Review On E68

Genew

warouz... u really like to argue and win hor.

long time nbr win liaoz ijjit....

muahahahahaha.... so hard up, ok let u win.

case closed.

win wat? suggesting those ppl using things that you ain't believe in are idiots as much as ...

Guess u've no clue of the results from Superione tested in university and u think the market must be wrong ... no one stops u remaining in ignorance zzzZZZZZZZZZ.

ahem .. install e68 with capsule n u will see the difference rolleyes.gif

laugh.giflaugh.giftongue.giftongue.gif

Dun want lar .... sianz with mods oredi. How much power do we need ... everywhere also cannot speed. Those that can cant run away forever ... kena saman also no use shakehead.gif

he must try doc genie concoction first, then no need E68 liao..... [laugh][laugh][laugh][lipsrsealed]

anyway remember old postings you recommend the E68 + capsule thingy? [wave]

improved throttle response (an "illusion" though)...... [nod][laugh][laugh][laugh][lipsrsealed]

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

had removed the E68 liao .. [;)]

The worst part is - after taking it out, the problem sudden and violent vibrations come back once in a while to haunt the car. Lucky, the car is now scrapped due to high PARF rebate.[:|]

Did u used K&N filter back then? [:)]

The excess oil from it had fouled the airflow sensor. Dun really think E68 is causing the problem. When using E68 thingy, too much air bleeded into engine may cause erratic idling problem. Hv to do trial error till u get the right mix.... [:p] Dun flame hor, i too learn expensively from spending hard earned $$$$$ on it and found out it doesn't help in fuel savings...... [shakehead]

I cleaned my MAS and even replaced it with a new one. Problem still persist [shakehead]

I know yuor feeling about spending $$$$ and finding out that the device is snake oil [bigcry]

Is there a great different between Airmax and supercharger?

When you put your palm over the correctly installed Airmax intake, the suction seems comparable to the intake of any 500-800W household vac. The vac filter is quite fine, too (remember to add paper filter in your airmax). To produce same airflow from the suction just by blowing, is it correct you need about 600-800W supercharger (50A-65A motor). Comments?

Most people only know the difference in power during pickup. Few will notice during cruising. And lamdar sensor (the only sensor that detects the extra air from Airmax) cannot quickly detect changes in fuel-air ratio during short acceleration.

Perhaps, that's why ECU hardly maintains the same FC for cruising and acceleration. ECU have little clue of extra air from Airmax during acceleration. So how does the ECU learn to re-adjust for the difference during pickup?

Yes, it does adjust and learn during steady driving. It compensates the fuel with opening of Airmax but only up to certain volume of extra air beyond which the limit is reached for a given throttle position until WOT. Out-of-limit is probably the cause of fluctuating idling whenever tuning become extreme lean or rich. Hence, should tune your Airmax by the best FC at the widest possible opening.

Probably excessively opening up Airmax is what most people have done and ended running too lean. With or without gauge, FC is still the best guide to adjust Airmax perhaps. Often, poor FC only means running lean and throttling harder to burn more fuel inefficiently to make up for the lost power.

The best FC at the widest possible opening probably is your overall best pickup attainable with Airmax - that's about all you can get even if that's too little. But you should notice the slight lost in pickup and decline in economy if you turn it off after driving at this setting for a long enough for familiarity.

Decline because you are running rich again in acceleration.

[reply]If pocket not deep, don't buy. These things are what they call air bleeders. They bleed air into the intake manifold.

In petrol combustion, you need 14.5 parts of air to 1 part of petrol. The ratio is measured by what most engineers call Lambda. Lambda > 1 = rich mixture. Lambda [lipsrsealed]

If it is connected through PCV tiny vaccuum hose, it is impossible to pump any useful air through the tiny opening. Garrett researched into electric assisted turbo in order to reduce lag, and they concluded saying that 12V battery cannot supply enough power to drive the turbo.

Are there any engine management that comes with Airmax?

So you think the tiny tube carries not enough air. Maybe you want to kink the hose connected to Airmax. The hissing sound can be quite irritating ... 12V superchargers are not uncommon eg Eram, ADM etc.

Seems to me Airmax can increase induction better than open pods and bored big throttle body. The latter usually can't even raise idling rpm. Opening of Airmax orifice not only raises idling rpm but can even light up your engine warning for the more refined cars. Such is one phenomena of excessive supercharging.

You cannot tune open pod, BBTB and other add-ons that hope to improve induction. Airmax allows adjustment. Unfortunately, not too many did it right, perhaps.

So if we use a SAFC 2 and is set to run lean for the lower throttle positions we can acheive what the Airmax/E68 is doing for our rides during the pick up?

12V superchargers are not uncommon, they are all over ebay.

But this is the most practical approach to electric supercharger I've seen:

http://www.turbomagazine.com/tech/0406tur_knight/

It is also clear that electric supercharger will behave more like nitrous rather than giving you constant usage. This is due to physical limitation of the battery available on cars. It requires lots of HP to compress air.

Seems to me Airmax can increase induction better than open pods and bored big throttle body. The latter usually can't even raise idling rpm. Opening of Airmax orifice not only raises idling rpm but can even light up your engine warning for the more refined cars. Such is one phenomena of excessive supercharging.

Raised idling does not necessary mean better induction. CEL is not phenomena of excessive supercharging. CEL simply means something is malfunctioning with the car.

I know you are trying to achieve "tuning within the bounds that will not cause CEL". However, this method of tuning is flawed even if no CEL is caused. It is because your adjustments are not linear. By increasing the vaccuum leak, you increase richness on the top end while leaning out the bottom end. Enriching the top end you'll get throttle response in middle rpm but way too rich at the top, while lean bottom end is risky as your exhaust gas temperature get too hot during cruising.

Edited by Zrun

Of course there are many ways of getting lean. If $100 can noticeably improve pickup and probably even FC is don't over throttle from the improved response, what else can you ask?

If opening Airmax orifice raises idling rpm and turns on ECU light doesn't mean too much air, then what's the cause?

You can't even get close to this with open pods or BBTB costing more than 3 times.

Beyond that, supercharging is meaningless until the ECU is attended which controls (before WOT) your stoichometry and not by the vacuum level. Perhaps, the latter might influence to some extent during acceleration but it's probably too course for any meaningful understanding.

Vacuum level is hardly disturbed if the Airmax is adjusted correctly. Any excess adjustment affects FC well before any significant affect on the vacuum. At worst, the ECU light is enough to stop those overly KS.

Edited by Hattee

If your airmax is pumping air into MAP engine, it'll cause higher idle just because vaccuum is decreased.

If you have a MAF engine, it'll cause low idle speed, and idle air controller will kick in and race up your engine.

It does not indicate increased induction CFM flow. It is just an interference to the engine causing anomalies.

Supercharging also has this effect called compression, where intake manifold goes from vaccuum to pressure. Now this device pumps air into intake manifold, 1st, if it does not alter vaccuum to a large extent, it is *not* supercharging. It does affect the engine, but not by way of increasing induction through pressure, most likely by conditioning the ECU to run richer or leaner.

If it is your aim to run the car richer/leaner, that's ok. But it is highly doubtful that any supercharging has occured.

Well, it's interesting to hear that vacuum can decrease without pumping in more air. Stoichometric ratio is defined in terms of amount of air (oxygen) and fuel. Compression or vacuum is not in the equation.

Most newer engines are at alot better tuned. If you believe you can increase air by more than 10-15% without upsetting the stoichometry ratio, is the FC deterioration an obvious consequence of excess air pushing the ECU beyond its limit of control?

You might be right if referring to those noisy boxes made in 90s.