How long before change 30 rated engine oil?

Slim

How long before change 30 rated engine oil?  

26 members have voted

1. 1.

• must change meh???
    • 5K km
    • 10K km
    • 15K km
    • >15K km

Hiya,

read in one of the earlier post the that "the viscosity of the engine oil .... should not have any effect on oil replacement interval"

just like to find out how often MCFers change their 30 rated engine oil.

Edited by Slim

hmm i am actually doing a read up on ppls experience with engine oil types. i'm actually more concerened abt FC than performance (my car not supp up for that lah... [:p] ), that is the reason i am considering 30 rated oil, though for my next change i might just stick to Honda engine oil 5W40 1st.

amm thinking of amsoil since they claim it can last up to 3 times [shocked] recommended change distance. but really wonder if any members here really push it that far with 30 rated oil.

btw what is considered "old" car...>10 years or >3 years or .... [confused]

p/s my ride is a 2G honda city since 2001 ...is this considered old? [:/]

I am starting off with a 50wt oil ... changing to full synthetic at about 30wt oil ...

Coz fuel consumption seriously shot up when I am on 50wt now ... every 4 to 5 days got to top up full tank again.

30wt wise ... is a gamble thereafter ... if all turns well, may stick on .. if not I will revert higher ... at 40wt.

Oil change to be done at about 7k ... when the mechanic advised 10k ... but I gan cheong spider ... prefer to change it as soon as I can.

I am driving a 10 yr old Honda Civic ... just to share experience with not much advise. [:p]

Ed

30 rated engine oil can change every 10000km, no problem at all. I used Castrol SLX 0W-30 for 10000km and the level didn't drop one bit. In fact, now I'm using Fuchs 0W-20 for abt 6000km now and the level didn't drop a single bit as well... [thumbsup]

My favourite is still Castrol SLX 0W-30....4L for $78 + foldable director chair + lucky draw to win Breitling watch... [nod]

Edited by Fcw75

Not really leh... [:(]

Gives me the same mileage as Castrol....hmmm....somemore engine vibration seems a bit more obvious when using Fuchs oil. maybe too thin...but car is deinitely more lively and pickup better, juz a bit noisier...that's why prefer Castrol...

frankly a lot depends on the right foot....if I go easy, I can get 16km/l...if I whack, I can only get ard 14km/l...same driving condition, fuel and engine oil... [:/]

Edited by Fcw75

hmm i am actually doing a read up on ppls experience with engine oil types. i'm actually more concerened abt FC than performance (my car not supp up for that lah... tongue.gif ), that is the reason i am considering 30 rated oil, though for my next change i might just stick to Honda engine oil 5W40 1st.

amm thinking of amsoil since they claim it can last up to 3 times shocked.gif recommended change distance. but really wonder if any members here really push it that far with 30 rated oil.

btw what is considered "old" car...>10 years or >3 years or .... confused.gif

p/s my ride is a 2G honda city since 2001 ...is this considered old? unsure.gif

your car still not considered old.. relatively new... if you don't experience problems..

you may go for 30.. not suitable for long periods of high revving... most important is to look into the oil contents rather than marketing.. the base is very important..

Hiya,

read in one of the earlier post the that "the viscosity of the engine oil .... should not have any effect on oil replacement interval"

just like to find out how often MCFers change their 30 rated engine oil.

imho, time between oil change doesn't depend on viscousity. even if oil leaks it is only to top it up. generally, mineral oil change every 5k, synthetic at 10k, but for older car, let's say more than 7 years, can consider draggin to 15k for synthe. (provided you area just usign your car for tranportation and not perfoemance driving). generally lower 20 of 30 wt for newer and 40 to 50 for older. but nowadays, the those synt that rates from 5/50 or 0/40 shud be ok for car of all ages.

My favourite is still Castrol SLX 0W-30....4L for $78 + foldable director chair + lucky draw to win Breitling watch... [nod]

Where did you gt this lobang har? I am preparing to buy since stamford tyres do not carry that oil when I enquired about it.

4L for $78 is a good deal ...

Ed

Forklift Parts Enterprise Category : Materials Handling Equipment

Address : 15 Teck Chye Ter Singapore 545723

Telephone : 6286 7260

[:)]

Thanks pal ... I am going to upload lotsa of it ... Castrol SLX is exactly what I need for the next oil change ... nothing calls for a better deal then this. [thumbsup]

Ed

No problemo bro...that's what forums are for rite?...to share information...I say go for it!...it's really a good oil and the boss at that shop is realyl friendly as well... [thumbsup]

Vtim hmm...ok then i guess i shall try 30 rated oil the next change and monitor it for the time being....hopefully nothing screws up along the way... [sweatdrop]

tks all for you replies