University degree not VITAL for success!

let me tell you guys this. In singapore, if you have a degree, the employer will set up a table and chair for you to work. If you dont have, you got to look for a spare table and chair, then bring them to find a space to sit. soon, you do need a master to enjoy this privilege

Must depends on where you got your degree also, if you are from local uni degree then have some value de. If your degree is from external source, still not much added value also.

his kids wanna go poly or ITE also very difficult

because somehow automatically they sure get offer of scholarships to study in some prestigious universities abroad

through their own abilities of course

Yeah, another of my deep visceral disgust.

Why the F does so many of their children need their education paid for by tax payers?

With their obscene pay checks, they dunno how to pay for their own kids meh.

After all they say degrees not necessary, money cannot anyhow spend, don't ask for restaurants when coffee shop can do etc etc

Must depends on where you got your degree also, if you are from local uni degree then have some value de. If your degree is from external source, still not much added value also.

Well imo many jobs don't really need degree to start with.

It's a vicious cycle of employers demanding unnecessary degree and employees forced to take unnecessary degree to meet the demand.

Otoh

It's like degree holders saying others no need degree cos it doesn't matter.

While the scholarship holder telling the "regular" degree holders they don't need to be scholar... Cos it "doesn't matter" too

that is also why singapore is a funny country.. those FT with all sort of degrees and even same degree from uni where our local did their distance learning are so well received. why har?

let me tell you guys this. In singapore, if you have a degree, the employer will set up a table and chair for you to work. If you dont have, you got to look for a spare table and chair, then bring them to find a space to sit. soon, you do need a master to enjoy this privilege

I think depends on company.

My company, all my ang mo managers that was my superior got no degree. My ang mo director do not believe in having a degree. My director look for attitude and willing to work hard. So far, seen through four ang mo managers. All without a degree. Highest education was secondary school or college then on to getting their CoC1(Engineering).

LOL!  For some yes la.  Those have surnames Quek, Lim, Wee, Goh etc.  

Waiting to see a cabinet minister who is non-scholar or didn't go through AO scheme since university degree not vital for success.

:XD:

that is also why singapore is a funny country.. those FT with all sort of degrees and even same degree from uni where our local did their distance learning are so well received. why har?

They are trying to tell u those high pay jobs are for FT, Sinkies can do all the "sai gang", otherwise sai gang who do???

FT drive while sinkies take MRT!

Sinkies serve NS to protect the country so that FT/PR can work safely here! [scholar]

Edited by Aaronlkl

My company, all my ang mo managers that was my superior got no degree. My ang mo director do not believe in having a degree. My director look for attitude and willing to work hard. So far, seen through four ang mo managers. All without a degree. Highest education was secondary school or college then on to getting their CoC1(Engineering).

For some company if no degree, you may take a longer time to get promote or reached to higher level, unless you are really those high flyer/performance type, even no degree also can shine brightly.

LOL!  For some yes la.  Those have surnames Quek, Lim, Wee, Goh etc.  

Waiting to see a cabinet minister who is non-scholar or didn't go through AO scheme since university degree not vital for success.

You all misunderstand khaw lah..  wat he is saying is... high degree does not guarantee success...  which is totally true.. 

they only have to look in the mirror....  [lipsrsealed]

The thing with the ang mos is they can have very practical hands on bottom up experience.

So their knowledge and ability is real kong fu back by long service. The hands on on folks very respected.

Unlike here where getting your hands dirty is almost a sin for a manager.

Maybe cause they are foreigners ma, foreigners here are always well received, no matter where they got their qualification from de. For locals then is different story liao, qualification must be from local sch/uni, if not you might get look down.

LOL! For some yes la. Those have surnames Quek, Lim, Wee, Goh etc.

:XD:

I thk they wil put one jus to drive home this point!! And then reference him to death

Your industry is different. Accreditations could be more important that Uni papers.

Nevertheless, locally the trend is tilting towards Uni degrees for some of these industries, e.g. maritime, shipping, logistics... as can be seen with numerous bachelor and master degrees offered by local uni.

Nobody actually really recognise overseas UK bodies' certifications like CILT, ICS........ for shore based jobs although these are often much more rigorous than those churned out from local U. I know... 'cos I have one of these. [laugh]

Even those master mariners also go back to classrooms to get uni degrees these days after they have attained their professional certifications.

Edited by Kangadrool

The thing with the ang mos is they can have very practical hands on bottom up experience.

So their knowledge and ability is real kong fu back by long service. The hands on on folks very respected.

Unlike here where getting your hands dirty is almost a sin for a manager.

You are right, when people become manager here, it means they should not get their hands dirty anymore, if not they got promoted to manager for what?! Lol.

Edited by 13177

agree agree

managers shouldn't get their hands dirty

if not kah kias like me no job

:mellow:

That one is different theory.

That one is AMDK theory. Do not mistake it for degree not vital for success theory

Anyway, director also does not mean success....

agree agree

managers shouldn't get their hands dirty

if not kah kias like me no job

:mellow:

You dont bluff, last time pool party at your place, i shook your hand with both hands, you boh hew me.

Your hands are koot koot soft soft type.

Confirm never take hardship type.

executive chef usually no degree one, david gan also dun have, but they have good skill   [laugh]