Stary Turbocharged November 30, 2006 Share November 30, 2006 Guys...I saw many cars on the road with modded bodykits, super-tinted windows, super reflective numbers plates, etc, etc....how on earth do these cars pass inspection? I don't believe they remove everything and then put back again. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged December 1, 2006 Author Share December 1, 2006 hehe....i somehow got a feeling no one dare to answer this post.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 I've frens and colleagues doing all these blatant illegal mods and yet not get caught. Basically they told me that the TP don't bother about them unless they are speeding or doing some other "Stunts" else, if the drive normally, TP will just overtake them and act as if nothing has happened. Unless u sway sway meet a TP that day got PMS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 if u r taking an exam u will get ZERO! u not answering the qns at all...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 u dun have to believe u just have to take it as they do it. some things are best left unanswered but i believe sooner or later sure got some goondu gonna tell u..... happy waiting.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blu_g Neutral Newbie December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 ya... maybe they remove the tinted film n paste it again after tat.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 (edited) Oopz Oh yar, Those subtle changes usually they don't check one. Edited December 1, 2006 by Rickster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 (edited) I will answer, since I modded nothing except upsized my rims Frankly, I think LTA has been very lenient or so called close one eye these days. I dont know why n not that I am complaining. I do enjoy looking at some modded cars, some look really good but some just look like a jigsaw puzzle . I think LTA will only action when some serious accident happens - they are known to be non proactive. U are right, look at some window tinting. Some white cars esp have wheel rims in black, and super smoked lights all round, and windows so dark I cant see the drivers face when stopped next to one, and I dont think the bloddy TP can see either. BAscially a white n black car . But I thot this is too dark by LTA rules, so where are the law enforcers? Having said I have no real concern over mods even tho I find some mods damn rediculous, cos to each his own n the owner may like it. But I think mods shld not endanger other road users. The other thing is more n more people like to install fog lights n turn them on even in broad daylight, I dont know for what farking purpose. The other thing is some exhaust seem grossly oversized, extra loud and too long to the extend they hv to be placed at an angle. My children commented that rats can crawl inside the exhaust and sleep overnight. I know some feel offended. its ok pls shoot. this is a forum. Edited December 1, 2006 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icekitten Clutched December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 I've frens and colleagues doing all these blatant illegal mods and yet not get caught. Basically they told me that the TP don't bother about them unless they are speeding or doing some other "Stunts" else, if the drive normally, TP will just overtake them and act as if nothing has happened. Unless u sway sway meet a TP that day got PMS That's bcoz TP dun catch illegal mods. If you meet ROV it's a different matter liao. Whether you speed or not they can still stop you to pop your bonnet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 Guys...I saw many cars on the road with modded bodykits, super-tinted windows, super reflective numbers plates, etc, etc....how on earth do these cars pass inspection? I don't believe they remove everything and then put back again. Bodykits don't need LTA approval. No guidelines on embossed number plate except the dimensions. Tinted windows is a funny issue. Malaysian were afraid of being fined for putting super tint when entering our country whereas new car owners here like to super tint their cars. What other mods do you don't know that need or don't need LTA approval. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 I thought the subaru have those LTA friendly exhaust that are one of those biggest on the road? Big size doesn't mean its not LTA friendly leh. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 (edited) Since we are on car mods, can someone tell me what are those gauges for in some 'racing cars'? I once saw a Honda fitted with gauges(is it call DELFI?). This guys had like 4 on the A-pillar, another 3 on the central dashboard. My question is when u are driving, do u hv the time to see all these guages' readings? I mean as I said before if its just for asthetics that absolutely fine. But if the driver really looks at so many guages, plus the OEM speedometers n what hv u, wont this affect the driver's road concentration? Is it then again a potential hazard to other road users indirectly? Edited December 1, 2006 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 (edited) Dont get me wrong. No thats ok, I dont find them a risk hazard, I just thot its a bit weird. I do like bigger exhaust myself n also quad-tips, but a few I saw are really "OVERSIZED". Edited December 1, 2006 by Ahbengdriver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 I don't believe in gauges too, just a matter of personal taste and preference. They are just too loud especically in small little car like Picanto. These days there are electronic gauges that will supersede all those meters by giving essesntial information at one glance. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chemz Clutched December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 gauges do help at time, provided they installed the right gauge for the right reading.. 7 gauges is a bit too much, he probabaly threw in turbo n boost meters which his car doesnt even have.. unless he illegally dropped in a turbo kit. meters such as the volt and ampere read out V and A from the battery, and i only learnt its usefulness in the army. u must be thinking, army vehicle also got meter?! haha.. yes they do.. on a mercedez somemore.. it's the recce jeep. ok back to the story, there was once i couldn't start it, and when i did, it died immediately.. first thing to mind, probably battery fault. and yes it was a batt fault.. the V an A meters were jumping all round, high at ignition and falling steep almost immediately after.. and the jeep only kept its engine running at a certain V and A range which is controlled by the throttle.. so imagine, i had to start the ignition and step on the accl simultaneously and keep the engine revving all the way back to camp after an outfield mission.. every traffic light do the same thing, ppl around me think im mad, army veh rev for what, and non stop at that! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blu_g Neutral Newbie December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 fog lite still better than those super bright headlights... ya.. can oso stuff bananas into some of those super big exhuast... [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Itnato Neutral Newbie December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 still no one answering the qn posed directly.... hahaha lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahbengdriver 6th Gear December 1, 2006 Share December 1, 2006 speaking of lights, that day I saw Getz with blue blinking lights lined inside the whole cabin. Driving pass him, the car looks like a DVD shop offering sale on DVDs. Really damn funny when it was at night. Now how can the bloody TP miss such a car? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...