Priority in Improving Performance

Super7

nosebleed.gifnosebleed.gifnosebleed.gifnosebleed.gifnosebleed.gifnosebleed.gifnosebleed.gifnosebleed.gifnosebleed.gif

last time go malaysia, saw the super7s, not the old man, the real thing and they were willing to build it for us.....think range is 150K - 300K RM sweatdrop.gifPosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image

not refering to suv, but other cars in general leh.......... say if your T4 gains another 80hp and you push it hard on the track with everything else remaining stock.... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

thats too much

building one that i have shown here cost about 25-30K probably.

its going to come with a motorcycle engine eg:HONDA CBR 600cc engine

a spaceframe design with carbonfibre sandwich with honeycomb or fibreglass body panels.

all the other parts can be salvaged from existing cars at the junkyard...

potentially

this car should be seeing about 80-85HP

with a weight of about 250-300kg

acceleration probably be about 0-100km/hr in about 3-4s

and top speed maybe about 120-150km/hr

200bhp oredi cannot make it on track, dun tok abt adding 80 more.laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

but i din buy the T4 for track use so it doesn't realli bother me. still need the comfort for my tender butt for everyday driving, so if i go n start modding the suspension for that elusive 1 or 2 times a year on track, i'll hv to suffer for the next 363 days.....tongue.gif not worth the trouble.

actually it all depends on what you use lah, frankly not all the suspension is hard.....for my case, i went to change aftermarket for a few reasons.....and one of it is coz stock suspension is more ex then my after market.....u believe it???????

anyway, seriously, not all suspension are that hard.

hahaaa

wah..you are a very brave daddy...

i wouldnt put my baby in a machine that can pull up to 2-3g in a corner.... [sweatdrop]

Edited by Wrxblue

but if the aftermarket suspension almost the same as stock, might as well save the $$ and leave it as is, rite? however, not surprising that OEM conti stuff more ex than aftermarket.

Wow! I was reading this MIT page where the engineering students take part in this annual grand prix. They feverishly build such purpose built race cars but many with different strategies. Some like NA while some go for FI with exotic VNT turbos. They have many theories and test them on such machines. Some like big displacement and some go as far as putting 2 motorcyle engines on the car. Great learning experience for their future as engineers.

If I am the education minister, I will organize such competition for the varsities and even include the ITEs! See who is better, BSc to PhD engineers or normal tech ITE students with strong competitive mentality!

Then not only that, build car don't race how can? Must race! Organize it as some annual event instead of some stupid river regetta with styrofoam boats. Then there will be pit crews and they also must train. Maybe campus race queens! [inlove] .

What is a competition w/o rules. Everyone must have budget. Cannot over-exceed. Skali unfair competition when some rich guy put in father donated VR4 engine. Must be difficult! For real creative engineering and fun.

not refering to suv, but other cars in general leh.......... say if your T4 gains another 80hp and you push it hard on the track with everything else remaining stock.... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

don't forget the braking, power isn't everything...nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif

Hmmmm, what should be done to rebalance the car??

My old cranky car feels pretty light in the rear, and I sure wont want to add in weights behind to balance it, but it just gives me the feeling when braking hard that the rear wheels are gonna lock cause the rear is too light...

"...keep street cars for the roads and racing cars for the track!!!!!!!.."

nod.gif most sensible thing i've heard for a long time. thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

too often, many ppl tend to tok as if their mass produced factory car is some custom built track terror.frown.gif

I have a different view, I think going to track is a way to drive faster without endangering others as well as yourself. Most ppl have the impression that track means fast and furious, or getting their last cent worth by driving over their and their cars' limit or capability.

i have been thinking lately: if we have to use our daily car for ocassional track sessions, maybe it's better to keep hp/torque basically stock ie little or no mods to engine/exhaust etc (maybe just improve air intake a little), but improve/upgrade the brakes and suspensions/chassis rigidity for better stopping/handling which alone will improve lap times coz of later braking and faster/safer way round the bends/corners even top speed on the straight is 'stock'........

another advantage of the above strategy is that since power remains stock, the stress/strains on the car is basically within limits of what it can take....

true/false??

thanks

Why must mod in the first place? Just go and enjoy yourself. [nod][nod][nod]