Bus stop design and admitting a mistake

Wind30

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/bus-stop-pillars-marine-parade-parkway-chee-hong-tat-4461911

Ok… I am not that sad over how stupid that bus stop design is but more about our minister reaction to it…

it is obviously a mistake in design and yet minister took lta explanation and try to justify it. We can build huge underground mrt lines and we cannot build a functional bus stop because of a drain??? Common just reroute the drain or work around it. U can’t say because of a drain, u build a bus stop where people cannot see buses coming…

And our brilliant minister fix is to install video screens???? Those video screens can show buses coming but can you make out the bus number??? I think minister never use a camera before or understand how human vision work. To be able to make out the bus number early, u need a giant screen….

the right fix is to redo the bus stop to remove those pillars from the front but that would admit the mistake in the first place… is it that hard to admit a mistake that they want to waste even more tax payers money trying to find and implement a work around???

• Haha! 8

Well… Chee Hong has been proving himself inept over n over again..

• Haha! 12

On 7/8/2024 at 6:58 AM, RadX said:

Doubt he ever take a public bus before. :wut:

Chauffer driven since young ? :slow:

On 7/8/2024 at 6:49 AM, Wind30 said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/bus-stop-pillars-marine-parade-parkway-chee-hong-tat-4461911

Ok… I am not that sad over how stupid that bus stop design is but more about our minister reaction to it…

it is obviously a mistake in design and yet minister took lta explanation and try to justify it. We can build huge underground mrt lines and we cannot build a functional bus stop because of a drain??? Common just reroute the drain or work around it. U can’t say because of a drain, u build a bus stop where people cannot see buses coming…

And our brilliant minister fix is to install video screens???? Those video screens can show buses coming but can you make out the bus number??? I think minister never use a camera before or understand how human vision work. To be able to make out the bus number early, u need a giant screen….

the right fix is to redo the bus stop to remove those pillars from the front but that would admit the mistake in the first place… is it that hard to admit a mistake that they want to waste even more tax payers money trying to find and implement a work around???

I hope they install a giant screen. And someday a gust of strong wind blows it onto the ground. 

On 7/8/2024 at 7:28 AM, Volvobrick said:

I hope they install a giant screen. And someday a gust of strong wind blows it onto the ground. 

and killed someone.... :lll._.:

Then they will wake up. :we-all-gonna-die:

On 7/8/2024 at 6:49 AM, Wind30 said:

It's under Marine Parade GRC. :we-all-gonna-die:

Something must be special from others. :ph34r:

On 7/8/2024 at 6:58 AM, RadX said:

I don't know him but he is the new transport minister and he need to have some thinking before saying such public stuff and not take whatever LTA says for face value.

simple questions he should have asked

LTA has build so many bus stops, Singapore has so many underground drains, surely this drain problem is not new. what have we done it the past? Did we have such a bus stop design in the past? If he had asked, I think he would have realised that there are many ways to work around the drain or reroute the drain, that does not make the product a functional fail.

Simple questions to find right answers... the bus stop mistake does not reflect badly on the minister, but his response is sooo bad. Don't he have subordinates to advise him?

e

On 7/8/2024 at 7:50 AM, Wind30 said:

I don't know him but he is the new transport minister and he need to have some thinking before saying such public stuff and not take whatever LTA says for face value.

LTA has build so many bus stops, Singapore has so many underground drains, surely this drain problem is not new. what have we done it the past? Did we have such a bus stop design in the past? If he had asked, I think he would have realised that there are many ways to work around the drain or reroute the drain, that does not make the product a functional fail.

Simple questions to find right answers... the bus stop mistake does not reflect badly on the minister, but his response is sooo bad. Don't he have subordinates to advise him?

totally agree..the response is a real 🥸

I don't think he was even in the board meeting when the design was proposed. :slow:

Or it was not him at all and the other ministers or 2nd minister way before him.  :=B:

From design stage to budgeting to approval and calling for ITQ will takes at least more than a year. :we-all-gonna-die:

Cheapest and most efficient fix is to hire one fw and shout the numbar of the arriving bus can oredi...must be multi linguistic fellow tho...including various dialects...zhup ho...sub hou...tub hor...etc 😁

But i tink that fellow next day can take mc for sore throat...😂

MoT has always been a career ending ministry.

So far, only 1 person left unscathed.

Even though the answer looks stupid, the blame can be entirely pin on LTA.

If he changed it to something “cleverer”, he will take all the blame.

Maybe we should make radx LTA CE😂

Most of our elite ministars are liddis la. 

Got complaints from the public just ask the relevant authority and parrot back their explanation. No scrutiny done. No wrongs are ever mentioned. Prime example: erp 2.0.

Funny part is this kind of things only mostly  happened to public projects. If is private project, sure kena question in and out from lta. 

On 7/8/2024 at 8:23 AM, inlinesix said:

MoT has always been a career ending ministry.

So far, only 1 person left unscathed.

Even though the answer looks stupid, the blame can be entirely pin on LTA.

If he changed it to something “cleverer”, he will take all the blame.

Maybe we should make radx LTA CE😂

You mean "Hui Ker" .... :secret-laugh:

There is a severe lack of commonsense in the worst gahmen organisation. 

Just like planting hedges next to zebra crossing at slip roads obscuring views of drivers, especially of small kids.

So what's a few pillars? At most miss the bus right?