Omoda E5

steveting99

On 12/28/2025 at 1:39 PM, Benarsenal said:

My friend had an ID.Buzz, one day suddenly cannot start, had to send back in to rectify 'software issue'. Was at dealer for almost a month.

Saw another online post about ID.5(?) door cannot open because of some electrical issue. Seems to be quite common.

The ID.4 and ID.5 have this thing where the car will switch off whenever you lift your butt off the driver seat (it's designed like that). Not sure whether it will cause electrical issues down the line because of all this start-stop-start-stop. But it is definitely annoying.

EV start stop is different from ICE la

My friend had an ID.Buzz, one day suddenly cannot start, had to send back in to rectify 'software issue'. Was at dealer for almost a month.

Saw another online post about ID.5(?) door cannot open because of some electrical issue. Seems to be quite common.

The ID.4 and ID.5 have this thing where the car will switch off whenever you lift your butt off the driver seat (it's designed like that). Not sure whether it will cause electrical issues down the line because of all this start-stop-start-stop. But it is definitely annoying.

Thought EV work like this? When you sit on the driver seat, the car auto start and when lift your butt off the seat or lock the door, the car will switch off?

Won’t be surprise if EV has such problem cause whole car is running on electric lo. If any of the electric component harwire, car sure “die”. Lol.

1 month is just sheer incompetence if it is just a SW issue. 😅

Some EVs will shutdown if not seated at driver seat for more than 30 min. 

On 12/28/2025 at 1:59 PM, 13177 said:

Thought EV work like this? When you sit on the driver seat, the car auto start and when lift your butt off the seat or lock the door, the car will switch off?

Won’t be surprise if EV has such problem cause whole car is running on electric lo. If any of the electric component harwire, car sure “die”. Lol.

Not all leh. BMW one I know turn off when you open the door. But some of the (mostly older) EVs still have a standard start-stop button.

Imagine you at the carpark gantry and need to reach out to tap your card or whatever. You lift your butt slightly then the car turn off le. So irritating right.

Edited by Benarsenal

I am surprise the 'engine' shut down once your butt is not on the seat. There is no engine to start with. It would make sense if your proximity card or car key is away from the car (when you leave the car), then the system shut down. 

Some cars do still have the start/stop button. Although it maybe symbolic but I do like some buttons or knobs control. Especially doors. 

On 12/28/2025 at 4:16 PM, Victor68 said:

I am surprise the 'engine' shut down once your butt is not on the seat. There is no engine to start with. It would make sense if your proximity card or car key is away from the car (when you leave the car), then the system shut down. 

Some cars do still have the start/stop button. Although it maybe symbolic but I do like some buttons or knobs control. Especially doors. 

Usually they have knobs and buttons for aircon.

How sensitive is this lift your butt off thing? I mean, most EVs, if you enable the auto start/stop (even if physical button is there and you disable), the car needs to be in Park and Door opened and closed before it kicks in, or even have to detect key fob/phone key is outside car before it switches off.

You mean in the VW you lean over to hug the KT... I mean wife, the car also switch off?

Edited by Ake109

On 12/29/2025 at 1:19 PM, Ake109 said:

How sensitive is this lift your butt off thing? I mean, most EVs, if you enable the auto start/stop (even if physical button is there and you disable), the car needs to be in Park and Door opened and closed before it kicks in, or even have to detect key fob/phone key is outside car before it switches off.

You mean in the VW you lean over to hug the KT... I mean wife, the car also switch off?

It triggers almost immediately once there's no weight on the seat, which is very annoying.

On 12/29/2025 at 4:23 PM, Benarsenal said:

It triggers almost immediately once there's no weight on the seat, which is very annoying.

OK that is dumb then, if it doesnt take into account the door opening. Probably proposed by the same gimp who championed haptic buttons on VW group.

Huh? Sure boh? Let say underwear kanna sangkut between the butt how? Need to tahan until to next destination?

On 12/29/2025 at 6:02 PM, Freeder said:

Huh? Sure boh? Let say underwear kanna sangkut between the butt how? Need to tahan until to next destination?

LOL.

That one I think still have some weight pressure on the seat lah.

On 12/29/2025 at 6:50 PM, Benarsenal said:

LOL.

That one I think still have some weight pressure on the seat lah.

Hmmm.. those always on tanga cutting will sure kanna full body contact unless u boomer on boxers half bake feeling then ok…

Edited by Freeder

On 12/29/2025 at 4:39 PM, Ake109 said:

OK that is dumb then, if it doesnt take into account the door opening. Probably proposed by the same gimp who championed haptic buttons on VW group.

German logic. 

On 12/29/2025 at 1:19 PM, Ake109 said:

EV has auto start/stop?

On 12/29/2025 at 4:39 PM, Ake109 said:

If the EV will switch off when there is no weight on the seat, then like a bit dumb. I understand that EV will auto start when you get into the car and sit on the driver seat, but if you get off the seat, it would not switch off until you lock the door.

On 12/30/2025 at 9:39 AM, Soya said:

Smlj is start stop on EV? 

It's auto on when u get in, auto off when u get out

Dinosaur boomer/genX EV like my little BYD has a start/stop button for old uncle to physically press to ON/OFF the car.

Can toggle it to auto or manual (button). I still havent decided which one I prefer.

Edited by Ake109

On 12/30/2025 at 9:56 AM, Ake109 said:

Dinosaur boomer/genX EV like my little BYD has a start/stop button for old uncle to physically press to ON/OFF the car.

Can toggle it to auto or manual (button). I still havent decided which one I prefer.

Lucky neber say need to pull choke knob to start...lol