard body car is bad for passenger as impact energy is absorbed rather than dispersed. To be really safe against accident like NUS law Professor, you definitely need BMW X5 (or bigger), Merc GLE (or bigger). Not forgetting that that Camry does not have current safety standards I see kdrama, they have a fair bit of scenes where trucks t-bone a car and the driver/passenger survives. buy that car. 👻 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 11:27 AM, Lala81 said: Lol this discussion going down into conti vs jap. Ultimately comes down to your budget la. Don't even know what u can get with 200k nowadays. A Q3/X1/GLB/GLA should be sufficient for your needs. This kinda Coe does it make sense to buy a brand new vw tiguan/Skoda? The karoq is still rocking a non independent rear suspension? (not even listed in sgcm new car section). Based on sgcm. A peugot 3008 seems to be quite ok price. Forester also seems to have some more acceptable pricing. In a hyper inflated COE environment like now, better to get something that's easier to sell when levels become more acceptable n the itch sets in, vs niche models or brands Not saying higher resale value coz all models are gonna suffer. But rather the difference between something price sensitive buyers will still aspire to buy since prices hv dropped to affordable levels e.g entry level conti badges vs niche models that will only hold paper value 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic August 28, 2023 Author Share August 28, 2023 What's the story with the law Prof? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Theoldjaffa Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 12:15 PM, therock said: What's the story with the law Prof? There was a video on this 😢 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/man-dies-in-accident-along-upper-thomson-road-lorry-driver-arrested-for-careless-driving 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic August 28, 2023 Author Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 12:44 PM, Theoldjaffa said: There was a video on this 😢 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/man-dies-in-accident-along-upper-thomson-road-lorry-driver-arrested-for-careless-driving 😮 even a M113 might not be enough… Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 12:44 PM, Theoldjaffa said: There was a video on this 😢 https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/man-dies-in-accident-along-upper-thomson-road-lorry-driver-arrested-for-careless-driving This kind, any car also won't save. He was just unlucky. 😥 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 12:00 PM, Soya said: In a hyper inflated COE environment like now, better to get something that's easier to sell when levels become more acceptable n the itch sets in, vs niche models or brands Not saying higher resale value coz all models are gonna suffer. But rather the difference between something price sensitive buyers will still aspire to buy since prices hv dropped to affordable levels e.g entry level conti badges vs niche models that will only hold paper value Agreed. The sticker price of the other 2 I mentioned seem reasonable but are niche purchases. Hence I listed the 3 germans. These will always be in demand by the less price sensitive consumers looking for a 2nd hand car and are easy to resell. The people I know won't get anything lower than that since they can financially afford it. Even those not into cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 9:59 AM, therock said: The torque is important in city driving to join queues, overtaking or merge with traffic I've driven my MIL’s Corolla and whilst it’s perfectly fine in simple forward movement not much happens when I need the acceleration 😅 That's why you need a turbo or join the dark side with @RadX .. get a EV. Instant torque. 1 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 4:00 PM, Tohto said: That's why you need a turbo or join the dark side with @RadX .. get a EV. Instant torque. actually stay angmoh chu, should definitely consider get EV. 5 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 I almost got a 2008ev. That pug is big inside and delights her royal majesty. The hdb mscp charge point is another matter. Wait for the teething problems to subside before proceeding. Must share with Taxi and grab. Ferget it. See i sarpork govt but govt sarpork is ev is for upper class for now. Not mature yet. I explained to a msian mei mei that the financially capable do not stray from the usual suspects as Lala succinctly puts it. Beyond me. Now can prease explain why two slim persons need an audi q6. Looks like teenagers inside. Dua leng gong of a car. Just because can afford it? Or class statement...i am not peon. The Batu has not gone land rover yet? Yesterday, ganna dwarf by gentlemanly angmo and his lady at TP. Definitely saw me ogling at his sparkling new dua leng gong landrover. I called SEAT showroom, got a reply in the most disturbing manner, werid Chinese unker. Then i hear things about owner from elsewhere. Chalked it down to coincidence. Nevertheless, went down and check out the cars tot chery was coming back with all the construction. Arona not bad not bad but 2008 better. Attack ka already look capable when parked and no doubt it can perform admirably. The available trim appeared overpriced, the tyres sigh. If the available trim level was at the xceptional, would have negotiated the turkey post haste. Hola. What more you want from your car? The Scold a Carrot no more, otherwise another will bye. What a nice name. The car name does add flavor which the pugs got it right by using numbers to avoid weird names. The Suzuki S cross drives fun but unfortunately the interior fittings did not do it for me. Bye bye and hope for the new Vitara. 2008 interior is spacious than the 3008. For me it would be 2008 or 5008. The Citroen C5 also big but the sek dou lone and sea go. Haiyaa. The Forester hybrid , no lah i dun want lah. Looks huge sumo size though. The safety doors, steel bars...jin gaulat. Then just now behind a Daihatsu Terios 7 seater (more sportier than a MPV). Price is right no more also. Wait on thebatu land rover review. Thanks for enjoyable thread. Exactly, hip ratio and all that as well as the other conti mucks you have not done yet.😉 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 Simi si Audi Q6? Got such car meh? 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 5:27 PM, Benarsenal said: Simi si Audi Q6? Got such car meh? For China Market 😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 Must slant a bit. Dua leng gong audi q. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 (edited) On 8/28/2023 at 4:38 PM, Datsun366 said: I almost got a 2008ev. That pug is big inside and delights her royal majesty. The hdb mscp charge point is another matter. Wait for the teething problems to subside before proceeding. Must share with Taxi and grab. Ferget it. See i sarpork govt but govt sarpork is ev is for upper class for now. Not mature yet. I explained to a msian mei mei that the financially capable do not stray from the usual suspects as Lala succinctly puts it. Beyond me. Now can prease explain why two slim persons need an audi q6. Looks like teenagers inside. Dua leng gong of a car. Just because can afford it? Or class statement...i am not peon. The Batu has not gone land rover yet? Yesterday, ganna dwarf by gentlemanly angmo and his lady at TP. Definitely saw me ogling at his sparkling new dua leng gong landrover. I called SEAT showroom, got a reply in the most disturbing manner, werid Chinese unker. Then i hear things about owner from elsewhere. Chalked it down to coincidence. Nevertheless, went down and check out the cars tot chery was coming back with all the construction. Arona not bad not bad but 2008 better. Attack ka already look capable when parked and no doubt it can perform admirably. The available trim appeared overpriced, the tyres sigh. If the available trim level was at the xceptional, would have negotiated the turkey post haste. Hola. What more you want from your car? The Scold a Carrot no more, otherwise another will bye. What a nice name. The car name does add flavor which the pugs got it right by using numbers to avoid weird names. The Suzuki S cross drives fun but unfortunately the interior fittings did not do it for me. Bye bye and hope for the new Vitara. 2008 interior is spacious than the 3008. For me it would be 2008 or 5008. The Citroen C5 also big but the sek dou lone and sea go. Haiyaa. The Forester hybrid , no lah i dun want lah. Looks huge sumo size though. The safety doors, steel bars...jin gaulat. Then just now behind a Daihatsu Terios 7 seater (more sportier than a MPV). Price is right no more also. Wait on thebatu land rover review. Thanks for enjoyable thread. Exactly, hip ratio and all that as well as the other conti mucks you have not done yet.😉 Trying very hard to read through and fully understood all your post 🤥 Edited August 28, 2023 by Tohto 1 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 On 8/28/2023 at 5:27 PM, Benarsenal said: Simi si Audi Q6? Got such car meh? I read oredi eyeball need to go in for AD major service.... 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
jcmm 5th Gear August 28, 2023 Share August 28, 2023 (edited) On 8/28/2023 at 6:20 PM, Tohto said: Trying very hard to read through and fully understood all your post 🤥 I thought I am the only 1, ang mo no good 1st sentence, reminded me of my William Shakespeare teacher. Edited August 28, 2023 by jcmm ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...