Best Korean Car

Cashiertan

eh seriously, i really dunno hor, is focus UK or US

my car also got kumho leh......tongue.giftongue.gif

and boxer engine at one time?? laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

i think hor, if the car behaves/looks in certain ways, say japanese ways (if there's such a thing), then we call it a jap car lor, doesnt matter whether if an angmoh or a korean owns the company. laugh.giftongue.gif

on the other hand, nowadays a car can receive design inputs from more than one design centre (they call such a car a "univeral car" sometimes), and then parts of the car made in more than one country, so the line is blurred....... and i m blur also.... dizzy.gifdizzy.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

do we define a car based on:-

where it's designed?

where it's made?

or other criteria?

dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

unimpressed.gifunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gif that one nothing wrong what.......alfa used to have boxers mah!!!!

but your boxer is special, can box a grandis!!! thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

i think hor, if the car behaves/looks in certain ways, say japanese ways (if there's such a thing), then we call it a jap car lor, doesnt matter whether if an angmoh or a korean owns the company. laugh.giftongue.gif

on the other hand, nowadays a car can receive design inputs from more than one design centre (they call such a car a "univeral car" sometimes), and then parts of the car made in more than one country, so the line is blurred....... and i m blur also.... dizzy.gifdizzy.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

do we define a car based on:-

where it's designed?

where it's made?

or other criteria?

dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

Wah.....how's a typical Jap handling car defined?? [sweatdrop]

Maybe can call them Chap Chye.....

Even Nissan's big boss is a Brazilian..... [rolleyes]

unimpressed.gifunimpressed.gifunimpressed.gif that one nothing wrong what.......alfa used to have boxers mah!!!!

but your boxer is special, can box a grandis!!! thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

He had no problems at the high end... [sly][laugh][laugh][laugh]

The example of Rolls Royce by BMW is different. Because it is still sold as a Roll Royce.

Volvo is still sold as a Volvo here, even if Ford holds a stake in the company.

Uh, now you're saying it doesn't really matter who owns the company, or what the content is - as long as the badge says it's American, it's American? Let's take another example, also from GM if you don't mind. The Saab 9-2, which is intended for the US market, is basically a Subaru Impreza with a Saab nose grafted on, and precious little else. Now, is it American, because of the parent company (GM), or Swedish because of its badge?

Or let's put it another way. Say I spent four years in NUS studying, and right after completing my final thesis, Stanford, by some freak chance, takes over NUS, and my degree bears the Stanford logo. Can I with a clear conscience claim to then have had an American education? It's actually a very close analogy...

A Ferrari Lada is a little far out though. Who in the right mind at Ferrari HQ would want to market Lada technology as their own? Its too extreme! Super high end with super low end products cannot mix...its marketing and brand image suicide!

Of course this is an extreme example, but that's the point. It's to push the principle to its logical conclusion. If one can claim that a Korean car rebranded as a Chevy can all of a sudden become American, surely a Lada by the same route can claim to be Italian, no?

The Lexus RX300 / Harrier analogy is a little different. People who rebadge their own cars are just posing...

And companies who rebadge their cars...? Don't forget that the Lexus brand does not exist in Japan, and that the two cars are as identical as the 'for-fun' badge-swopping that some of you are discussing.

The Mazda 323 / Ford laser?...well that's the wonders of platform and design sharing... But don't forget that both models were sold in SG at the same time. Buyers choice!

That still doesn't answer the question of which country you insist the car belongs to. So now it matters that the models are available in the same country at the same time? Are you saying that if the Daewoo was still sold in Singapore, you'd consider the Chevrolet Korean too? [dizzy]

Of course I understand that there's marketing involved in just about everything. My question is: are you going to swallow it and insist the Optra isn't Korean when in fact it is?

Edited by Seansene

...then I supposed the Optra should be called a GM Europe designed Chevy car since it was designed and styled by GM Europe...

It was styled by an Italian firm, yes. But then again, so were lots of other Korean cars before it, and we don't consider them vaguely European. It also had some suspension tuning done in th UK, but again, the Proton Waja has had the same, and we think of that as Malaysian. As for the rest of the design, I can't find any data to indicate anything but Daewoo input and intent. Once again, the car was conceived and developed before GM swallowed it...

dudes,

Hyundai Sante Fe was designed by a team of americans in california specially for the american market in mind. However, its manufactured and produced in korea by Hyundai. So how should we brand that car? A korean cos its badged and manufactured by koreans, or an american cos its designed and conceived by the americans?

Lots of ppl would have 'condemn' Santa Fe cos its a korean car. I'm sure the moment GM throws in an american badge, it'll suddenly be a very well respected car. Crazy Sillyporeans mentality [shakehead]

Are we the only people in the world who are so particular about where the hell that car of ours come from? Eh, comeone lah. How many of you actually drive a car beyond 10 yrs? Avg 5 yrs change car. 99% of cars out there can easily last us for 5 yrs without any major problems. I find it amusing to hear ppl say they got a toyota because their engines can run for 20 yrs without problem, only to see him change his toyota to another new car after just 5 yrs. My point here is that why bother to place lots of emphasis on the reliability of the engine when you're not going drive it for so long? Stretch the budget of yours to get that super reliable car. Pay more depreciation a year to get that car that can last 20 yrs. Sacrifice the handling to get that car everyone say is good but you don't really think so. Sacrifice your love affair for another make (korean, malaysian, conti, ameri) because people would say you're stupid for not getting a jap. Hum.gif

As a great chinese leader once said, 'Regardless the cat is black or white, as long as it can catch mice, it is a good cat.' Same as cars. Regardless it is Conti, american or korean, as long as it can travel from pt A to pt B without problems, it is a good car [thumbsup]

..... not too many ppl will know about the history or chronology of events leading to the production of the Optra .,....even if they do, of what significance really........ suffice to say Daewoo doesn't exists in SG anymore ....so it is GM's perogative to use the nomenclature it deemed fit for naming the Chevy Optra .... and for buyers and owners of the Chevy Optra in SG if the maker deems it fit ........then should be good enough for them right .......anything pass that is really academic ......... in the final analysis (never thought I would use a cliche as this) ........you are right .....and by GM's perogative and stroke of marketing savvy ....so are all the proud owners of chevies in SG today .......... and me ...... I am just a dumb-ass diplomat ..........wonder any more opening for mid-level private sector executives in the ministry of foreign affairs - diplomatic corp..........laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Lots of ppl would have 'condemn' Santa Fe cos its a korean car. I'm sure the moment GM throws in an american badge, it'll suddenly be a very well respected car. Crazy Sillyporeans mentality [shakehead]

Exactly.

Are we the only people in the world who are so particular about where the hell that car of ours come from? Eh, comeone lah. How many of you actually drive a car beyond 10 yrs? Avg 5 yrs change car. 99% of cars out there can easily last us for 5 yrs without any major problems. I find it amusing to hear ppl say they got a toyota because their engines can run for 20 yrs without problem, only to see him change his toyota to another new car after just 5 yrs. My point here is that why bother to place lots of emphasis on the reliability of the engine when you're not going drive it for so long? Stretch the budget of yours to get that super reliable car. Pay more depreciation a year to get that car that can last 20 yrs. Sacrifice the handling to get that car everyone say is good but you don't really think so. Sacrifice your love affair for another make (korean, malaysian, conti, ameri) because people would say you're stupid for not getting a jap. Hum.gif

As a great chinese leader once said, 'Regardless the cat is black or white, as long as it can catch mice, it is a good cat.' Same as cars. Regardless it is Conti, american or korean, as long as it can travel from pt A to pt B without problems, it is a good car thumbsup.gif

Very very well said nod.gif

yeah.gif Standing Ovation please yeah.gifyeah.gifyeah.gifyeah.gifyeah.gifyeah.gifPosted Image

It's just that I suspect some of these 'proud' owners won't be so vocal if it was still badged a Daewoo, which to me smacks of an elitist double standard. It doesn't matter where the car comes from, or what it's called. The only question that needs to be asked is: Is it a good product? full stop.

And yes, you should consider negotiating a truce in Iraq, you'd be quite useful there [;)]

"...as long as it can travel from pt A to pt B without problems, it is a good car...."

err...dun tink i can agree wif this simplistic statement. it's like saying why bother eating anything else but plain rice or roti kosong as it fills u up anyway.