Skoda Superb

Kahlid

Oh lastly, just like to reiterate the Superb is indeed a decent car. Just that some unique factors especially car ownership in Singapore has to be factored in when purchasing any make of cars.

As for the tyre incident, I guess I was unlucky but the point I would like to highlight is that such discrimination is still prevalent, maybe not as widespread now, but I guess for the general public that doesn't have insight knowledge, they may be disadvantaged with the lack of these knowledge.

Thanks Koolaba & Tacheron for sharing so much information. Really appreciate it.

I'm starting window-shopping to change my car probably end '06 onwards, and so far I've tested Legacy R and Superb.

Both have their merits over the other (personal choices)

Reliability is one of my main criteria. No point getting a car which breaks down on its 3rd yr onwards. Sell also cannot, keep also headache. My current car, 3.5 yr worry free.

The new car must have the same reliability.

Insurance thus ignore the fact that its TC then? That's good news.

For servicing, so far my current car is done outside, and have not changed anything other than brake pads (Oil/filter stndard)

Everytime less than $100 per 10,000km interval.

Your servicing cost is @ Agent right? Sounds expensive man..

I take it that servicing outside should be similar to my current car then, parts aside?

As for resale, I'm also partly looking at the 'body' worth. SE quoted 7k above paper for my 3.5yr old car.

If my butt gets itchy again after 4yrs, would I kenna a situation that I have to 'tiap' the dealer to scrap the car, instead of getting anything?

Edited by Solar

Not to say that insurance companies ignore the fact that Superb is turbocharged. The Superb is regarded as an executive saloon. Hence it will be very unlikely that Superb owners will drive Superbs in an insane manner.

Servicing at any authorised distributor is expensive. Servicing at the external workshops specialising in VAG vehicles will cost a fraction of what authorised distributors are charging.

If you get a skoda, you would be very lucky if you could get a body value above 1-2k. FYI, my 5 year old Octavia has ZERO body value.

Oil service is relatively cheap.

Cost me less than $80 (incl. oil) for every 15k service at non AD workshop for my Octavia. Not sure about Superb though. Guess should be in the same range.

Actually i have been eyeing the superb for abt close to 8months.

I have a lot of issues like will CA close, will the parts be hard to find. How's the comsumptions like and blah blah. Reliabilities etc. Thanks for this thread that i have some of the issues solved. But there are still lots more to go.

I have been to CA for abt 5 times or so and have test driven once and i like the drive.

Recently when i go to CA i spotted the fully kitted Superb and oh mine, i was like, oh, die, no money also die die have to buy!

When i first found out the superb it was price at 93k and now it is 86k with 4k cash rebate. It's like 82k for a Executive!

Can the owners just list out the pro and cons for the superb?

Lets leave the price and the resale value out, coz there isnt any car which is long enough with a 1.8 TURBO engine (if you x 1.7 for turbo it is actually a 2.4l car) and cost abt the price of a Camry.

hi bro

My wife drives it, and LOVES it! Imagine a lady driver, who swears by it, that kind of tells you that the car is no beast, and is elegant, powerful. She calls it a cheetah, fast, powerful, and elegant.

She test drove almost every conceivable car, including the Toyota Altis/Corolla/Vios/Rav4/Camry, Peugeot 407, 206 CC, 306, Chevy Optra, Golf, used Porsche 911 and some older ones, BMW 3/5, Ford Focus/Mondeo, Citroen whole range, Nissan Sunny/Cefiro, Honda Civic, etc, before she test drove the Skoda Superb, and decided on it. So it was NOT an impulse buy, but a long, calculated decision based on her preferred way of driving and her comfort zone.

The drive is superb (pardon the pun), stable, reassuring (her own words, not just because of the airbags), and makes you feel very safe on the road. The pickup is good, and tackles inclines and curves elegantly (its body frame is rigid). Practically for a family, you can fetch your elderly folks and they feel safe and comfortable in the passenger cabin. The boot space is BIG! Little niceties abound within the car, including the door lights, lit vanity mirrors, cooler glovebox, climatronic aircon, fold down backseat, etc. Lots to love.

If there is any bad thing, well, it is a LONG car, so takes up longer space when parking, and requires more skill in parking. But well, you get practically the Audi A4/A6 for a steal, IMHO of course!

bless

tashi

Yes, that i know about the superb. I am a bargin-hunter of somesorts and superb really the cream of the crops.

I am currently owning a corolla and i was hoping that when the new face lifted skoda come in the current one will be cheaper.

But i too hope that the facelift one is still using the 1.8T engine which all along is wat i have wanted.

Can i know roughly how much is the full tanks in price and litres and what is the milage per tank and the average km/l?

Reasons for buying is becoz i driving long distance to malaysia, and i need a stable and powerfully ... erm cheap car.. keke....

I also wonder if do skoda attract the hornets?

The current Superb will be available at least until 2009 when the new model range is introduced. For the facelift model of 2006, the car is essentially the same, in terms of exterior and engine selection, with the inclusion of very minor cosmetic changes. You can search my previous post on "2006 Skoda Superb" to view the cosmetic difference.

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/Volkwagen_...uperb_P1315062/

The 1.8T engine of the Superb runs efficiently on RON95 petrol. For our case, we can cover 620km with around $85 of Caltex Silver RON95. I would prefer to quote you the FC figures though - 10.5km/l to 12.5km/l depending on driving conditions.

There is another Superb owner with the nickname Soleution, who drives frequently up north. Please feel free to write to him to find out his ownership experience too.

Yah i have read the threads, but there is also an improvement on the brake kit and the 3 spoke steering wheel if i am not wrong.I read it somewhere.

If that is the case, i am willing to wait because this car is heavy and quite powerful, therefore i think brakes are quite important to me.

Actually i am more keen to get a secondhand superb then a brand new one. Like that i wont not suffer as a first owner. But i am also hopping when they are abt to launch the facelift ones, the existing stock get further discount then i could consider too?

Edited by Limlien

I've read Tacheron's piece on Superb & I find it to be unbiased & informative. I guess he brought his consultant thinking into the writing, including a disclaimer to end it all ... [flowerface]

Anyway, u don't have to be protective of the Superb ... its quality will speak for itself ... [thumbsup]

Been watching Skoda forum for quite sometime.

Seem that Superb is a good car, after confirming the test drive.

Selling at 88k for confirm COE but need top up for the bodykit etc.

About $6500 for every other thing...worth or not?

Is it cheaper to do outside?

Any way to get higher rebates? or better deal?

Eyeing the superb already....

need advice

Go get ther car bro.

At that price i got only a ambiente. I wish i can turn back the clock.

The carkit which the agent use is Autovox. Maybe you can get it at much cheaper rate.

No money..if not i will buy this car also. [drivingcar][drivingcar][drivingcar]

Give autovox a call 64755775 or call Cash Lim(that's his real name)senior technical support assistance.

Edited by Dweller

thanks for the complement. Just sharing my experiences. I have taken in a few rides in it and its a really nice budget luxury car.

But I heard from others working in the same line that the owner behind the present distributor is actively looking to sell of Czech Auto and gain back the distributorship for Renault.

This info is not confirmed yet but maybe its useful for those making a decision to factor in.

Cheers!

I will make a call to autovox...

It is just the bodykit?

I saw the $6500 include lower suspension,

17inch sport rim (abit ugly - sorry),

4 exhaust out (outside view),

and the bodykit?

If breakdown the package above to do outside,

more ex? or cheap?

Currently, they only give 3800 cash back....

dun know when they increase the higher cash back or freebie.

or interest promo...

went to the show room, they didnt offer any more plus thing

except the 3800 cash rebate..sian....

any agent outside doing skoda superb?

haizz........

hi bro Tacheron

I believe the boss of local distributor Renault mentioned openly in Business Times, that he wanted to divest his Renault distributorship to focus on his leisure and real estate businesses. So what he said publicly seem to contradict what you have heard about Renault.

bless

tashi

I tell you some facts abt the agent. They over charge u on everything. They charge me 2 dollar a bulb for the break light which was blown without informing me. It cost a dollar for 2 at some shop.

The oil filter they charge me $15, which i got for $8 ( original ).

So wats my conclusion..too expenisive. Anyway u can still ask around for cheaper kit if u can wait.

But seriously i think due to the management, i dont think skoda will see light as Hyandai or Kia. Hard to see more cars if they don't give good for money value services.

The price is cheaper because the COE drop. If u calculate it base on the difference in COE price, there is not much changes. Base on 26K the car was selling at 100k++.

But in term of engine performance, i think its a good buy. BUT...But bear in mind the brand..( lousy resale valve ). Alot of bros know that here. So if u think of driving it for long term then i think its okie.

Dont listen to ppl, U have to make ur own mind abt wat u want...Skoda octavia is my second car after corolla. I drive till i scrap.

In term of repair & servicing, its not as bad as ppl think. Will cost me (oil--$24.90 cxxxxxe + filter $8 + service charge $20 + spark plug abt $45 = $97.90 ) next month servicing.

The agent [knife][knife][knife] charge me $200+++ AT that price is because they charge their grandmother insurance into my car survicing also. NO more string tie to the agent now.

[bounce1][bounce2][bounce1][bounce2][bounce1][bounce2][bounce1][bounce2]

Edited by Dweller

True enough. this car doesn't have any resale value..

not popular enough to resale like audi or volks.

also, the servicing cost is ex for most brand in singapore

even for korean car.

for a turbo car, servicing different type right?

need to service the turbo also...is it?

in here, didnt hear much from the superb driver..

or they already sian liao..

seriously, if i buy the superb..driving for about 6-7years.

min. , you think is all right?

dun know who is the longest driver for superb now... anyone can comment on their superb?