2006 Kia Rio

Jack_jack

Rio is still too heavy. CVVT will have significant impact. Im not too sure. Dun count on FC savin. Me bettin the car clocks around 10km/l. ;p

Dun mind if they give 10 year warranty. LOL [thumbsup][thumbsup]

Well the pricing cant be more than the Cerato which already now comes with ABS n SRS. Guess Kia/C&C is doing the right thing. Just hope Hyundai/KMC oso follow suit and then it will really give the japs a good fight. sly.gif And we consumers benefit pirate.gif

Edited by Toalson

I test drove the 1.4M hatchback last week. Was a good ride.. and I must say the interior is really well done. Like the two tone seats, and build quality seems very good. I think the 1.6 one with CVVT would seem really nice.. IF CVVT really translates into better FC.

I actually met an accident during the test drive though! not my fault. very obvious. I was just waiting to turn back into the showroom, waited for about 10 secs with signal on somemore, and WHAM. a lorry whack from behind. I think that fella must have been really sleeping. The SE was shocked man. 1st time in his 6 years kena this kind of thing. In the end had no time to even discuss even the car. settle witness paperwork and all. So I just left and tested the aveo also.

Dunno man, because of the accident, I didn't really consider the rio. THink I'm getting the facelifted getz instead. 1.4A for both but price difference about 4k? can get getz 1.4A for 46k. but I thought the interior for the rio was really something. and external shape is very snazzy.

[laugh] ... so you are the guy who cracked the left side mirror on the new Rio?

Hmm... but the SE was a lady who admitted that it was during a test drive that she was on that the mirror got cracked [:)]

Test drove the 1.4M new Rio and was surprised about the handling. Has a very continental feel [:)]

Overall, was a really nice drive although the gear stick was quite loose so I had some clutch slipping.

I also tried the 1.6M Cerato but the engine really needs revving to move and gets loud when when pushed above 3k rpm.

From the kia-rio homepage, the FC stated is quite good. It also come with 6 airbags and other safety features. It looks quite cool.

6 Airbags and in Sillypore No AirBags. Wat a nice discount. LOL

No airbags at least give ABS lar. Stealers really bad lei [lipsrsealed][lipsrsealed] ops...

Hi

I just booked a New Kia Rio and will be getting the car soon..Any idea where to get sport rims?Is there any kia rio club out there?[laugh]Initially thinking of getting vios but the back passenger seats too cramp. [:/]

Edited by Leng

More info abt the new Kia Rio can be found here... www.kia-rio.com

The car looks pretty impressive in the presentation here. But does anyone know the fuel consumption of new car? Or possibly any reviews abt it? Or special deals abt it? I'm kenna interested to get it...heehee

I've actually checked out the car a week or two back. Yes, the car's external appearance looks neat. But don't let that fool you. I was not too impressed with the car's lack of features and interior space. For the same price (i.e. low S$50,000's), one can get the more impressively specced Kia Cerato, which offers more legroom, storage compartments, "luxury" features (like rear armrest and sunglasses holder), ABS, SRS, etc.

To sidetrack a little, after that big letdown at the Kia showroom, I hopped over to a Skoda showroom next door. Checked out the little Fabia 1.4 M that costs around S$55K. Feels very, very upmarket for that price. Built like a German tank too. [thumbsup]

So, do shop around a little. There are lots of interesting choices out there in the market.

Has anyone realised that this stupid new Rio doesn't even have electronic side mirrors??? it's manual adjustable!

i thought electronic side mirrors have become a 'standard' feature in new cars!

Wait for the new Accent - will be a better bet.

Hyundai owns Kia. They will never give the best technology to Kia. Look at the kind of Mitsubishi engine Mitsubishi supplied to Proton for their Wira and you know what I meant.

From wat it seems, only the 1.6 VVT is worth getting. The 1.4 has not much change to the engine cept made the disp larger.

The price is steep, 52k and 48k. If they sell these off at 44k-47k range probably will be better.

All in all, wait and see how to market goes. With the weight of the car i doubt it will be budget. LOL [crazy][crazy]

Yah lor... the Rio's pricing is way too steep, encroaching into the larger Cerato's territory but not offering the Cerato's luxury or safety features. C&C will definitely lower the Rio's pricing in subsequent months, like in the case of the Sportage. The only remaining issue pertains to whether C&C will add back the ABS and SRS, like what they did with the Cerato.

Hmm.. interesting... seems like u have did some comparison between the Cerato and the new Rio?

Can enlighten us by listing the difference? Or just only the ABS and SRS?

Sometimes it is not to compare the spacious of the car or watsoever..it's whether the car suits you..if you feels that the car suits you and yr budget and what is the purpose, just go ahead..for me, as long as the car is just rite and big enough for the whole family and match my budget, i will just buy. I believe FC is can be control. Most importantly, you must feel comfortable when buying the car. Can I ask which car model never give any problems before??I remembered a news quite long ago saying that a BMW can caught fire while driving?? [sweatdrop]

i wonder where u heard that from. which cars here dun give problems after 2 years? i've been driving cerato for more than a year now (1 year 1 month) and it's not giving me problems (i hope so! [laugh] ).