2006 Kia Rio

Jack_jack

What? The Kia Rio 1.4M weighs 1170kg?

That is hell of a heavy... fuel consumption will suffer.

Fuel consumption should not be used as the all-important criteria when judging the merits of a vahicle.

I personally prefer the high-speed stability of a slightly heavier vehicle and its corresponding resistance to dangerous cross-winds when doing interstate drives.

Furthermore, fuel consumption depends also on the car owner's driving style. If he insists on being a lead-footed prick on our roads, no iDSI-equipped car can help him conserve fuel.

I doubt so. The Aveo and Optra are using the similar designed engines namely GM Family 1 engines. More powerful Family 2 engines come in 1.6-2.0L flavors. No, the local Optra engines are still Family 1 even though they are 1.6L engines.

that interior colour is just OFF... so weird... did they hire someone colour blind? [laugh]

Hmm... were you referring to the pictures that depicted the classless grey interior?

Thankfully, the actual interior doesn't look that cheap, although the beige colour may still not please everyone. I thought it was rather tastefully executed.

The Rio's light beige interior looks nice at first glance, but is not very feasible for long term use as it attracts dirt and is hard to clean and looks awful if it becomes dirty beige.

More info abt the new Kia Rio can be found here... www.kia-rio.com

The car looks pretty impressive in the presentation here. But does anyone know the fuel consumption of new car? Or possibly any reviews abt it? Or special deals abt it? I'm kenna interested to get it...heehee

Actually I'm quite interested but decided to hold the horse and wait for the new accent to be release.I understand that both are using the same engine too.

If you can wait , why not hold on to you purchase so that at least you can do a comparison ? [gossip]

i saw a kia-rio hatch, park near sembawang mrt yesterday.

OPC car somemore...... gossip.gif

the car shape looks very wierd to me. rifle.gif

The front bonnet look as long as long as the seating and boot combine. hur.gif

Looks damn ugly to me. thumbsdown.gif

The Rio's light beige interior looks nice at first glance, but is not very feasible for long term use as it attracts dirt and is hard to clean and looks awful if it becomes dirty beige.

Quite right. That's one of the pet peeves of our local car owners whenever it comes to beige interiors.

However, lighter colours do tend to exxagerate the spaciousness of a car. And the Rio ain't that big inside to begin with, especially when compared to the Cerato. Perhaps that's one of the reasons that prompted Cycle & Carriage to bring in Rios with lighter coloured interiors.

From wat it seems, only the 1.6 VVT is worth getting. The 1.4 has not much change to the engine cept made the disp larger.

The price is steep, 52k and 48k. If they sell these off at 44k-47k range probably will be better.

All in all, wait and see how to market goes. With the weight of the car i doubt it will be budget. LOL [crazy][crazy]

I test drove the 1.4M hatchback last week. Was a good ride.. and I must say the interior is really well done. Like the two tone seats, and build quality seems very good. I think the 1.6 one with CVVT would seem really nice.. IF CVVT really translates into better FC.

I actually met an accident during the test drive though! not my fault. very obvious. I was just waiting to turn back into the showroom, waited for about 10 secs with signal on somemore, and WHAM. a lorry whack from behind. I think that fella must have been really sleeping. The SE was shocked man. 1st time in his 6 years kena this kind of thing. In the end had no time to even discuss even the car. settle witness paperwork and all. So I just left and tested the aveo also.

Dunno man, because of the accident, I didn't really consider the rio. THink I'm getting the facelifted getz instead. 1.4A for both but price difference about 4k? can get getz 1.4A for 46k. but I thought the interior for the rio was really something. and external shape is very snazzy.

Wah! Now not even test drive car, but also got crash test [laugh]

Did the Rio survive the impact?

And Getz comes only in 1.3l - There is no 1.4l Getz yet.

Bro , you never ask if you get this "crash tested" vehicle got special discount and package or not. [:p]

Maybe they can give you a 10 years unlimited warranty plus 10K upfront discount [sly][laugh]

Yep at the moment no 1.4l getz yet. but coming out next month. you can check it out on the hyundai price lists.

Yes it survived well. hahahaha... quite a dent in the rear though. size of human head something like that. the lorry's lights were busted. hahaha.. yah maybe should have asked for 10k discount for crashed rio. but no la... the SE looked quite stress after that. felt very sorry for him. think he had to do a lot paperwork. I just hope they don't knock back the dent and sell it to someone?

actually... I think they will. but anyway, it is still a pretty nice car to drive, sit in, and look at. FC is 13 km/l or something like that on paper. if NOT for the fact that it's brand new model, and that it probably costs a premium now being new, I would have considered it.

i saw a kia-rio hatch, park near sembawang mrt yesterday.

OPC car somemore...... gossip.gif

the car shape looks very wierd to me. rifle.gif

The front bonnet look as long as long as the seating and boot combine. hur.gif

Looks damn ugly to me. thumbsdown.gif

Hello friend, give chance lah... not sensitive at all... "damn ugly" somemore... [shakehead][shakehead]

From wat it seems, only the 1.6 VVT is worth getting. The 1.4 has not much change to the engine cept made the disp larger.

The price is steep, 52k and 48k. If they sell these off at 44k-47k range probably will be better.

All in all, wait and see how to market goes. With the weight of the car i doubt it will be budget. LOL [crazy][crazy]

Yah lor... the Rio's pricing is way too steep, encroaching into the larger Cerato's territory but not offering the Cerato's luxury or safety features. C&C will definitely lower the Rio's pricing in subsequent months, like in the case of the Sportage. The only remaining issue pertains to whether C&C will add back the ABS and SRS, like what they did with the Cerato.

hmmm... since they're priced almost the same, does this means kia thinks very highly of their VVT or very lowly of their existing engine???

The higher initial pricing is meant for early adopters. In the coming months, prices will definitely drop to more reasonable levels.

It is very unlikely that C&C will persist with the current prices for the Rio. Why? Because the Toyota Vios is also in the low $50K range, but has better performance and fuel consumption (courtesy of the superior VVTi engine), and is also equipped with ABS and twin aurbags that more consumers are now demanding.