Australia: Brisbane - Sydney - Canberra - Melbourne - Adelaide Dec 2025

On 4/1/2025 at 3:22 PM, teomingern said:

Oh that's a good idea... I was thinking that if I rent the car more than 27 days, will have mileage restriction... so thinking of returning the car in Sydney cos I don't think I should drive in Sydney? Might make more sense to return and pick up...

Good point about returning car to Melbourne and then flying to Tasmania and back to Melbourne again.

I'm kind of not sure where to stay in Sydney... it's huge and many areas which are more or less self-contained. The Darling Harbour, Sydney Opera House, etc must do for me cos my wife and kids never see before... but staying there is a frighteningly expensive... so thinking of staying Hurtsville... long drive into the heart of Sydney I guess... but we may go really early to beat the crowd and traffic... the Sydney I visit in 2004 is not the same as now anymore I am sure... so any advice is really welcome here!

Melbourne is more compact, I've visited 2x, so more famililar although also in 2004 & 2005... so again many things may have changed...

Gold Coast, I not going to Theme Parks for roller coaster... my whole family is scared of them... other rides maybe ok... more sedate ones... or water parks with slides... not into the thrills... so maybe 7 days in Brisbane may be overdoing it, especially if I don't stay in Gold Coast and just do a day trip...

Oooo... meals meals... I am budgeting S$50 a day per adult, lunch and dinner... got to look for cheap eats... my kids confirm can share... so about $150 per day... hopefully less...

Yeah looking at motels really... or apartments on Booking.com... some are going for about just below $1000 for 7 days... so pretty ok still... 

Wah... another 1 or 2 trips to Oz before Dec... really loaded leh... airfare already crazy... funny that with my dates, SIA is cheapest...

SIA is also cheaper to Europe,  for some flight I check compare to those middle east airlines which still need transit.

On 4/1/2025 at 8:34 PM, Tohto said:

SIA is also cheaper to Europe,  for some flight I check compare to those middle east airlines which still need transit.

SIA ticket to Europe is cheap for "direct" flight to strategic country/cities ... all year round [thumbsup] 

1. UK/London

2. Germany/Munich & Frankfurt

3. Denmark/Copenhagen

these 3 cities are very strategic to connect to many countries and cities

On 4/1/2025 at 1:56 PM, teomingern said:

Hello everyone,

I'm now planning in earnest to visit Australia in Dec 2025. It's a bit late I know... but my wife just renewed her passport (takes a lot to get it done in her country)...

TRIP ITINERARY

This will be another drivng trip. As above: Brisbane - Sydney - Canberra - Melbourne - Adelaide.

Open jaw flight using SIA. Fly in Brisbane, fly out Adelaide. 28 Nov to 1 Jan. So far SIA is the cheapest and direct flights for both legs, compared to Qantas & Emirates. Any other airlines recommendation welcome!

The itinerary is roughly dvided this way - subject to change as I plan more in detail. 

ITINERARY SPLIT

Brisbane - 7 days: may split the days between Brisbane and Gold Coast.

Sydney - 8 days (one day rest stop between as the distance is 917 km, so only 7 days effectively): may split the days between Sydney and some farm stay in outskirts; any suggestions where to break journey between Brisbane and Sydney?

Canberra - 3 days (286 km from Sydney; doable in one day): nothing much to do, just visit the capital lar... on the way, take as rest stop cos Sydney to Melbourne is about 900 km)

Melbourne - 12 days (662 km from Canberra; doable in one day): lots of stuff to do. Likely split the stay between Melbourne and some farm stay

Adelaide - 4 days (735 km from Melbourne; doable in one day): likely to stay near the beach. The last time I stayed in Semphore Beach area. Also not much to do.

Any comments about the number of days allocated are welcome. Thinking of Tasmania... actually, wonder if possible... hahaha... that's one place I haven't been to...

CAR RENTAL

This is a tough one given the one way rental. Will be trying Apex Rentals cos one bro here said no transfer charge (sorry forgot who already). Hope still true... otherwise, may modify plans...

ACCOMODATION

Would prefer apartments or motels. Trying to keep costs down to less than $200 a day for 2 adults and 2 kids. Not fussy about luxury. Got space for kids to play can already. Any recommendations would be most welcome! Will have to pay more for B&B or farm stay I guess.

FOOD

Likely lunch eat out, dinner do takeaway to manage costs. Breakfast buy from supermarket. Any tips much appreciated. I used to eat out for all my past trips. But this one is really long and it's going to add up crazily... all recommendations for delicious pho, cantonese food, ang mo food, Thai food, etc all welcome!

All comments, suggestions, tips and experiences from all the bros here who have experience all welcome! 

Thank you!

Bro, road trips can be fun, but looking at your Japan endeavours, even by your this is quite xiong, well outrageous man...

Australia is huugggeee... 

I would suggest flying from city to city, but knowing you, you will give some reasons not to...

Eg Bris to Syd is a 13 hour drive bro, a v v serious journey even if you have two or three drivers. I have gone to Bris by road from Syd and it's no joke. If there is only one person, you may become the next statistic of road accident that we will talk about on this forum and I don't really want that. No sir, not with all my heart.

Syd to ACT is a good six hours, ACT to Mel is another six minimum. Syd to Mel is a good ten hours, and that's without touring or stops except for short pee breaks..

The drive from Syd to Mel can be fun if you have two or three drivers and have a motel stop. 
There are big attractions along the way, literally big, you can find some articles on it but they all recommend stops

https://www.britz.com/au/en/get-inspired/articles-tips/breathtaking-road-trip-stops-between-sydney-and-melbourne

https://drivemate.au/blog/sydney-to-melbourne-road-trip-itinerary-best-stops-tips-and-more-clz0uuwgv000chwsitwboffx5/

Eg, there is a submarine HMAS Otway along the way

https://www.australiantraveller.com/australia/sydney-to-melbourne-road-trip-itinerary/

But driving alone can be fatal bro.. 

And to do multiple long trip is very hard on the body, even if you're 25 and I don't think you are...

Mel to Ade is even worse bro..

In Syd, I can share a ton of places to go to, you just decide on what you like, eg shopping place, eating or sights. You see what kind of balance. 

Hurstville is super far.. Ashfield and Five Dock are not so far, or Darling Harbor or Northshore perhaps. 
Remember not all trains come regularly at each station, some stops are used only once an hour, so if the hotel there is too cheap, don't. 

Some motels along Cumberland Highway are ok and not too far from town.

Save by using Big W and Woolsworth for fresh produce and make food in your motel / apartment / Air BNB. Hotels cost more in the CBD especially along George and Pitt Sts

Along the Great Ocean you can see the 5 apostles, yep 5 left.. stop overnight at Port Campbell for really good pizza.

Mel, the Yarra Valley, Philip Island are nice, IMO the city is kind of boring, but that's me, since you will be in Syd, which offers a lot more stuff. You can spend more time in Syd. 

Ade
Kangaroo island is nice, and of course wine valley if you're into it. Not a lot more there

As for the car, a nice V8 Station Wagon is nice, or a MPV or minimum a Mits Outlander which is great for long drives. It won't cost a lot more than your Corolla and you won't regret the space and also good when the roads get rough.

See what you like first then I can answer in more detail.

And yes, don't forget it's super hot then.. blazing.. with lots of flies too.. and get spare water, in the car and for your passengers..

Edited by therock

Multi day drive Syd to Mel

A coastal drive from Sydney to Melbourne is one of the most scenic road trips you can take in Australia. This journey, known as the “Grand Pacific Drive” or “Princes Highway route”, takes you along some of the most stunning coastal landscapes, charming towns, and natural attractions. Here’s a suggested itinerary:

Day 1: Sydney to Jervis Bay (Approx. 200 km / 2.5 hours)

-Highlights : Begin your journey south by heading through the Royal National Park, where you can stop at the Bald Hill Lookout for panoramic views. Continue along the Sea Cliff Bridge, an iconic coastal drive section.

-Stop: Wollongong for a coffee and beach views.

-Destination: Jervis Bay offers stunning white-sand beaches like Hyams Beach, and you can explore the Booderee National Park.

Day 2: Jervis Bay to Batemans Bay (Approx. 140 km / 1.5 hours)

-Highlights: Drive further south and stop by Huskisson or Vincentia for dolphin or whale watching cruises.

-Stop: Ulladulla, a seaside town known for its beaches and harbor.

-Destination: Batemans Bay, where you can visit nearby Murramarang National Park for kangaroo spotting on the beach or take a stroll along Clyde River.

Day 3: Batemans Bay to Narooma (Approx. 100 km / 1.5 hours)

-Highlights: This leg of the journey offers lush coastal scenery and more beautiful beaches.

-Stop: Moruya for its peaceful riverside setting, or Broulee Island for nature walks.

-Destination: Narooma, famous for the Australia Rock formation, and nearby Montague Island, where you can take a boat trip to see seals and penguins.

Day 4: Narooma to Merimbula (Approx. 110 km / 1.5 hours)

-Highlights: This stretch takes you through some more relaxed seaside towns with pristine environments.

- Stop: Tilba Tilba, a heritage town full of crafts and traditional architecture.

- Destination: Merimbula, which offers lakes, beaches, and bushwalking. Don’t miss Pambula Beach and Ben Boyd National Park for coastal walks.

Day 5: Merimbula to Lakes Entrance (Approx. 270 km / 3.5 hours)

- Highlights: Crossing into Victoria, you'll start to see the Gippsland Lakes region.

- Stop: Eden, where you can learn about the local whaling history and spot whales in season (May-November).

- Destination: Lakes Entrance, known for its extensive lake system and beautiful beaches. A boat trip or a walk along the Ninety Mile Beach is a must.

Day 6: Lakes Entrance to Wilsons Promontory (Approx. 220 km / 3 hours)

- Highlights: Explore the Gippsland coast with stops at quiet fishing villages.

- Destination: Wilsons Promontory National Park, one of Victoria’s best-loved nature reserves, with hiking trails, wildlife (kangaroos, emus, wombats), and breathtaking beaches like Squeaky Beach.

Day 7: Wilsons Promontory to Melbourne (Approx. 220 km / 3 hours)

- Highlights: Enjoy the final stretch, with opportunities for coastal views and countryside scenery.

- Stop: Inverloch or Phillip Island for penguin viewing (if you have extra time).

- Destination: Melbourne, where you can end your journey with the sights and sounds of the city.

Important Tips:

- Best time to travel: Spring (September-November) and Autumn (March-May) are ideal for pleasant weather and wildlife viewing.

- Wildlife : Look out for kangaroos, wombats, and dolphins along the way.

- Accommodation: Options range from holiday parks to motels, and luxury coastal retreats. Pre-book during peak seasons.

This scenic drive is perfect if you enjoy coastal views, wildlife, and charming small towns!

no wonder my cousin in living Sydney say he "don't have" to go out from Australia for his holiday 

he literally visited the entire Europe liao ... LOL

anyway, whenever we fly from singapore to sydney ... few hours of the flight time is within Australia

Actually come to think of it, to cover so many places in a single trip with whole family is too much and too stressful. Don't end up quarrel along the way. 

And don't speed. Fines very very expensive. 

On 4/1/2025 at 7:09 PM, teomingern said:

Yeah I know right... inside central areas is both tiny and cramped and expensive... will stay outside of central areas... I kind of know where to stay for Melbourne... but Sydney, I'm kind of lost... was reading online that I should stay in the inner suburbs which is well connected by train to the central areas and to elsewhere... any tips?

My last last Dec from 28 to 2nd Jan I stay near airport.  Which is cheaper.

Sydney airport is very near to city center.  So going by train very very easy, just a few station away.  

On 4/1/2025 at 10:15 PM, Volvobrick said:

Actually come to think of it, to cover so many places in a single trip with whole family is too much and too stressful. Don't end up quarrel along the way. 

If you see his previous travel, always very very long trip.

Similar for his last year japan trip. 

I have done plenty of road trips in Europe, North America and Australia. I actually did a non stopper from Brisbane to Melbourne once. Not something I would do again. 

If you're planning to sightsee, for best results plan on not driving more than 4 hours a day.

On 4/1/2025 at 10:29 PM, Tohto said:

If you see his previous travel, always very very long trip.

Similar for his last year japan trip. 

The driving in Australia is different from Japan.

I used to do 80% of the driving for 1,000km single day drive in my 20s in Australia.

I will not do it now even though I am fit to do so.

It is simply boring.

Correction bro..

If you get fined, you may get stopped from continuing... and double fine for public holidays...

On 4/1/2025 at 10:16 PM, Tohto said:

My last last Dec from 28 to 2nd Jan I stay near airport.  Which is cheaper.

Sydney airport is very near to city center.  So going by train very very easy, just a few station away.  

Kingsford area about 20min drive to the city.

But driving in the city is filled with jams during rush hours and there are many tolls. It makes SG look cheap by comparison..

In a single day you can pay >$30 in tolls...

Taking a train is fine in the city, just stay near a good station. 

YIH and some more basic hotels cost less. Hotels near the Central Station are ok, and not too expensive. These have little facilities but are very convenient. 
Redfern, Ashfield and further west like Burwood are ok. 
They have tourist class hotels...

The three airport area hotels are ok but not so near the trains.. 

His idea is VFM- pay for air ticket, so one must max out the trip.. 
But in this case, Aus is massive... it's bigger than Europe and the distances are really big. Miles in between with nothing. Very easy to fall asleep if one is tired and as the only driver, it will be hard...

On 4/1/2025 at 11:55 PM, therock said:

Kingsford area about 20min drive to the city.

But driving in the city is filled with jams during rush hours and there are many tolls. It makes SG look cheap by comparison..

In a single day you can pay >$30 in tolls...

Taking a train is fine in the city, just stay near a good station. 

YIH and some more basic hotels cost less. Hotels near the Central Station are ok, and not too expensive. These have little facilities but are very convenient. 
Redfern, Ashfield and further west like Burwood are ok. 
They have tourist class hotels...

The three airport area hotels are ok but not so near the trains.. 

As he is planning to be in Sydney in Dec, city center area will be very very expensive.  Definitely out of his budget of 200sgd. 

Even Airbnb is very ex.

I try that last Dec and finally book a hotel near airport. 

Edited by Tohto

although driving can go interesting places along the way, however you can skip some route which you probably won't see much. Can try taking overnight coach/train from Sydney to Brisbane so that you won't waste the day time and get rest at the same time, stay fresh for the rest of the journey.