Wind30

On 7/8/2024 at 8:50 AM, Volvobrick said:

Another c. u. pillar design too. 

Not the pillars problem for this.

Rather, rain water from the slope

On 7/8/2024 at 6:49 AM, Wind30 said:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapore/bus-stop-pillars-marine-parade-parkway-chee-hong-tat-4461911

Ok… I am not that sad over how stupid that bus stop design is but more about our minister reaction to it…

it is obviously a mistake in design and yet minister took lta explanation and try to justify it. We can build huge underground mrt lines and we cannot build a functional bus stop because of a drain??? Common just reroute the drain or work around it. U can’t say because of a drain, u build a bus stop where people cannot see buses coming…

And our brilliant minister fix is to install video screens???? Those video screens can show buses coming but can you make out the bus number??? I think minister never use a camera before or understand how human vision work. To be able to make out the bus number early, u need a giant screen….

the right fix is to redo the bus stop to remove those pillars from the front but that would admit the mistake in the first place… is it that hard to admit a mistake that they want to waste even more tax payers money trying to find and implement a work around???

Live telecast mah. When there is EPL match, can also screen there. 🤣

On 7/8/2024 at 7:50 AM, Wind30 said:

I don't know him but he is the new transport minister and he need to have some thinking before saying such public stuff and not take whatever LTA says for face value.

simple questions he should have asked

LTA has build so many bus stops, Singapore has so many underground drains, surely this drain problem is not new. what have we done it the past? Did we have such a bus stop design in the past? If he had asked, I think he would have realised that there are many ways to work around the drain or reroute the drain, that does not make the product a functional fail.

Simple questions to find right answers... the bus stop mistake does not reflect badly on the minister, but his response is sooo bad. Don't he have subordinates to advise him?

Exactly. There are many busstop around Sg which is much more demanding and yet functional. What is so special about this site at bus stop has to be build in this way. Now it needs another technology to augment it? It sounded like the $500,000 paid to consult a rubbish storage bin somewhere in SG. 

• Haha! 9

On 7/8/2024 at 7:53 AM, RadX said:

e

totally agree..the response is a real 🥸

This is how our highly paid and highly educated ministers can perform in their work?! 🙄

Even i never study much, i also know such design cannot make it and should never approved it.

Edited by 13177

On 7/8/2024 at 7:47 AM, Maxus-MIFA9 said:

and killed someone.... :lll._.:

Then they will wake up. :we-all-gonna-die:

It’s not someone. Must be their bloodline then can wake. 😂

On 7/8/2024 at 6:49 AM, Wind30 said:

is it that hard to admit a mistake that they want to waste even more tax payers money trying to find and implement a work around???

You'd know the minister at the top has lost touch with people on the ground when they come out with similar silly solution. Many years ago dunno which idiot's idea to build a huge advertisement wall in front of the bus stops, making commuters can't see oncoming bus.

• Haha! 8

On 7/8/2024 at 10:22 AM, Zxcvb said:

You'd know the minister at the top has lost touch with people on the ground when they come out with similar silly solution. Many years ago dunno which idiot's idea to build a huge advertisement wall in front of the bus stops, making commuters can't see oncoming bus.

Those ministers job is to make life difficult for commoners like us la.

Nothing wrong to state the (constraints) reason why the bus stop was built this way.

What he should have done is to address the public were alternatives adequately considered and there is no better way except to build this way? He shouldn't just stop at providing the reason. 

On another note, I find our bus stops are small when there are plenty of space behind being taken up by just grass patch. Why can't LTA build bus stop just slightly bigger (more depth)? This helps when it is raining and also to better accommodate large crowds during peak hours.

Why stop at proposing big screens to show incoming busses?

Should leverage on the "mistake" by enclosing the whole thing with fully air-conditioned & big screens inside it.  Turn it around by making it the first  air-condition bus stop in Singapore in anticipation of warmer temperatures. . Learn from Dubai........they have many bus-stops that are fully air-conditioned.  I enjoyed the experience of taking busses in Dubai.

Turn the weakness into strength.  

Edited by Stary

On 7/8/2024 at 9:16 AM, Rayleigh said:

Exactly. There are many busstop around Sg which is much more demanding and yet functional. What is so special about this site at bus stop has to be build in this way. Now it needs another technology to augment it? It sounded like the $500,000 paid to consult a rubbish storage bin somewhere in SG. 

This bus stop not only provide shelter for people waiting for bus, also it provide shelter for the bus, and people boarding/alighting the bus, while i can appreciate such "thoughtfulness", the execution is just half-past-six, probably the cheaper faster but nowhere better approach. A similar but much better bus stop is the one outside Northpoint, but that was done by private developer, so don't tell me they have no benchmark of what need to be done....

On 7/8/2024 at 11:19 AM, Gizmore said:

Nothing wrong to state the (constraints) reason why the bus stop was built this way.

What he should have done is to address the public were alternatives adequately considered and there is no better way except to build this way? He shouldn't just stop at providing the reason. 

On another note, I find our bus stops are small when there are plenty of space behind being taken up by just grass patch. Why can't LTA build bus stop just slightly bigger (more depth)? This helps when it is raining and also to better accommodate large crowds during peak hours.

dun complain so much, wait they give you the nostalgic classic bus stop :D

a-forgotten-side-of-singapore-the-humble-bus-stop-pole-v0-tut5456kx8rc1.jpg

On 7/8/2024 at 10:46 AM, 13177 said:

Those ministers job is to make life difficult for commoners like us la.

So they will go bid high COE and gahmen income goes up? 

Now the c0ckups by LTA makes perfect sense! 

Grass patch probably belongs to SLA/NParks. You want the different agencies to talk and coordinate? In your dreams! 

On 7/8/2024 at 12:49 PM, Stary said:

Why stop at proposing big screens to show incoming busses?

Should leverage on the "mistake" by enclosing the whole thing with fully air-conditioned & big screens inside it.  Turn it around by making it the first  air-condition bus stop in Singapore in anticipation of warmer temperatures. . Learn from Dubai........they have many bus-stops that are fully air-conditioned.  I enjoyed the experience of taking busses in Dubai.

Turn the weakness into strength.  

mai la.... then they will have another self created excuse to raise fares... say commuter wanted an aircon bus stop, so now the cost have gone up...

On 7/8/2024 at 12:53 PM, Ahwhye said:

This bus stop not only provide shelter for people waiting for bus, also it provide shelter for the bus, and people boarding/alighting the bus, while i can appreciate such "thoughtfulness", the execution is just half-past-six, probably the cheaper faster but nowhere better approach. A similar but much better bus stop is the one outside Northpoint, but that was done by private developer, so don't tell me they have no benchmark of what need to be done....

different teams competing to outdo each other to gain promotion points? thus cannot copy the others design... else no face... 😁

else i cannot think of any reason why good cookie cutter designs are not used more.

You see which bus stop they built helps when it is raining and accommodate large crowds? Most bus stop are just for 'show' only and cannot serve any purpose at all.