2006 Kia Rio

Jack_jack

More info abt the new Kia Rio can be found here... www.kia-rio.com

The car looks pretty impressive in the presentation here. But does anyone know the fuel consumption of new car? Or possibly any reviews abt it? Or special deals abt it? I'm kenna interested to get it...heehee

It's already in the showroom here.Saw it 2~3 sunday ago at the road show in HDB HUB.

Go for a few test drive and decide later.

Edited by Contax

More info abt the new Kia Rio can be found here... www.kia-rio.com

The car looks pretty impressive in the presentation here. But does anyone know the fuel consumption of new car? Or possibly any reviews abt it? Or special deals abt it? I'm kenna interested to get it...heehee

I've actually checked out the car a week or two back. Yes, the car's external appearance looks neat. But don't let that fool you. I was not too impressed with the car's lack of features and interior space. For the same price (i.e. low S$50,000's), one can get the more impressively specced Kia Cerato, which offers more legroom, storage compartments, "luxury" features (like rear armrest and sunglasses holder), ABS, SRS, etc.

To sidetrack a little, after that big letdown at the Kia showroom, I hopped over to a Skoda showroom next door. Checked out the little Fabia 1.4 M that costs around S$55K. Feels very, very upmarket for that price. Built like a German tank too. [thumbsup]

So, do shop around a little. There are lots of interesting choices out there in the market.

No word yet on when it's gonna be released. Perhaps later this year. I doubt they'd wait till 2006 to release it. From the looks of it, the car is production-ready at this point.

If the new Rio is priced at around S$40,000 like the current model, Kia will do pretty well. It's basically an improved Hyundai Getz with a longer wheelbase (and hopefully, a lower sticker price).

They are already taking orders for $46k. I think the launch price is a little high its just 2k cheaper than Cerato which starts from $48k.

But the price will definetly go down and I'm sure with such smart looks that are ahead of its current budget class peers, its going to be one of the best budget car sellers in SG.

The car was also on display during the National day carnival in Marina...

Edited by Firstcall

Do let me know how's the test drive like. I think I wont be able to go for any test drive for the time being with the busy schedule i got...sigh..

Hi all mycarforum fellow users,

Maiden post here. Would like your advice if this deal is worth it:

Went down to test the new Kia Rio on sunday:

Very smooth and quiet ride

1.4A Hatch Price - $52,999

Now pre launch promo - $2000 rebate off Insurance & 1st Instalment

Free $900 accessories voucher (if use in house finance)

Downpayment - $2700

Loan - $50,299 @ 3% inhouse =$545 per mth

After less rebate collect car must pay $3900

Free Reverse sensor

Sony Multi Disc Player

Sports Wheel Caps

Interior Sports Trim

Other standard package

Do you think this is a good buy or i should look for other choices

Many thinks for your comments in advance.

Hi Ahlaw,

Thks for sharing ! you must be looking foward to it! Assuming u are buying the sedan.

What freebies / package u getting? Can share? if not pm me lor thks..

Ah all,

Sure...I m most willing to share with everyone of u.

The new KIA RIO comes with:

Free sports interior trimming

Reverse sensor (ask SE)

Alarm (ask SE)

Overall not much freebies as KIA RIO 2006 is the newest car on the market now.

I have test drive the car already. Overall the comfort level is there. 2 tones of colour interior based on whether it is a sedan or hatchback. Sedan interior is beige n brown. Hatchback is black n brown. If u like funky and sporty looks, go for the hatchback. It costs 1K more.

Kia launched this car to compete with Chevrolet Aveo 5. I am sure it will win heads down in time to come. Sorry to offend Chevy owners...Based on specs, horsepower is better than Honda City, Accent and Getz. Weight wise is acceptable at 1170kg (if i remember correctly). I did consider Vios but weight is about 980+kg. I dun like the feeling of "car floating" at high speed.

Any new Kia owners feel free to share...?

Cheers.

Me also book my Kia Rio 1.6M

I get the SE to throw in the Alarm + RS [angel]

Anyone know what is the model of the Sony MP3 player?

You guy think for 2k more to get the 1.6 or 1.4 is enough?

[crazy]

[grouphug]

basically buyers of newly launch cars would just have to bear the brunt of the higher than usual cost. Look at the price of Sportage when it was just launched. $79k @ arn 21-23k COE. Look, now it cost arn 66k+ @ 15-16kCOE! A whopping 6k(factoring COE) difference!

Is Kia using the same engine of Cerato for Rio? Test drove the Cerato but found the engine abit coarse.