Benarsenal Turbocharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 (edited) On 12/2/2023 at 9:38 PM, Mustank said: I thought quite common? MP is not counted as full time job mah. Is just 'volunteer' work (but paid). Edited December 3, 2023 by Benarsenal ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 (edited) Those who do 2-3 jobs at the same time is actually digging a bigger hole for themselves. While it is perfectly understood that such are desperate measures, but in reality, there is only so much that the body can take before falling into mental exhaustion or physical and health limitations. Just trying to stay discreet is already a big stress and distraction to the mind. It is then a matter of time that work performance will be sub-par in every of those jobs. Soon dismissal or quitting will happen and then the whole cycle will repeat itself with another job somewhere. At every cycle, self-esteem gets hit, personal and work life gets more and more affected and the management of their finances gets poorer. Soon, probably have to add another job. The hole simply gets bigger. Edited December 3, 2023 by Starry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 (edited) On 12/3/2023 at 10:05 AM, inlinesix said: No need go to CEO la. HR Manager give green light can liao. MP has always been a part time. Otherwise, MP will get SALARY rather than ALLOWANCE When they tell you to seek approval from CEO, it is just another way of saying "no" lah by default True, as long as you are not earning another salary, then it cannot be considered a 2nd employment. So we just have to be careful how that 2nd income is paid to us. Best is if it is by job/assignment, not regular and no cpf. Like teaching private tuition part time is also an "allowance" for your time and expertise Previously there was some overzealous govt institution that went as far as to ban its employees from doing grab hitch services. Grab then went on to clarify that hitching is not for income/salary, but for cost-sharing of the trip - thus perfectly acceptable. Edited December 3, 2023 by Sosaria Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 2:31 PM, Sosaria said: When they tell you to seek approval from CEO, it is just another way of saying "no" lah by default True, as long as you are not earning another salary, then it cannot be considered a 2nd employment. So we just have to be careful how that 2nd income is paid to us. Best is if it is by job/assignment, not regular and no cpf. Like teaching private tuition part time is also an "allowance" for your time and expertise Previously there was some overzealous govt institution that went as far as to ban its employees from doing grab hitch services. Grab then went on to clarify that hitching is not for income/salary, but for cost-sharing of the trip - thus perfectly acceptable. Bro, your CEO very free huh? When they tell you to seek CEO approval, it is meant to eliminate ppl who are not serious about the request. It is up to you to convince CEO to give you a raise or allow a part time gig. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 3:41 PM, ER-3682 said: Like MyCarForum's Moderators,full time Work + work here,like @RadX That one hold 2 jobs as grim reaper & undertaker Conflict of interest sia 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 9:31 PM, Fcw75 said: Sometimes no choice when one is living from hand to mouth. Not everyone is like most people here who are cash rich. 有头发谁要做和尚。 Remind me of a riddle. 和尚买梳子,猜一个国家。 Answer: Scotland (梳个兰) Back to the topic, not just hand to mouth case, some did it for other reasons. I am an adjunct lecturer (with approval from my company), as part of my retirement planning. But have to say the cost of living is indeed squeezing some middle class quite badly that they have to take up part time job to have some spare cash. Insurance agent, PHV driver, and even working in F&B on weekends. Affordability has different meaning for the people and our government. Some are paying through their nose just for a HDB flat. $1000 monthly income can own a flat is a bad joke, trust me. 6 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 3:03 PM, inlinesix said: Bro, your CEO very free huh? When they tell you to seek CEO approval, it is meant to eliminate ppl who are not serious about the request. It is up to you to convince CEO to give you a raise or allow a part time gig. I tell you what will happen when you send e-mail up mount olympus. There'll be deafening silence. Then later your immediate boss will call you, tell you where can do such thing, next time don't send e-mail direct So it's a "no", don't need to even try. HR just words the clause like that to avoid being labelled as inflexible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/3/2023 at 11:57 PM, Sosaria said: I tell you what will happen when you send e-mail up mount olympus. There'll be deafening silence. Then later your immediate boss will call you, tell you where can do such thing, next time don't send e-mail direct So it's a "no", don't need to even try. HR just words the clause like that to avoid being labelled as inflexible. Sounds like you are in a Company that has bad leadership. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 (edited) On 12/3/2023 at 10:38 PM, Carbon82 said: Affordability has different meaning for the people and our government. Some are paying through their nose just for a HDB flat. $1000 monthly income can own a flat is a bad joke, trust me. ya.. now one blue note can't go far... dine at hawker center for 4 gone liao.. went the new Sengkang Grand mall hawker yesterday.. miserable portion.. Edited December 3, 2023 by Ody_2004 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbon82 Moderator December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/4/2023 at 6:30 AM, Ody_2004 said: ya.. now one blue note can't go far... dine at hawker center for 4 gone liao.. went the new Sengkang Grand mall hawker yesterday.. miserable portion.. 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/4/2023 at 6:59 AM, Carbon82 said: Because of Inflation. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/4/2023 at 6:30 AM, Ody_2004 said: ya.. now one blue note can't go far... dine at hawker center for 4 gone liao.. went the new Sengkang Grand mall hawker yesterday.. miserable portion.. Ya,in the 90's $50.00 can pumped 40 Litres of Petrol,now $50.00 only 15 Litres. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged December 3, 2023 Share December 3, 2023 On 12/4/2023 at 7:13 AM, ER-3682 said: Ya,in the 90's $50.00 can pumped 40 Litres of Petrol,now $50.00 only 15 Litres. Ya loh.. i can cut down on driving (like i did, replying on MRT) but food is necessity which cannot cut or save.. i not talking fancy food or restaurant.. just like chick rice, wan tan mee n such.. unless these are oredi classified as indulgence 🤣🤣🤣 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged December 4, 2023 Share December 4, 2023 On 12/2/2023 at 2:41 PM, Inlinefour said: hearsay multimillion dollar earner also can have many other side income one leh 🙊🙉🙈 Like who? Some even officially approved hor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged December 4, 2023 Share December 4, 2023 On 12/4/2023 at 11:24 AM, Victor68 said: Like who? Some even officially approved hor. bird of the same feather flock together 🙈🙉🙊 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 4, 2023 Share December 4, 2023 (edited) On 12/4/2023 at 7:17 AM, Ody_2004 said: Ya loh.. i can cut down on driving (like i did, replying on MRT) but food is necessity which cannot cut or save.. i not talking fancy food or restaurant.. just like chick rice, wan tan mee n such.. unless these are oredi classified as indulgence 🤣🤣🤣 I cut down on driving completely by giving up the car. Immediately save on insurance and road tax....felt less stress and burden now. Few days ago went loitering from CBD then Orchard to see lights, etc....it is great when no need to think about the parking. I figure that retiree no need car in SG la. When things get expensive, just have to adapt. Won't die one. 😄 Edited December 4, 2023 by Starry 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged December 4, 2023 Share December 4, 2023 On 12/4/2023 at 1:53 PM, Starry said: I cut down on driving completely by giving up the car. Immediately save on insurance and road tax....felt less stress and burden now. Few days ago went loitering from CBD then Orchard to see lights, etc....it is great when no need to think about the parking. I figure that retiree no need car in SG la. When things get expensive, just have to adapt. Won't die one. 😄 Ya lah won’t die for sure lah.. less stress is true when not driving.. last time when wake up i need to decide to drive which cars.. now i just see which bus come i take! Whahahahahaha.. heng i don have friend.. which make it easy.. no need reply to what car u driving now.. where u go for holiday? Buying new property? All these jin stressful de.. my Black Friday purchase just a $27 casio watch compare to last time $1200 G shock! 🤣🤣🤣 1 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic December 4, 2023 Share December 4, 2023 On 12/4/2023 at 2:09 PM, Ody_2004 said: Ya lah won’t die for sure lah.. less stress is true when not driving.. last time when wake up i need to decide to drive which cars.. now i just see which bus come i take! Whahahahahaha.. heng i don have friend.. which make it easy.. no need reply to what car u driving now.. where u go for holiday? Buying new property? All these jin stressful de.. my Black Friday purchase just a $27 casio watch compare to last time $1200 G shock! 🤣🤣🤣 What happened? 🤪 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...