Best Korean Car

Cashiertan

....aiyah .......we the citizens of MCF regardless brand, make, or country of design or manufacture of our cars pledge to be a united car loving ppl ......... we should just white label our cars .....and everyone can choose whatever brands they want .....but pay a license fee to the brand owners for the use of the brand ........then I will be driving a European designed, German/Spanish made BMW Focus .........laugh.giflaugh.gif

Waitaminit, are you then saying that the parent company determines whether one should be considered a Jap or German or American brand? Oh dear, then Rolls Royce is German, and Volvo is American! [dizzy]

As I mentioned before, the Ford Laser cannot be considered an American car, simply because it's a rebadged Mazda 323. Whether it's a good car or not is immaterial. My point is, let's not pretend it's not Japanese just because of that badge. Especially if that badge and marketing were stuck on only ater the the design was otherwise finalized.

Waitaminit, are you then saying that the parent company determines whether one should be considered a Jap or German or American brand? Oh dear, then Rolls Royce is German, and Volvo is American! [dizzy]

As I mentioned before, the Ford Laser cannot be considered an American car, simply because it's a rebadged Mazda 323. Whether it's a good car or not is immaterial. My point is, let's not pretend it's not Japanese just because of that badge. Especially if that badge and marketing were stuck on only ater the the design was otherwise finalized.

No wonder there's so many wannabees around slapping their Harriers with Lexus badges! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Focus is not an American car either and wait.....my car has Kumho tyres! [sweatdrop][laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think the issue here is not about branding or country of production.

E.g., say Ferrari bought over Lada and owned Lada's designs, production plants, staff etc. and continued letting the same old East European factory and designers churn out the cars. The continued putting the Lada badge in other countries, but allowed them to put the Ferrari prancing horse badge on the cars that come to Singapore. So the brand is Italian, the various models may be built in Eastern Europe... but is it really a Ferrari??? Maybe some Singaporeans will be happy to consider it such, but I'm not one of them! laugh.gif

On the other hand, Porsche can go and relocate a factory to Tioman, but I would still consider the cars coming from that resort island a Porsche, because of the design and control coming from Porsche. Where you put a factory is inconsequential. But who is doing the designing and quality controlling is another question.

Just changing a logo and some cosmetic enhancements isn't going to pull the wool over my eyes. cool.gif

Edited by Lillight

Focus is not an American car either and wait.....my car has Kumho tyres! [sweatdrop][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Oi, my Focus not American meh???!!! [rifle]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

eh seriously, i really dunno hor, is focus UK or US

my car also got kumho leh......tongue.giftongue.gif

....the Focus is a product of Ford Europe ......so it is more European than American........same with the Mondeo which you can't find in the US at all ........but it is still a Ford ........oso the Ford Falcon a very nice car that you cannot find anyway but in Oz is designed and built by Ford Australia...........Ford itself acknowledges it has multiple design centres ......... I do tend to agree that the geneaology of the car should best be traced the company that owns and controls the design of the car ........... as far as Chevy and Daewoo are concerned .....since GM which owns both brands has decided to let the Daewoo brand die altogether in SG at least.......then I supposed the Optra should be called a GM Europe designed Chevy car since it was designed and styled by GM Europe.......... the country of manufacture is really not important since I suppose they should have the same level of quality assurance...whether Thailand or Japan..........the European Focuses for example are built in either Germany or Spain .....whereas the American Focuses are built in Mexico ..........but really really considering how incestuous, intricate and intertwined the corporate ownerships and relationships of auto makers are today ..............you will need the fine scapel and skill of a brain surgeon to untange the mess ...........

Edited by Bpfocus

The example of Rolls Royce by BMW is different. Because it is still sold as a Roll Royce.

Volvo is still sold as a Volvo here, even if Ford holds a stake in the company.

A Ferrari Lada is a little far out though. Who in the right mind at Ferrari HQ would want to market Lada technology as their own? Its too extreme! Super high end with super low end products cannot mix...its marketing and brand image suicide!

The Lexus RX300 / Harrier analogy is a little different. People who rebadge their own cars are just posing...not to mention copyright infringement. But if the PIs rebadge the Harriers...then they are just simply marketing to the target consumer. Copyright infringement or not...that's up to Toyota's local rep (Borneo Motors) to consider.

The Mazda 323 / Ford laser?...well that's the wonders of platform and design sharing. Most big auto makers do that to either stay in the game, or to cut R&D and other costs. But don't forget that both models were sold in SG at the same time. Buyers choice! Depends on brand preference, or sales packaging. It's called...here's that word again...wait for it...here it comes...MARKETING! Almost every form of business involves marketing...one cannot avoid it.

At the end of the day(5.00pm)...pun intended...it all boils down to marketing the product by a car manufacturer. Nobody's pulling any wool over anybody's eyes. Buyers have to go in eyes open, and know what they're buying, where it comes from, who built it, who designed it etc.

"..MARKETING! Almost every form of business involves marketing...one cannot avoid it..."

totally agree. nod.gif that's why dun fall victim to the marketing gimmicks. and that's why the bros are trying to tell u that optra is really a korean daewoo, not an american pie chevy.

"..MARKETING! Almost every form of business involves marketing...one cannot avoid it..."

totally agree. nod.gif that's why dun fall victim to the marketing gimmicks. and that's why the bros are trying to tell u that optra is really a korean daewoo, not an american pie chevy.

Appreciate the thought.

I did go in eyes wide open.

Knew where the car was assembled, who tuned the suspension, who contracted the gearbox, who designed the exterior & engine etc.

Anyway, I wouldn't touch the brand with a ten-foot pole if Chevy were still making those gas guzzlers of the 60's & 70's. [shakehead]

Marketing is what Hyundai got to do. Even with their relatively good performance in WRC (better than Mitsubishi), they don't seem to be capitalizing on it. Not even some "RS" version of an Accent has appeared! Maybe they are really too concentrated on having the Accent as a cheap family car and not a performance car version like the Evo.