Review On E68

Genew

Any one has installed E68 ? How does it work and how much benifits does it bring ?

Reluctant to install products which have little or no effect.... [blush]

I have different view. why keep money to make yrself itchy ? $128 with installation at Mcwell ubi will solve yr itching. is just like buying 4d, got buy got chance no buy hopeless. if u have the buget, why not ? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

I think it is subjective on different car. My honda seems to have no effect. Maybe its the tuning thingy. You got to check with fellow Aveo buddies whether is that any effect.. [:)]

hmmmm....some claim that it works wonders but other claim it has absoultly no effect lehz.....how how.... pocket not very deep these few days.... [nod][nod]

If pocket not deep, don't buy. These things are what they call air bleeders. They bleed air into the intake manifold.

In petrol combustion, you need 14.5 parts of air to 1 part of petrol. The ratio is measured by what most engineers call Lambda. Lambda > 1 = rich mixture. Lambda < 1 = lean mixture.

Cars run very very well when using a 0.9Lambda which is 10% excess fuel. The excess fuel is basically wasted. Expelled as exhaust.

The air flow sensor be it MAP or MAF measures this air coming in and adjusts the fuel needed accordingly. Now with a bleeder device like E68, this air coming in is not measured. So the combustion could run 10% leaner. Way back in the 70s when this came about, it really saved fuel but of course you can do the same if you have a carburetted car and you tune it to run lean.

But now these devices are hopeless because of emission controls. Cars now are mostly OBDII. Has sensors at the intake and sensors in the exhaust. In the Aveo, 2 sensors. One at the exhaust manifold and the other after the cat converter.

Now if the E68 adds in additional air into the combustion process, the exhaust will be different. Remember, what goes in must come out. The exhaust sensor senses the difference and gets the ECU to compensate. In the end, no difference.

See this website for details: http://www.fuelsaving.info/air_bleed.htm

So if your car is OBDI with no sensor at the exhaust and no cat converter (Toyota 1.6L GLi with its 4A-FE engine comes into my mind), these devices will work to a certain extent. I believe the older Mazda 323 is also OBDI. On the Aveo with GM's ETECII, forget it. BTW, you do know that the ETECH stands for Emissions TECH.

Also you got to note that most engines have EGR. It means Exhaust Gas Recirculation. See the Technical Resources folder for more info. Basically, that 10% unburnt fuel is recycled back into the engine to be burned. Usually happens when you are on overdrive. Again the ECU compensates. Short of hacking the ECU, you cannot fool it.

Edited by Genie47

Reluctant to install products which have little or no effect.... Blush

u already sum up the sentiments.. if it is good, car makers will put it as a standard for engine damn car they sell, cos that is a "plus" for customers who wants better fuel economy.

No. If really got effect, I will hear black helicopters flying over my flat to the inventor's house and next day news, inventor mysteriously disappeared. laugh.gif

Not true for you said "Now if the E68 adds in additional air into the combustion process, the exhaust will be different. Remember, what goes in must come out. The exhaust sensor senses the difference and gets the ECU to compensate. In the end, no difference."

With more air and corresponding more fuel after ECU correction - what is the output power for the same throttle position now?

Aiyah, install lah. End of the day u don't like it, lugi only $100+ what.

I was also skeptical like u b4, but I cannot tahan the slow pickup from my Mondeo. So I say to myself what the heck go for it lah, LPPL what. Feel the throttle improved but wanted more, so added Supersprint exhaust and K&N 57i. Wah lagi shiok after that !

IMHO you need all the varous mods together to give u a significant improvement.

BTW what car u driving ?

Remember, this only applies to OBDII and not OBDI. There will be changes in OBDI but OBDII cancels everything out. So for the same throttle position on OBDII, you get the same thing.

Genie, what are the mods in the market that have been tested and proven ?

I've installed grounding, volt stab, cone filter and nothing else.....

You want my honest opinion?

1. Displacement upgrade which means engine transplant.

2. Forced induction.

The rest are hardly worth it. Just like cosmetic surgery. Breast creams don't get you anywhere. Only implants give noticeable gains. sly.gif Go to any American or European or Australian forum. They don't talk about air bleeders or magnets. Grounding, yes because it helps electricals. It is always transplants or forced induction or some changes to gear ratio. This for most part unavailable to us because of laws.

I've done the above route and the gains you can really feel immediately without a dyno and not some iffy "Uhm, a bit lah."

i hv the Specs-R magazine which they always includes a VCD of the taiwan version of PG street race.

2 upgrades r recommended.... TC and total engine blk displacement.