Engine oil change - what can go wrong

Gnahp

On 9/24/2023 at 9:51 PM, Macrosszero said:

Or Jamesc

I am sending MIL's car there now.

I won't be complaining when he rubs his oily fingers on her brake disc and spray on oily wheel and tyre shine straight onto the disc.

Actually I will f him upside down so he cuts the brake hose too!

Must remember to keep workshop receipt for the polis.

Now where did I keep MIL's 1 million dollar policy.

Changing oil is not a difficult process.

Unscrew nut and let oil drain - must remember to put back nut or happy happy pour new oil in 

and straight onto shoes! Also put a big pan for oil to drain out or get a head shower of oil.

Remove oil filter - must remember to put a new filter in.

Pour new oil in - don't just pour the whole friggin can in and overfill. Amazing how often they overfill!

Pro tip if using own oil and sump 3.3 litres just give them 3 litres.

Go home and top up yourself.

Easier to top up 0.3 litres than trying to drain out excess.

Changing spark plug is the most dangerous.

Watch out for monkey with wrench jamming in the spark plug and cross threading it!

Replacing tyres watch if they forget to tighten.

My car has 4 wheels and 5 nuts so that 20 nuts to put back, screw up to 95% and then tighten up the last 5% for 20 nuts.

Possible to screw up the 20 nuts but only tighten 17 as lost count because tighten up 3 nuts twice.

If you notice they never tighten in sequence just randomly do, so possible they tighten some twice and never tighten up other. 

Anyway easy mistake to spot.

You are driving on the PIE and your tyre overtakes you.

Edited by Jamesc

On 9/24/2023 at 2:26 PM, Gnahp said:

I DIY oil change for the past 18 years, except the period when the car is under warranty

recently I thought I don't want to get my hands dirty so I send the car to workshop for oil change

1st oil change no drama

2nd oil change, at the same workshop

- told them I want grade X before passing them the key, went to the rack and pointed them the oil, at the end found out they pour in grade Y

- removed both my aircon filters, telling me they are dirty, I told them I just change it, in the end they fix it back, totally unnecessary 

- top up my coolant reservoir with tap water, I keep my coolant level at the correct level, now they overfilled it, with tap water some more, I have to extract the excess out

- asked me to pour in engine oil additive, petrol additive, I said no thanks, I just want to change the oil and oil filter

- the last straw (tree trunk actually), after washing/vacuum the car, bill settled, I opened the bonnet to have a quick check before leaving, found out the intake pipe was missing, it was still on the tool cart of the mechanic who serviced my car

the oil filter is underneath the cold air intake pipe, need to remove to access the oil filter

s-l1200.jpg

You never eyeball the process?

In my previous WS, I just hang around the vehicle and watch as they do the servicing... also can ask them some questions when things seem to go wrong. Even if nearby got coffeeshop to relax.

Usually no funny things will happen because you will physically catch it.

On 9/25/2023 at 11:32 AM, stan_lee said:

How you dispose the old EO when you DIY? 

bring the waste oil to workshop and pour into their waste oil drum

On 9/25/2023 at 11:34 AM, t0y0ta said:

You never eyeball the process?

In my previous WS, I just hang around the vehicle and watch as they do the servicing... also can ask them some questions when things seem to go wrong. Even if nearby got coffeeshop to relax.

Usually no funny things will happen because you will physically catch it.

I don't want to do that lah

it is like you know how to cook curry fish head

decided to have it in restaurant but hang around in the kitchen to eyeball the chef when he cooks

not very nice leh

might as well I cook at home

5837-Mechanic-Hourly-Rate-web_1024x1024.

I DIY oil change for the past 18 years, except the period when the car is under warranty

recently I thought I don't want to get my hands dirty so I send the car to workshop for oil change

1st oil change no drama

- told them I want grade X before passing them the key, went to the rack and pointed them the oil, at the end found out they pour in grade Y

- removed both my aircon filters, telling me they are dirty, I told them I just change it, in the end they fix it back, totally unnecessary 

- top up my coolant reservoir with tap water, I keep my coolant level at the correct level, now they overfilled it, with tap water some more, I have to extract the excess out

- asked me to pour in engine oil additive, petrol additive, I said no thanks, I just want to change the oil and oil filter

- the last straw (tree trunk actually), after washing/vacuum the car, bill settled, I opened the bonnet to have a quick check before leaving, found out the intake pipe was missing, it was still on the tool cart of the mechanic who serviced my car

the oil filter is underneath the cold air intake pipe, need to remove to access the oil filter

s-l1200.jpg

Actually the mechanic was giving your car a free boost, by modding your car's stock intake to open CAI (Cold Air Intake) 🤣

truth to be told,  I usually hang around the workshop during my servicing to make sure the mechanic does his work properly. hahahaha. 

I also cannot tahan such standard. 

1st oil change no drama

s-l1200.jpg

What WS is that? Do share..

On 9/25/2023 at 4:45 PM, Tohto said:

What WS is that? Do share..

this can happen at any workshop

it was not my intention to expose the workshop

just sharing what can go wrong when you send your car for servicing/repair 😁

On 9/26/2023 at 9:26 AM, Ingenius said:

If you cannot trust the workshop to do the job right, then you shouldn't send your car there in the first place.  

Cock...read...that's the subsequent time TS had sent the car! Obviously when prior experience was ok?!

You ate nice food at ABC stall but find food not so nice the 2nd time you went, and someone tell you same thing, if you not even sure food there nice, you shouldn't eat there in the first place? How you feel? Song bo? 

[hur]

Edited by Unfazed

Another option is chose those workshop that allows you to sit near the work area - eg : got 1 glass window allow customer to view thro to see car work area. I always go to 1 that allow customer to sit near the work area and if need be just walk to my car and tok cock with mechanic (at sametime can see what he do) ! You know what i mean.. haha.

my backyard workshop has no qualm with me looking on when they work. Thats because i have to instruct them how it should be done properly. 

Eg. changing of ATF fluid and with where to pump in the new ATF and to check for level using the overflow nut.

All the pro workshops seal off the area for servicing so owners cannot see the cock ups!

Aiyoh only the amateurs let owners know what a bad job they do!

The real pros even disable your cameras so that you cannot see them blasting you nice hifi or blasting your aircon or driving around the workshop at full speed like F1 cars going around the track.

The only time you will find out is when they smashed it!

Sometimes if you leave your car there and come back to pick it up its not there.

They have taken it for a "test drive" probably picking up their kids from school or something.

My cousins told me this happens in MY a lot.

Buy new car first 3 service by them to keep warranty.

So no choice but to service with the AD.

So don't want to go also cannot!