Petrol Price Movement in Singapore

Friendstar

Esso re-branded their petrol to Synergy Supreme, Synergy Extra and Synergy Regular from 8000, 5000 and 2000 respectively.

Price remains the same but Esso claims has been improved with more additives than before rebranding. Synergy Supreme (RON 98) has twice the amount of additives of Synergy Regular (RON92).

I just pumped Synergy Extra (RON95) but too soon to tell if it really is better than the old 5000 that I have been using.

Marketing. All about marketing. I pump SPC due to the discount given by SAF 11b, I find my engine much quieter. Used to use Esso too. I'll feedback once I go back to Esso.

Just marketing tactics la. Whatever get my car moving without damaging my engine at the lowest cost get my business.

I used SPC till last week for about 2months..can feel the engine sound is quite loud when I step on accelarator.. now, changing to Shell to try.. engine sound feels more quiet.. but have not been fully on Shell yet as there is still left over SPC in the tank when I pumped Shell...

Testing on Hyundai Tucson..

supreme

synergy

vpower

techron

walao eh ... use powderful word can charge a "premium"

you pay what you get ... RON is RON ... period.

Marketing. All about marketing. I pump SPC due to the discount given by SAF 11b, I find my engine much quieter. Used to use Esso too. I'll feedback once I go back to Esso.

Haha... So its not me only... I have pumping Esso 8000 since i got this car 3 years ago. This week on my first tank of SPC 98, also felt the car smoother and quieter.

supreme

synergy

vpower

techron

walao eh ... use powderful word can charge a "premium"

you pay what you get ... RON is RON ... period.

i think the level of additive is different ?

actually, i don't really care and i couldn't tell a difference ... so ... i'm not losing sleep on it which one is the best

to me what's most important is price and it's creeping up ... nabei [mad]

i think the level of additive is different ?

Haha... So its not me only... I have pumping Esso 8000 since i got this car 3 years ago. This week on my first tank of SPC 98, also felt the car smoother and quieter.

Haha.. what car are you driving?

There was this once I lean forward to hear the engine bay, see if my engine is running. This is the quietness I'm talking about. Previously, I can hear my engine running. Will support SPC and ditch Esso if in long run, SPC proves better. Any idea how much discount they give? I top up using 11B, so don't care about discount.

actually, i don't really care and i couldn't tell a difference ... so ... i'm not losing sleep on it which one is the best

agreed agreed ........ nabez they keep adding tax to all thing usable . I felt like living in Greece.

Haha.. what car are you driving?

There was this once I lean forward to hear the engine bay, see if my engine is running. This is the quietness I'm talking about. Previously, I can hear my engine running. Will support SPC and ditch Esso if in long run, SPC proves better. Any idea how much discount they give? I top up using 11B, so don't care about discount.

Accord.

I am observing my FC for this tank and will be pumping Esso next to redeem my Smiles points. Also waiting for my POSB card to arrive.

If all good, will be bye bye to Esso. Their 8000 also 0.08cents higher than SPC 98.

My last 5 tanks -

1: Esso 8000, price b4 discount $2.37/L

2. Esso 8000, price b4 discount $2.39/L

3. Esso 8000, price b4 discount $2.42/L

4. Esso 8000, price b4 discount $2.45/L

5. SPC 98, price b4 discount $2.37/L

With Esso, i have 17% DBS ESSO discount + Smiles Points.

With SPC, i have the 20% 11B discount + save 0.08cents/L.

What irks me was the price increase each time i pumped. Trying my best to avoid Esso now although they are more convenient to locate around my office and home area.

Just marketing tactics la. Whatever get my car moving without damaging my engine at the lowest cost get my business.

High Five Bro!! Same sentiments!! :a-good:

Esso re-branded their petrol to Synergy Supreme, Synergy Extra and Synergy Regular from 8000, 5000 and 2000 respectively.

Price remains the same but Esso claims has been improved with more additives than before rebranding. Synergy Supreme (RON 98) has twice the amount of additives of Synergy Regular (RON92).

I just pumped Synergy Extra (RON95) but too soon to tell if it really is better than the old 5000 that I have been using.

Because 2000 doesn't sound ordinary enough mah.

Now it's called regular. SUPREME just sounds more satkit. Heck ever EXTRA sounds like you're getting a better deal liao.

But it's PUI to ESSO and SHELL for me. Always the first to erect and last to reduce.

I don't know about SPC petrol giving a quieter engine, but I do know esso petrol is higher quality, either more knock resistant or marginally higher ron. Car 'optimised' for esso ron98 will knock badly on SPC 98, and engine knocking goes away when refuelled on esso98 again. Easily repeatable.

Which really sucks since SPC pricing for RON98 has historically been better than esso, big difference since the gap is widening recently. But most ppl might not see this since few are 'optimised'.

Your friend no smartphone?

Just open web browser, google for 'SAF SPC' and the ad will show up.

Shove the phone to the cashier's face and show him/her the OR word.

Tadah!

It was pasted on the door of Commonwealth branch SPC. No need uniform lah.

Got my 26% Le. Burps.