Regarding driving while sleepy

Ahliew

Happened to me a couple of years back. Worked tru the night & on way home in morning, hit the centre divider in front of Yishun MRT towards sembawang.

Was doing about 60km/h but no damage except my right wing mirror became loose at the joint (prob cracked the hinge inside). A few (not too noticable) scratches on the right rims.

The main thing is I used to take "short" naps many times b4 while approaching the traffic lights & estimate how long I can close my eyes b4 I need to open them again.

After this incident, I never close my eyes while driving anymore.

Imagine if i fell asleap & hit the car in front at 60km/h. Cud b a total write=off.

hey Ah Liew! me had a similar experience like yours! bang the kerb while travelling on right lane..... but mine was becos i was looking at [gorgeous] . hahahahha... so malu x10000

Jon

[laugh][laugh][laugh]

hey Ah Liew! me had a similar experience like yours! bang the kerb while travelling on right lane..... but mine was becos i was looking at [gorgeous] . hahahahha... so malu x10000 Jon

ouch! yer poor sporty rims. [dizzy]

my personal experience to share:

had a little accident with a kerb at ~60km/h while driving to my parents place.

i was feeling sleepy throughout the whole journey, while driving on right lane with no cars around.

there was a slight bend, my mind switched off momentarily and the next thing i knew, BANG!.

i was jolted wide awake, and when i reached parent's place, i inspected the right side of the car and the rims were badly scratched.

luckily i was alone and i didnt bang against any other car or persons

at the impact, my right ear was jarred and my right arm felt slightly numb. heh

moral of the story: sleepy drivers should either stop driving for awhile and rest or stay away from the road.

yah...sometimes when i drive also feel like sleeping...

when on e'way,i will think if i can stop at the shoulder n take a short nap...

when tp ask,jus say i feel sleepy n take a short nap...if not,i might caused an accident...like dat can or not huh???ha ha

Get some fresh air... more oxygen, wind down windows or cirulate air from outside if air con is on [;)]

Diffuse some minty aromas/fragrances if you have any [:)]

I hit the expressway barrier at 110Kmph, sleeping at the wheel, car totally bashed up.

But my life was changed. So, if you are sleepy, take the small roads, dont take expressways. It might take longer, but you will stay awake and trust me, no sweets, fresh air or anything can keep you awake, if you are really sleepy.

Wah... u kana before.... [sweatdrop]

Actually I kana before also... in 1997... i was riding bike... dozed off.. while exiting at exit 34 on PIE to Tuas... then kana dislocated right shoulder... and other abrasion... [dizzy]

anybody got an antidote to prevent falling asleep while driving....

for me, i would normally drive faster n try to blast the sound system...

From my experience.. nothing works... except to stop your car and get out of it.... after a few minutes... then get back in.... do "star jump" if needed.... [laugh][laugh]

yes.. like dat is ok...

my fren have done it a few times liao le

and also got bmw patrol went to knock on his windows b4 le..

its pretty ok lor... coz its safer this way..

but pls remember to on ur Hazard light n stop at some where well litted...

[:)][:)]

anybody got an antidote to prevent falling asleep while driving....

for me, i would normally drive faster n try to blast the sound system...

AA Singapore sells this product call Sleep Guard

sleepguard.jpg

Worn on the ear, SLEEPGuard will monitor your head movements. If your head starts to tilt downwards far enough, it will send out an electronic alarm to warn and wake you, avoiding a hazardous situation.

AA Member: $25.10

Non-member: $29.90

Alternatively, drive at 160km/h, sure keep you alert and awake. [sly][sly]

This works well. I've got one.

Problem is people who wear glasses.

Especially those with straight temper guards (Oakley/Tag Huaer).

The alarm is darn loud!!!

[laugh][laugh] i will do exactly as you as it seems to work on me.... [thumbsup]

wind down the window and on cd - listen to my favourite song [nod][;)]