Engineering career anyone?

Vulcann

Engineering is really "pai tan" job! E.g. if the building you supervise collapse, you are professionally liable. All for less than 1% of the construction costs and working for months during construction. And all the while being under-priced as there are millions of engineers from China, Myanmar etc after his job.

On the other hand, property agent makes 1% of the selling price in perhaps a few days.

And Bankers? They don't even get slapped on their wrists when they collude in interest rate setting or selling toxic products. In fact they don't even need to know what they are selling!

Who would want to be engineers here in Singapore?

Engineering is not an easy field to excel in. The effort to returns ratio is sometimes not worth it. It's still easier to find the money in banking and finance.

trained as a engineer. doesn't mean die die be engineer mah.

alot become manager after a few yrs with decent salaries.

some become CEng. also pay quite well.

others become consultant. six sigma. Lean. etc.

multiple routes to success lah.

Exactly. A lot of my Eng friends end up sign on in army/air force or do something totally irrelevant to their field of study. Some do succeed though.

Engineering is really "pai tan" job! E.g. if the building you supervise collapse, you are professionally liable. All for less than 1% of the construction costs and working for months during construction. And all the while being under-priced as there are millions of engineers from China, Myanmar etc after his job.

On the other hand, property agent makes 1% of the selling price in perhaps a few days.

And Bankers? They don't even get slapped on their wrists when they collude in interest rate setting or selling toxic products. In fact they don't even need to know what they are selling!

Who would want to be engineers here in Singapore?

aiya. not every engineer works in construction. in fact that's the least favored route.

engineers in aviation or marine are pretty well paid.

keppel shipyard gives 7-8mth bonus. aviation pretty good too. pratt/rolls royce easily 4-5 mths. excluding aws.

Edited by Little_prince

IES is not doing enough to protect local engineers.

So many Indian, PRC, Pinoy, Myanmar engineers are employed here.

agreed

the salaries of local engineers have been suppressed for dunno how many years liao

Exactly. A lot of my Eng friends end up sign on in army/air force or do something totally irrelevant to their field of study. Some do succeed though.

yeah. i agree.

i studied some ulu materials engineering. graduate ended up in a mnc doing aviation. now doing six sigma in a totally different industry.

end of the day it's how willing you are to step out of your comfort zone.

yeah. i agree.

i studied some ulu materials engineering. graduate ended up in a mnc doing aviation. now doing six sigma in a totally different industry.

end of the day it's how willing you are to step out of your comfort zone.

Six Sigma was implemented some years back … Very "Mah Fan" … Oil & Gas also Kena … [nod]

Consultant is a very good route to go. I'm aiming to go down that route in my field of work now.

depends lah. consulting is very broad field. need to be v specialised.

big money is in those big consultancies mckinsey. BCG. bains etc.good for exposure when you're young. avoid those big4 advisories and accenture

for MNCs internal consultant hard to get lobang. usually promote from within cuz need to understand the coy and industry v well.

Edited by Little_prince

depends lah. consulting is very broad field. need to be v specialised.

big money is in those big consultancies mckinsey. BCG. bains etc.good for exposure when you're young. avoid those big4 advisories and accenture

for MNCs internal consultant hard to get lobang. usually promote from within cuz need to understand the coy and industry v well.

I'm currently in a very specialised field, around the world, only around 5 companies who do the things i am doing.

My experience with Mechanical Engineering in Singapore …

1. The Locals think too highly of the "Ang Moh" even when he knows very little, but gets paid very high because he's an Expat ...

2. The Foreigners from India & China are much more cost effective to hire, so much so, even the Malaysians are finding it difficult to keep their jobs ...

3. This leaves us Singaporeans in the middle … cannot up, cannot down … the lucky ones get to management, but will always be doing the dirty job for the "Expat" who is doing very little, but taking back a lot …

These are only my views … No one else's … [nod]

alot wanna go finance. mostly end up back office or become financial planner /RM type in banks.

quite a lot end up selling insurance

all the buildings in CBD are financial buildings... the glam all taken up by them... who appreciates engineering nowadays..

also good lah.. I know many people took up engineering course last time and didn't even practise it when they graduate..

some times, really feel that it is wasting a good slot for those really interested...

My experience with Mechanical Engineering in Singapore …

1. The Locals think too highly of the "Ang Moh" even when he knows very little, but gets paid very high because he's an Expat ...

2. The Foreigners from India & China are much more cost effective to hire, so much so, even the Malaysians are finding it difficult to keep their jobs ...

3. This leaves us Singaporeans in the middle … cannot up, cannot down … the lucky ones get to management, but will always be doing the dirty job for the "Expat" who is doing very little, but taking back a lot …

These are only my views … No one else's … [nod]

Thatz me in bold now. Coming to 10yrs in ang mo company, still pretty much doing the same thing I started out 10yrs ago.

I feel you bro … Thats why I'm so "Du Lan" sometimes … [nod]