Discriminatory practices towards the aged

Windwaver

I am sure many of you have seen 'migration' of workers from 1 organisation to another once a senior staff moves over. Either the company allowing this is envy of that company or what. Why would you employ an entire team by interviewing one staff. 😆

On 11/9/2023 at 9:48 AM, mersaylee said:

It might be just a test…if touch…career terminal liao…😅

I resigned the next day because I cannot work with/for somebody that is not serious about work.

I am the kind of person that prefers to finish my work in an hour and chill for the next 7 hours :grin:.

On 11/9/2023 at 7:22 AM, inlinesix said:

You pretend not to notice it.

🤭

Must prove to me serious about work first then I may notice :grin:

On 11/9/2023 at 7:22 PM, Windwaver said:

I resigned the next day because I cannot work with/for somebody that is not serious about work.

I am the kind of person that prefers to finish my work in an hour and chill for the next 7 hours :grin:.

I'm also a very serious worker bee...on the more important 7 hours of chill part...😁

Funny thing is if a male superior says this to a female employee sure career uplorry.

However, quite different if the opposite happens.

Male employee try to report female boss for sexual harassment often end up in the bin :XD: 

From AI :grin:

That’s a thoughtful and important question. 🌿
Negativity bias toward aging — the tendency to focus more on decline, loss, or frailty than on strengths and growth — is deeply ingrained in many societies. Combating it requires action at three levels: individual, social, and structural.

Here’s how we can address it step by step:

🧠 1. Change Mindsets (Individual Level)

a. Become aware of age bias.
We all absorb subtle messages that equate “young” with “good” and “old” with “bad.” Start noticing these in media, conversations, and your own thoughts.

b. Reframe aging as growth.
Instead of seeing aging as decline, emphasize what’s gained: perspective, emotional regulation, creativity, and resilience.

Example: Instead of saying “She’s still active for her age,” say “She’s active and energetic.”

c. Challenge your internal talk.
If you catch yourself fearing aging (“I’m getting old, ugh”), replace it with gratitude or curiosity (“I’m entering a new phase of life, let’s see what I can learn”).

🫶 2. Shift Social Norms (Community & Media Level)

a. Increase visibility of positive aging.
Promote stories, ads, and media showing older adults as capable, creative, funny, loving, and productive — not just frail or dependent.

b. Encourage intergenerational connection.
Regular interaction between younger and older people reduces stereotypes. Examples: mentorship programs, community gardens, co-housing projects, or volunteering together.

c. Language matters.
Avoid patronizing terms (“cute old lady,” “still working!”). Use person-first and equal language (“She leads a hiking group,” not “She still hikes at 70!”).

🏛️ 3. Systemic & Policy Change (Societal Level)

a. Anti-ageism education.
Include lessons about age diversity and lifespan in schools and workplace diversity training — just like race or gender inclusion.

b. Redesign work and care systems.
Offer flexible work for older adults, mentorship roles, and opportunities for lifelong learning. This shows that aging ≠ obsolescence.

c. Support age-inclusive health policies.
Ensure older people’s needs are represented in medical research, design, and technology — without treating them as a single “vulnerable” group.

💡 Bonus: Promote Positive Contact

Research shows that frequent, positive interactions with older adults are the single most effective way to reduce bias.
When we truly know someone older — their humor, stories, and abilities — stereotypes fade.

Would you like me to focus next on how to apply this in a workplace or family setting (like specific actions or communication tips)?

Eh u too farking free ah

how many can threads on ageing u want to start

dafug u aldy start one last time on discrimination

next pangsai also start ah

merged!!

On 10/17/2025 at 10:38 AM, kobayashiGT said:

why suddenly got this research study? hahaha. 

Cos he is a boomer inbound la knn… jus like AI bias

The whole thing is the mindset

u think what you are. Period! 

many boomers we see in sg have this defeatist mindset. Old and useless, this society will also perpetuate this. Doesn’t help we have boomers like ts trying to sweeten the deal

it is what it is! We grow old gracefully and be more gracious in our age. I see the opp happening here and thus we have more n more entitlement mentality stemming from this

i end with this

BF7081A6-F6C8-447C-A60D-21C4E321607B.png

On 10/17/2025 at 10:35 AM, RadX said:

Eh u too farking free ah

how many can threads on ageing u want to start

dafug u aldy start one last time on discrimination

next pangsai also start ah

merged!!

Aiya, must take care of our eldery ma and I think more can be done.

On 10/17/2025 at 10:44 AM, Windwaver said:

The mindset of them has to change too! See my earlier post

On 10/17/2025 at 10:45 AM, RadX said:

The mindset of them has to change too! See my earlier post

I wish.

Not when the helm is a young chap who only wants to hire people of the same age group.

On 10/17/2025 at 10:44 AM, Windwaver said:

And it is with this mindset that they think that the farking world owes them a living… why u think they behave like they are untouchables? I say they all die better le… in some derelict home

what I learn is to NEVER behave like time … and that to me is the most important lesson to keep

ffs… there is no free lunch.

On 10/17/2025 at 10:46 AM, Windwaver said:

Ageism in the workforce is real.

The truth hurts

get real! If u still need a job by 60, shows u haven’t done enuf in the first place. 

one would have had 30 years lead time to plan… that to me is whr the gahmen can help, education.