SAF Terrex impounded by HK customs

Stooky

Bow? Where?

THEY knew we trained in Taiwan and THEY keep quiet, even offering training space for us instead.

THEY sent their officials to us for training.

THEY chose here to meet with Taiwan.

THEY knew we hosted American military assets that choke hold their maritime life line.

THEY still offered us a way... till recently.

WE went to Washington and joked about prc pork soup on tap humiliating china in front of the world.

WE went to Tokyo to call for more Japanese role in SCS and lectured prc despite clear indications china would risk hot conflict.

WE loudly called for TPP which was specific in shutting out china.

WE were too brash and in their face giving them NO WAY. .not smart.

So no. . It was diplomatic screw ups that did singapore in. It's largely at least our fault. And we are largely blind to it ourselves.

BTW. . The below blog has some nice comments. We will take well to read the implications.

http://snafu-solomon.blogspot.sg/2016/11/china-seizea-singapore-terrex-2-coming.html?m=1

Wonder what went wrong from good friends to nothing in a short span of time

Despite all these, no we cannot and must not seem to move toward China.... that is very short sighted... even if we do move closer to the dragon, knowing them, they dont play by the rule, they can still swallow us whole including the bones.. by then we are really screwed.

Give credit to our leaders... they may mot be the smartest, but they do know what they are doing. We are small, whichever we lean also wrong... so stay neutrel and respect the rule of laws... we may end up not having close friends, but at least we dont make enemy.

tpp is just some trade agremeent.

it exclude china , cos some of the term inside is more or less getting more profit from trade with china

to put it bluntly its more or less a group of trader gang up and demand better deal from the dealer.

(of course openly they dun put that way)

last time US is the dragon head. now they pull out.

as 1 of the co-founding country, from being a monkey king at the side, we are push to the front.

how would china feel if we are the 1 leading TPP against them?

Sian...just want sg to do well...getting abit irritated

Despite all these, no we cannot and must not seem to move toward China.... that is very short sighted... even if we do move closer to the dragon, knowing them, they dont play by the rule, they can still swallow us whole including the bones.. by then we are really screwed.

Give credit to our leaders... they may mot be the smartest, but they do know what they are doing. We are small, whichever we lean also wrong... so stay neutrel and respect the rule of laws... we may end up not having close friends, but at least we dont make enemy.

Thats true too

I dont think they should go running to them now, else we will become a bigger mockery

theres a very big difference between not "moving towards" Vs being seen as "moving against" no?

one is prudent at least... the other is foolish at best.. considering what the rest of Asean is doing now.

theres a very big difference between not "moving towards" Vs being seen as "moving against" no?

one is prudent at least... the other is foolish at best.. considering what the rest of Asean is doing now.

And we should be doing what the pinoy breasident is doing?? Or our very good friend Jib Kor??

We wont be what we are today if we are like them..... of course Sis James might disagree.... haaaaa

Wonder what went wrong from good friends to nothing in a short span of time

In summary

South China Sea and TPP.

Sometimes it is better to diam diam than to mention our stance. Despite being neutral, but big countries like to be personal. They rather we keep our mouth shut than to say anything.

Somemore simi keep China in check by late LKY also doesn't help.

Last time US got Obama who likes diplomatic relationship. Now Trump more concern with domestic affairs. Some may think we were played out but he is just kepping his own priorties in check. More likely China wants to indirectly force us to chosse sides like our Asean neighbors. Cause after all, Asian help Asian to keep out western powers from kachiauing our affairs.

In summary

South China Sea and TPP.

Sometimes it is better to diam diam than to mention our stance. Despite being neutral, but big countries like to be personal. They rather we keep our mouth shut than to say anything.

Somemore simi keep China in check by late LKY also doesn't help.

Last time US got Obama who likes diplomatic relationship. Now Trump more concern with domestic affairs. Some may think we were played out but he is just kepping his own priorties in check. More likely China wants to indirectly force us to chosse sides like our Asean neighbors. Cause after all, Asian help Asian to keep out western powers from kachiauing our affairs.

Actually south china sea bo sg eh tai chi leh...dont know y have to make a stand...then u see that pinoy d30 no principle one, so smooth and make friends with china

Sg too keh kiang liao, in the first place, nothing to do with us also

USA <> China (and Taiwan)

i guess no one can play the game as good as LKY ... not even close

it's like sitting in a round table playing poker with these guys

cannot show your card but yet make small win here and there

cannot flip table and must keep everyone happy

And we should be doing what the pinoy breasident is doing?? Or our very good friend Jib Kor??

We wont be what we are today if we are like them..... of course Sis James might disagree.... haaaaa

I think what we should do is keep quiet at times and remain neutral.

It is like someone always criticise the boss openly and then wonder why bonus is less or never get promoted. Nobody say you must tripod the boss but no one also say you must scold him openly for his mistakes. Esp when you depend on him for appraisal and such.

You can be principled and don't care. But then you must be ready to face any consequences also, especially if you know that the one you are criticising cares a lot about "face".

TODAY newspaper mentioned that Mainland Chinese law enforcement organisations had tipped off Hong Kong customs officials about a shipment of Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) armoured vehicles that arrived at the city's port earlier this week, leading to its eventual seizure, a new report has alleged. 

HAHA LHL song bo!

TODAY newspaper mentioned that Mainland Chinese law enforcement organisations had tipped off Hong Kong customs officials about a shipment of Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) armoured vehicles that arrived at the city's port earlier this week, leading to its eventual seizure, a new report has alleged. 

HAHA LHL song bo!

According to a report by NanyangPost.com, the ship carrying the SAF armoured vehicle had earlier berthed at Port of Amoy (Hokkien Province), the the Chinese were aware that there are military equipment on board the ship.  And the PRC authority later tip-off HK Customs authority to act.

http://news.nanyangpost.com/2016/11/26_87.html

Edited by Civic2000

If it is really true then all the more China cannot be trusted as a country and partner. 

actually it's the reverse..they were just doing their job..they could be trusted more