Finclk 1st Gear February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 Thanks for taking the time to write that out Finclk. Very useful for potential new car buyers like me. I am looking to get a car from Leco. However, they do not offer free servicing. AD like Kah and Borneo motors offer free servicing for say 3 years on top of warranty. Is this a common trait with PIs, in that they do not offer free servicing? Also Leco told me they have partner workshops. Which implies that their workshops are not in-house. Should i be vary of that? Appreciate any input, its a very confusing PI world out there for potential new car buyers like me. The business of most PIs is to just import the car and resell it. Most PIs will have an agreement with an outside workshop to provide the 'warranty programme'. Why i say it's 'warranty programme' and not warranty programme because it's not a real real warranty programme and is subject to chance and based on luck. Let me explain. When a PI outsources the warranty programme to the workshop, they do have to pay the workshop a certain fee, i'm not sure what this fee costs. But in return for this fee, the workshop outside will provide the warranty for your car as per what's stated in the booklet and to ensure the continuous coverage of this warranty, you need to bring your car back to service there regularly. Everything is smooth when there's no problem, the potential issue will arise when your car really has an issue and certain parts need to be repaired/replaced and are stated under the warranty programme. Then you will see if the warranty programme can be really trusted. Why? Because any repairs/replacements under this warranty programme will have to be borned by the workshop. It's at the workshop's cost - even though yes they have been paid a fee for each car they took under their warranty programme from the PIs. But it's still a cost to be borne by them. Good workshops will honor the warranty programme and settle the issue promptly. The kanasai ones will delay and delay for you until you buay tahan and go elsewhere to pay and repair yourself. For ADs, they import directly from the HQ itself. If they do too much hanky panky and rubbish and get negative feedback, they will also be in trouble. PIs import from other car dealers in a certain country, so they do not have access to the HQ itself. Another key issue is model recalls due to defective parts. ADs will recall and do repairs and CAN charge the cost to HQ. PIs and their respective workshops cannot do it. Cost is purely borne by workshop, which makes them less keen to carry out the recall properly. And many at times, you will hear cases of PI and workshop kicking the problem to each other until you are frustrated enough to handle the repairs and pay urself. For those few PIs that have in house workshop, it might be slightly better but there's always the risk that when you want to claim warranty, all sorts of pattern will appear. In fact some season car buyers will buy from PI and say don't need warranty and ask for further discount, then they find their own workshop outside to do servicing and any risk on product repairs/replacement, they take it. But that's why at end of day, need to ask yourself must you buy from PI? PI margins are quite high also. I looked at a number of PIs but in the end decided to buy from Borneo Motors for my Toyota. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
giants_lee 1st Gear February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 I can tell you with 100% confidence that it will still not work. There are many black things in the PI trade... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
nnagas Neutral Newbie February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 Unfortunately I'm looking a the vezel. THe HRV from Kah motors is more expensive, poorer spec and the attitude of the salespeople are very indifferent. Anyone had a good experience with their PI while buying their vezel? Can advise? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cmmerc 2nd Gear February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 I read this and many similar threads, and I get worried about PIs. But the AD for the car I wanted told me to wait long long, something like one year. So I went another route, self import. It was not as easy as it appears on the LTA website, and there are also risks involved. But at the end of the day, I got exactly what I wanted, at the time I wanted, and I have absolute visibility of all the cost involved ( craziest was a $3 + GST charge to enter the port to see the car unloading from container - I did not know you need to pay to go in ). It was a lot of hassle, and I still need to solve my servicing issues. But I finally got it done after many moons. 20 years ago, I bot a Honda MPV from a PI. I had not issue at all. Car arrived on time. They towed away my scrap car etc. Warranty was not an issue and the car gave no problems for the 5 years I owned it. I guess I was lucky. Perhaps it was not so tough then to be a PI and they were bona fide businessmen. I had experienced too bad experience from an AD, a wait of many many moons for my rover 620 then. So basically I think AD or PI, it is not a matter of their business model, but a matter of their business ethics. Choose wisely I guess. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Othello Supersonic February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 I teach you all the steps to buy from PI as safe as possible. ..... So only handover the money on the spot when car is registered in your name. hmmm, even for ADs you don't get car on the spot after the final payment Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Googoo 4th Gear February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 Thanks for taking the time to write that out Finclk. Very useful for potential new car buyers like me. I am looking to get a car from Leco. However, they do not offer free servicing. AD like Kah and Borneo motors offer free servicing for say 3 years on top of warranty. Is this a common trait with PIs, in that they do not offer free servicing? Also Leco told me they have partner workshops. Which implies that their workshops are not in-house. Should i be vary of that? Appreciate any input, its a very confusing PI world out there for potential new car buyers like me. just to share my PI is LECO...their partner workshop is not really good but then u need to go to them to maintain your warranty. Depends on PI, some PI offer foc servicing and some offer free labour (LECO free labour is bulls**t one lah, they charge u high high for the parts which end up the same.) nothing wrong with no in house workshop.. in house workshop doesn't mean will do good job though the PI might be better able to control things. LECO overall is ok for me.. fyi i pay in full for my car before my car is register to my name. think was 3 days before i send the cheque to them.. in fact i drop the cheque to them in the bank cheque box.. didnt even have time to go down to them.. lol. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Char 5th Gear February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 Mine is from Hup Long , free 1st 1000km service only and everything we're transparent when deal with them . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 just to share my PI is LECO...their partner workshop is not really good but then u need to go to them to maintain your warranty. Depends on PI, some PI offer foc servicing and some offer free labour (LECO free labour is bulls**t one lah, they charge u high high for the parts which end up the same.) nothing wrong with no in house workshop.. in house workshop doesn't mean will do good job though the PI might be better able to control things. LECO overall is ok for me.. fyi i pay in full for my car before my car is register to my name. think was 3 days before i send the cheque to them.. in fact i drop the cheque to them in the bank cheque box.. didnt even have time to go down to them.. lol. Leco was one of the better ones. I bought my car from them. The SE was the most honest SE i have come across before. Their servicing tie-up was with a few workshops that were spaced out to make it convenient for customers. Rates were not attractive, but bo bian. i also paid in full in those days when COE was cheap. No issue. But they could never sort out their database. I have moved house 5 yr. Till last year, they were still sending flyers (maybe twice a year) to my old address - even after I've called and gone to tell them to change few times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 I teach you all the steps to buy from PI as safe as possible. But firstly only buy from PI if: 1) AD don't carry the model you really want 2) AD doesn't carry the model with sufficient specs that you want 3) AD import from country of manufacture which isn't what you like (BM Toyota Sienta is from Indo, PI Sienta is from Japan) Try to accept a model from AD instead of PI, but if you still have to buy from PI, then consider the following points. 1) Buy from PI who is big, have been in business for more than 10 years and generally have good market reputation 2) Buy from PI who is at least case trust accredited. But take note that even if a case trust PI collapses, the 50k bond cannot save everyone. So how to buy from PI in a way as safe as possible? 1) Give downpayment as low as possible. I don't think it's possible to go below $10k as 10k is the min needed to bid for COE. Let the PI bid COE for you unnless you willing to give PI higher margin as he would charge you higher price if he sells you the car without COE. $15k also can actually. 2) Once COE is secured in your name, LTA will send you a letter or you can even check online. 3) Buy a car which is already sitting in the show room that meets the following conditions: - Is already VITAS approved by LTA (and you can see the accompanying letter from LTA to the PI in name and stating the car and engine chasis number) - The car you are buying from be imported by the PI themselves. Do not buy from PIs who do not import the cars themselves. 4) Get the necessary loan approved before hand. When it is time to pay up the remaining downpayment, bring cashier's Order to PI. Pay Cashier's order only when PI on spot transfer title of car to you. 5) Wait for car to be fitted with your necessary accessories and collect car when it's time. You must always think about what is the risk at every stage of the car collection process if the PI suddenly folds. Big PI also can fold. Casetrust also can fold. Lesser risk but still can. Most of the problems which people have is paying large downpayments. Like 50% downpayment and then before car is registered in your name, the car company runs into problem and folds. When creditor steps in, as long as you don't have the car registered in your name, they will seize it and use the car as collateral to sell and pay off the debts. And of course you and every other customers downpayment also gone. So only handover the money on the spot when car is registered in your name. Same goes when one is selling car to PI. Give the LTA ePIN when you collect the cashier's order (not cheque) after i read this post, it is so stressful if i buy from PIcant eat, cant pangsai, cant sleep ... what for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 after i read this post, it is so stressful if i buy from PI cant eat, cant pangsai, cant sleep ... what for? Save money..Yes some buyers go to PI sources for exotic makes and faster delivery, but the majority go because of the savings. Ymmv Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 Unfortunately I'm looking a the vezel. THe HRV from Kah motors is more expensive, poorer spec and the attitude of the salespeople are very indifferent. Anyone had a good experience with their PI while buying their vezel? Can advise? Thanks HRV poorer specs? In what way? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear February 10, 2017 Share February 10, 2017 after i read this post, it is so stressful if i buy from PI cant eat, cant pangsai, cant sleep ... what for? nor... he already stated... 1) AD don't carry the model you really want 2) AD doesn't carry the model with sufficient specs that you want 3) AD import from country of manufacture which isn't what you like (BM Toyota Sienta is from Indo, PI Sienta is from Japan) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DioPian 3rd Gear February 11, 2017 Share February 11, 2017 after i read this post, it is so stressful if i buy from PI cant eat, cant pangsai, cant sleep ... what for? I used to think the same, better going with AD....until I tried dropping by PIs. Some do provide better service than certain ADs & u could get your car quicker too, apart from the other points on PIs other bros mentioned. It only requires u to do a little more work than going with AD, but u get back in cost-saving.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic February 11, 2017 Share February 11, 2017 I read this and many similar threads, and I get worried about PIs. But the AD for the car I wanted told me to wait long long, something like one year. So I went another route, self import. It was not as easy as it appears on the LTA website, and there are also risks involved. But at the end of the day, I got exactly what I wanted, at the time I wanted, and I have absolute visibility of all the cost involved ( craziest was a $3 + GST charge to enter the port to see the car unloading from container - I did not know you need to pay to go in ). It was a lot of hassle, and I still need to solve my servicing issues. But I finally got it done after many moons. 20 years ago, I bot a Honda MPV from a PI. I had not issue at all. Car arrived on time. They towed away my scrap car etc. Warranty was not an issue and the car gave no problems for the 5 years I owned it. I guess I was lucky. Perhaps it was not so tough then to be a PI and they were bona fide businessmen. I had experienced too bad experience from an AD, a wait of many many moons for my rover 620 then. So basically I think AD or PI, it is not a matter of their business model, but a matter of their business ethics. Choose wisely I guess. What car did you import?? Port Area must kenna pay one and I think they take your photo too for PSA areas; also must wear some safety vest stuff too if you are in KD (Keppel Distribution) ; So you did the Import Permit/ other docs all by your self or the freight forwarder did it for you as a package?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tristanchen7881 Neutral Newbie February 11, 2017 Share February 11, 2017 I think it is a good idea to import my own car to Ensure my money is safe. But The thought of importing my own car is too overwhelming. I think what Finclk said about checking LTA documents on VITAS is a good idea. To add on to what finclk said about ensuring authenticity of PI, I actually went to check the process of importing cars on LTA website. There is this import document called Bill of Landing- B/L in short. From what I understand, the company that imports the goods , in this case, the motor vehicle, the document will have the importer's name. Once the car is fully paid by the importer, the car will be shipped to Singapore. There will be a "surrendered " stamped on the B/L. If the PI is genuinely importing cars, the company's name will be on the B/L. I was thinking, maybe we could ask to see the B/L to prove that the car is genuinely imported from that PI. Maybe chances of the PI folding is minimised? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cmmerc 2nd Gear February 11, 2017 Share February 11, 2017 What car did you import?? Port Area must kenna pay one and I think they take your photo too for PSA areas; also must wear some safety vest stuff too if you are in KD (Keppel Distribution) ; So you did the Import Permit/ other docs all by your self or the freight forwarder did it for you as a package?? Merc E220D. I passed the surrendered BL, and the customs approval letter to the freight forwarder, and they did all the necessary paperwork and arrangement to tow the car to my workshop. They gave me a copy of the the customs cargo clearance permit which I used for VITAS and NEA approval application, and then for the car registration. All in I made 3 trips to NEA, 9 trips to LTA, two trips to Viacom, a trip to PSA, 3 trips to the frieght forwarder and a few other misc trips for license plates, workshop. Add a trip to the UK for inspection. Was not very efficient since it was my first time. Next one will be 10 years away Phew! Hopefully more efficient then. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BanCoe Hypersonic February 11, 2017 Share February 11, 2017 Merc E220D. I passed the surrendered BL, and the customs approval letter to the freight forwarder, and they did all the necessary paperwork and arrangement to tow the car to my workshop. They gave me a copy of the the customs cargo clearance permit which I used for VITAS and NEA approval application, and then for the car registration. All in I made 3 trips to NEA, 9 trips to LTA, two trips to Viacom, a trip to PSA, 3 trips to the frieght forwarder and a few other misc trips for license plates, workshop. Add a trip to the UK for inspection. Was not very efficient since it was my first time. Next one will be 10 years away Phew! Hopefully more efficient then. Well done ... Bravo,! you must have saved quite a lot of $$ compared to Agent prx Which year you imported?? But 9 trips to LTA?? now thats quite taxing; Also nowadays you can just ask the shipper telex release the BL to you (consignee) directly and just email the import permit and make the payment to them online to the shipping line or forwarder (the bigger ones have it) and authorise a trucker to truck out the container 10 years time you might just decide to start importing cars 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
cmmerc 2nd Gear February 11, 2017 Share February 11, 2017 I registered the car middle of last month. Yup, saved a big bundle. I can buy another new car to strip for parts and still be cheaper than buying fron c n c. So even if i have to change the entire engine and gearbox, i will still be ahead. The LTA requirements is not as per what is in the one motoring site. There is a lot more needed, and u need photos etc. Actually some of the required documents are almost impossible to get. U have to be really resourceful and patient. Hence many trips for clarifications. I need a rest in my comfortable car now :) ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...