DarkLord 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Yes. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Let's hear what others have to say.. If most is against the idea. then we can drop it. the way i see it is most of us will support this idea but u need the darkside (objection) to balance it. with limited access to the guest ... the guest will not know how "happening" is this forum ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 (edited) For ppl like me who never attend meetups how??? I think we have to be sensitive to some dudes who are not comfy joining a crowd for the 1st time (like me). Imposing registration is good as it imposes on the user to spare a min or two to complete a form. This acts as a deterrent step against potential unwanted guests who wants to do a "hit-&-run". But note it's not a strong measure. Users who genuinely want to obtain info or participate in discussion will definately not mind the registration process. Maybe there can be a "waiting time" once the user register, maybe 10-15 mins or even 1-2 days before they can start posting. This would further deter ppl intentionally looking to create unwanted attention as the waiting time wears off the "impulsive act to wreck havoc & disappear" mentality of some jokers. I've seen this in some of the clubs in delphiforums last time. I think HWZ also imposes a waiting time of a few days after registration. Or maybe just an email sent to the user's declared email account to activate registration? Edited June 22, 2005 by Diesel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Post: Hi All, As seen, with recent cases of 'unexpected' visitors into the forum. I would like to suggest that we should limit the access of certain folders to registered members only. Having to surf thru a couple of forums. I realised some of them are already doing so, in which I feel it is good move. Currently, you just need to register with us in order to view and post. What I have in mind is, how can we further improve the 'security'/access to prevent unwanted guest. Pros: Users will be more responsible about their posting. Limited access to guest. Cons: Some of you may not feel comfortable disclosing your info to us. Do feel free to post your view. Kindly refrain from drifting. Thanks. For those whom have posted, please help to indicate your name below. Yes: Gad DarkLord Panda Linus Seaweed Diesel Vit4wd BMW320i Mzrmazda3 No: Suggestion from you: 1. Members only folder where all the R&D, Mods, and club only informations are available.. (Darklord, Mantaone, Diesel) P.S: I started this poll to gather more info. This poll have nothing to do with the MCF Board of Directors. If most of you agreed. then I'll write in the suggestion to MCF BoD. ________________________________________________________ Visit: http://www.engrish.com to lighten your day. What Happens on the Road, Stays on the Road. Kelvin the Gadgeter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 22, 2005 Author Share June 22, 2005 as you would know...creating a new email is as easy as ABC... What do you think we should work on? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Yes: Gad DarkLord Panda Linus Seaweed Diesel Vit4wd BMW320i Diesel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 i see it in 2 ways. 1. limit the access of "guests" to the forum. = possible public outrage. or 2. educate "our own ppl" to be discreet in their postings. = as far as i can see, getting no where. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 noted and is a great idea but will this affect the no. of hits to this forum? if no. of hits reduce, then $$ generate from ad will reduce, then dun hv enuff $$ to support this forum, then forum will reach to stage of shut down, then ppl write petition to get this forum running, then forum will not be free to access, then we start to pay $$?? 2cents worth of typing Only certain folders will be members-limited. Majority of the folders will still be available for the general public, so it shouldn't be a problem. We have to safe-guard the interests of the forum also.. Especially after so much happenings recently.. i think we need dino milo to work out our brain to decide what can be seen and wat need to be keep secret ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Not really. Now the forum is accessible to anyone who has an email a/c, leading to a lot of people doing "hit and run" posts, which might result in problems created for the forum and its users. It also allows for a core of people who are genuine in sharing information to post. It's easy for someone to hide behind a com screen to post whatever they want, but when the scenario changes to that of the person being known in person to the rest of the forum, he/she will be less inclined to post dubious stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 You have spoken what I had in mind. I love this forum mahz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 no comment on ur pt 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 22, 2005 Author Share June 22, 2005 Those related to cars topic should be left accessible to guest. Secret stuff like modding, racing locations, illegal workshops or petrol kisok can be put into secret vault. Members who have posted a certain number times or contribute to the forum then able to access these secret vaults. Like play games like that, only members with certain reputation or points then can access certain stuff. Let's take the classified as an example. Previously, MCF do not allow selling of stuff. Then, they are flexible enough to open up Classified Folder. And what happened? There are people whom just want to clock that 25posts in order to post in the Classified. And it isn't just 1 or 2 cases.. How should we further improve? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BMW320i Neutral Newbie June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Post: Hi All, As seen, with recent cases of 'unexpected' visitors into the forum. I would like to suggest that we should limit the access of certain folders to registered members only. Having to surf thru a couple of forums. I realised some of them are already doing so, in which I feel it is good move. Currently, you just need to register with us in order to view and post. What I have in mind is, how can we further improve the 'security'/access to prevent unwanted guest. Pros: Users will be more responsible about their posting. Limited access to guest. Cons: Some of you may not feel comfortable disclosing your info to us. Do feel free to post your view. Kindly refrain from drifting. Thanks. For those whom have posted, please help to indicate your name below. Yes: Gad DarkLord Panda Linus Seaweed Diesel Vit4wd BMW320i Mzrmazda3 Diesel No: Suggestion from you: 1. Members only folder where all the R&D, Mods, and club only informations are available.. (Darklord, Mantaone, Diesel) P.S: I started this poll to gather more info. This poll have nothing to do with the MCF Board of Directors. If most of you agreed. then I'll write in the suggestion to MCF BoD. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 [reply] Yes: Gad DarkLord Panda Linus Seaweed Diesel Vit4wd BMW320i Diesel RadX (YES YES YES) Also, please include a function to BAN me, a user from seeing certain USER's posts, u noe what I am referrgin to....if you cannot ban them, then ban my view of them...kinda like an IGNORE function Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 The main idea is to safe-guard the interests of the forum, not to discriminate aginst people who are "shy". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Cannot lahz... Like that will disrupt the harmony of the forum. Moderators whould be the only ones who can do this, if not jialat sia! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie June 22, 2005 Share June 22, 2005 Eh, "Diesel RadX", since when you switched to an oil burner ? You related to that bald xXx dude or something ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear June 22, 2005 Author Share June 22, 2005 Boss, What's your view on this? you have any suggestion? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...