mersaylee Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On BTK...surprisingly I get better value out of dining at their restaurants than at hc...better portion with good service...unilke those at hc macam you owe them a lot in your previous lives liddat...😁 ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 Since I like my food to be flavourful, it is difficult to find it here. Too healthy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 7:39 PM, mersaylee said: On BTK...surprisingly I get better value out of dining at their restaurants than at hc...better portion with good service...unilke those at hc macam you owe them a lot in your previous lives liddat...😁 How much exactly is your BTK meal that is twice as good as the typical HC chicken rice though If really that good I will break my vow, give it a try and come back with a FR 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 6:17 PM, Jellandross said: It's the unconscious bias in ppl's mind. Nothing to do with actual food quality. Hawker food = blue collar price Foreign food = premium price I enjoy my $15 Tai Hwa BCM once a while but my friend say $15 might as well eat Jap ramen because it's "more worth it". I ask him what is your definition of "worth"? He say hawker food cannot be worth the premium price no matter how good. Which is not even an answer. exactly, i got similar comments 🤣. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 8:44 PM, macrosszero said: How much exactly is your BTK meal that is twice as good as the typical HC chicken rice though If really that good I will break my vow, give it a try and come back with a FR Donno...i only settle credit bills...wife settles bill each time and she often says quite worth it...but when we have the same ayam set at hc...she kpkb so little meat...😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 12:39 PM, Kopites said: $5 get you a burger, drink and fries. Use the app sometime got free pie or ice cream. Only if you buy from the fast food which have $5 meal and free pie/ice cream lo. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 4:41 PM, Ahwhye said: eh... definitely not ginger or tumeric powder, that amount would make the soup ginger juice liao So what was that yellow powder? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 9:13 PM, mersaylee said: Donno...i only settle credit bills...wife settles bill each time and she often says quite worth it...but when we have the same ayam set at hc...she kpkb so little meat...😂 Cos I see BTK is $9.50 for a single person portion, minimum. Not sure if they charge service or GST. Depends where you go, you can get between 2 to 3 portions at coffee shop or hawker centre for the same price. Unlike Songfa. They are more costly than your run of the mill BKT but their normal ribs are what other shops call premium meat. I gladly pay for the quality. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 5:10 PM, Victor68 said: If you compare food court operators rent against hawker center, you will understand the gap between the 2. I don't understand why there are still food court operators if hawker center operators cannot survive. What are the underlying issues? My POV, many hawker center operators are paying food court rent to 'owners' with licence from NEA but act as landlord. Hawker centers are also badly managed. For the same price, I would prefer food court. Indeed go to food court better than hc la, at least foodcourt has aircon and no birds flying around. The only thing i cannot tahan hc is the birds, super unhygienic and dirty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 6:17 PM, Jellandross said: It's the unconscious bias in ppl's mind. Nothing to do with actual food quality. Hawker food = blue collar price Foreign food = premium price I enjoy my $15 Tai Hwa BCM once a while but my friend say $15 might as well eat Jap ramen because it's "more worth it". I ask him what is your definition of "worth"? He say hawker food cannot be worth the premium price no matter how good. Which is not even an answer. In many people mindset and definition of hawker centre is cheapo and 'low class' eating place. So price also must not be ex, price must not exceed $6, if not, not worth since hawker centre is hot and dirty. Esp those old hawker centre. Lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrosszero Turbocharged January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 9:43 PM, 13177 said: In many people mindset and definition of hawker centre is cheapo and 'low class' eating place. So price also must not be ex, price must not exceed $6, if not, not worth since hawker centre is hot and dirty. Esp those old hawker centre. Lol. Isn’t it? They’ve positioned themselves based on what they offer - no aircon, no table service and you even have to return your own dishes after you’re done…… 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 9:59 PM, macrosszero said: Isn’t it? They’ve positioned themselves based on what they offer - no aircon, no table service and you even have to return your own dishes after you’re done…… I ate in a restaurant in 3rd flr of Busan Station. I ordered through a machine. Have to pick up my meal from the counter. Have to return when done. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 5:10 PM, Victor68 said: If you compare food court operators rent against hawker center, you will understand the gap between the 2. I don't understand why there are still food court operators if hawker center operators cannot survive. What are the underlying issues? My POV, many hawker center operators are paying food court rent to 'owners' with licence from NEA but act as landlord. Hawker centers are also badly managed. For the same price, I would prefer food court. if you observe carefully, a lot of the food court stalls are operated by "well-known" F&B chains, they don't need to be very profitable in every single stalls as long as good ones can cover the lesser ones. For individual hawker is very different, their stall is their only viable income source and they will have their family and workers, if any, to feed, the stress is different. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 9:33 PM, 13177 said: So what was that yellow powder? I dunno, may be some chicken/pork powder or some MSG thingy, I just hope not some china's 科技狠活. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged January 7 Share January 7 I think we need to see a breakdown of what are the costs of an average hawker stall. How much is rent, how much is price of ingredients, how much is utilities etc etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 9:35 PM, macrosszero said: Cos I see BTK is $9.50 for a single person portion, minimum. Not sure if they charge service or GST. Depends where you go, you can get between 2 to 3 portions at coffee shop or hawker centre for the same price. Unlike Songfa. They are more costly than your run of the mill BKT but their normal ribs are what other shops call premium meat. I gladly pay for the quality. I think BTK is more than selling chicken rice nowadays, their zichar dishes seem like quite popular, compare to 5 stars chicken rice. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 9:35 PM, macrosszero said: Cos I see BTK is $9.50 for a single person portion, minimum. Not sure if they charge service or GST. Depends where you go, you can get between 2 to 3 portions at coffee shop or hawker centre for the same price. Unlike Songfa. They are more costly than your run of the mill BKT but their normal ribs are what other shops call premium meat. I gladly pay for the quality. I may go there tomorrow...let me check if it's worth to break a vow ornot...but to make a vow over ayam is really...😂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ody_2004 Turbocharged January 7 Share January 7 On 1/7/2025 at 10:33 PM, Benarsenal said: I think we need to see a breakdown of what are the costs of an average hawker stall. How much is rent, how much is price of ingredients, how much is utilities etc etc. I thot a minister once said it's not the rent but ingredient that make the major portion of cost? 🙄 around my place (buangkok).. with the opening of SGM and the bus interchange.. a few stalls around that area oredi closed.. too many competitors with not a huge catchment area.. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...