Virus 2nd Gear February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 uncle, you write essay here issit.....or you posting people's forum here....piang eh, how to read, part by part Uncle Foo start to talk like politician liow, one piece one piece. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 he become politician i sure wun migrate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 Track terror? More like financial terror. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 16, 2004 Author Share February 16, 2004 (edited) i have been thinking lately: if we have to use our daily car for ocassional track sessions, maybe it's better to keep hp/torque basically stock ie little or no mods to engine/exhaust etc (maybe just improve air intake a little), but improve/upgrade the brakes and suspensions/chassis rigidity for better stopping/handling which alone will improve lap times coz of later braking and faster/safer way round the bends/corners even top speed on the straight is 'stock'........ another advantage of the above strategy is that since power remains stock, the stress/strains on the car is basically within limits of what it can take.... true/false?? thanks Edited February 16, 2004 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 indeed......in the motorsports world....racing teams BUILD race cars not modify street cars to become race cars... so a street car will never be a racing car and vice versa... but then if you cant improve the performance of the normal street car easily..its OK to enhance the ego of the driver thinking that what he has done is right.. That will be easy enough with all those add-on gadgets and devices.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 16, 2004 Author Share February 16, 2004 siao ah!?? ....... politik is very different kinda thing leh......... dun prey pray... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktan Neutral Newbie February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 For me I will lower the car, change to better suspension and then lose as much weight on the car as possible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 actually, the way we use our cars are way within it's designed limits. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 16, 2004 Author Share February 16, 2004 (edited) "..........indeed......in the motorsports world....racing teams BUILD race cars not modify street cars to become race cars... so a street car will never be a racing car and vice versa... " yes, modifying a street car for track and yet need to retain it for daily use is a compromise... which leads me to think this way:- every now and then we hear/read comments:- "... this car performs like a race-kart....", if race-kart's performance is some kinda bench marks to evaluate the handling of full size cars, it may make more sense to go into race-kart (different from fun-kart, btw) instead of trying to make our cars go like race-karts... i think the budget needed for race-kart is not as ex as full size cars, and it's also safer..... except we can't enjoy the performance of our kart on a daily basis... Edited February 16, 2004 by Super7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 Should be quite true. I have made the car a lot more street and traffic jam survivable with radiator upgrade and even the alternator for the electricals. The intake/fuel system can be upgraded for a balance of economy and torque. I know of fellas who use a Weber 40DCNF carburetor that is native in the Ferrari 308 and Maseratis on the tiny Starlet engines. They get 250km/35L tank compared to my 420 per tank. Little do they know that a progressive Weber 32/36DGV is better with economy and torque at the high end. But that carb is just not as sexy as a 40DCNF . BTW, their idling is 1200RPM! As for exhaust, I do know that a 4-2-1 is the best you can upgrade to if the intake/fuel system is to be upgraded. An exhaust upgrade must precede an intake/fuel system upgrade for better performance. Corners are fun and it goes w/o saying that suspension upgrades gives the most improvements. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 yeah, too many mods affect the driveability of the car in everyday conditions. seen countless cxxxxxcs who mod their suspension until can see the whole car jiggle up n down hilariously at every little bit of uneven road. i mean, how can someone who is probably car sick from all that jiggling drive faster? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 16, 2004 Author Share February 16, 2004 sure anot, if we up the hp/torque and push it hard on the track, very scary leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 Yea... if you use your car for the occasional track use, then probably what you can do is the following: 1. ensure that your car is in tip-top conditions. 2. a better set of tyres will do great but not overdoing it like semi-slick etc unless your car is modified in other area to accomodate the high extra amount of grip you going to get. 3. enhancing your brake performance is good but not to the point where you get your brakes to 'jam' easily ie:too much brake force everytime you step your brake. Good brake balance and distribution is the key to enhancing brake performance not by just increasing your brake force ie:bigger brakes. 4. Suspension tuning is a black art and it is always will be in the motorsports world. Get it right you will have a temendously good car to drive, get it wrong .hehehee so again....not so easy in this area... 5. increasing body rigidity is good, but then got to get it at the right place, if there is alot of body flexing in the original chassis, then its no point strengthening one area and having its weakness 'shift' to another location will makes the car handling even worst.Again care got to be taken and know more about the backgrd and theory before embarking in this exercise. oh..very "law saw" liao.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 alamak, cannot use SUV as a benchmak for track use lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 16, 2004 Author Share February 16, 2004 siao ah!?? ....... politik is very different kinda thing leh......... dun prey pray... ........ , good strategy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wrxblue 1st Gear February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 hehee yea..thats why i always thinking of 'building' myself a purpose-built fun car then actually spend all the money in 'modifying' my car........ too bad no budget yet.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 hhhmmm....that sounds interesting.......do let us know when you start the project..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...