How to self-import a car ?

Alveron2001

And LTA is rather specific that the new car you import should be from the manufacturing origin.  So that, if it is a Toyota, they expect you import from Japan or Its factories overseas.  Toyota Thailand sure dont sell you as they are LHD.

OK.  I understand already.  There is ONLY 4 taxis in the whole of Bangkok.

Just a few years back, I went to Thailand and there were actually more taxis like 1M and luckily all the toyota taxi I taken were LHD leh.

Bro, you better stand firm on your statement above. Cos many of us (actually most Singaporeans) went to Bangkok before many times either business, holiday, mistress, etc. Their roads are RHD just like ours. Many suppliers also get their automotive spare parts from Thailand. Don't xiasuay yourself leh.

And also who states PI cars MUST be from RHD countries?? So many mercedes & BMW cars PI-imported are from Germany. 

OK.  I understand already.  There is ONLY 4 taxis in the whole of Bangkok.

Just a few years back, I went to Thailand and there were actually more taxis like 1M and luckily all the toyota taxi I taken were LHD leh.

Just for the record, I did not say you were wrong; what I said was that 100% of the four Bangkok taxis in the photo I posted were RHD. I didn't even point out the fact that they were all Altis.  [sly] 

Also, if you buy a JDM model, the maximum engine capacity you can get is 3500CC, there is a law in Japan that NO Cars on the road should be more than 3.5L.  So the 1M NSX 3494CC lor.

Well I can think of around half a dozen Japanese cars that exceed your declared 3500cc "law". The flagship domestic luxury model for each of the major manufacturers handily crack that limit, and its not like the self imposed 280hp joke: try Honda Legend, Nissan President, and Toyota Crown, for starters. I'm sure there's others but I can only think of the Nissan 370Z and Toyota Landcruiser offhand. 

Is the saving huge for self import vs PI? Eg Vezel,  can saving be $20K  or more? Most potatoes PI do not import the veh themselves, they buy from a few local 'wholesalers'. If they have a margin of $10K , possible to register yourself as a potatoes and buy from these wholesalers? Maybe that will be easier.

K

Just for the record, I did not say you were wrong; what I said was that 100% of the four Bangkok taxis in the photo I posted were RHD. I didn't even point out the fact that they were all Altis.  [sly] 

Well I can think of around half a dozen Japanese cars that exceed your declared 3500cc "law". The flagship domestic luxury model for each of the major manufacturers handily crack that limit, and its not like the self imposed 280hp joke: try Honda Legend, Nissan President, and Toyota Crown, for starters. I'm sure there's others but I can only think of the Nissan 370Z and Toyota Landcruiser offhand. 

Also, if you buy a JDM model, the maximum engine capacity you can get is 3500CC, there is a law in Japan that NO Cars on the road should be more than 3.5L.  So the 1M NSX 3494CC lor.

PI Land cruiser minimum already 4000cc liao, where you got this info from?

Toyota-Land-Cruiser-200-0.jpg

They are both RHD and LHD lor.  

But hor I see in bangkok toyota mostly LHD.  Taxi Altis is LHD lor.

Anyway, have not heard of PI bringing in Thai made.  Have that changed already ?

Thailand all the way is RHD one leh, you sure you been Bangkok before?

Hmmmm ....... may have changed since 2008 lor. I don't import car everyday lor. I never imported before.

Anyway, I am giving it, one last try.  Just found a sweet spot.

PI Land cruiser minimum already 4000cc liao, where you got this info from?

Toyota-Land-Cruiser-200-0.jpg

Thailand all the way is RHD one leh, you sure you been Bangkok before?

Oh, I know, this is one of the oldest question of them all. Cite some implied history, establish your credibility. 

U see, Singapore happened to be the 33% of the world that is RHD. Throw in some numbers to drive home the point.

And LTA is rather specific that the new car you import should be from the manufacturing origin.  So that, if it is a Toyota, they expect you import from Japan or Its factories overseas.  Toyota Thailand sure dont sell you as they are LHD. Would love to see the chapter and verse for that. 

So PI best buy is Japanese JDM car as Japan is RHD.  You can't buy a Kia or Hyundai as Korea is LHD. As someone else stated, Germany is LHD but there's PI Mercedes Benz, Porsches, etc.

So until this point OK ? Making like a school teacher, "educating" all of us huh?

In Japan, these are many secondary 2nd tier dealer who sell new car.  They are commit to sell a specific quota PER month. Aren't all car dealers, even in Singapore? 

If they failed to hit quota, there are penalties.

This is a very sale jargon. Yes, yes, throw in some jargon to further impress us. And then now you're telling us you've never even imported a car before. Are you even in the sales trade?

So, they are most willing to help to import one into Singapore.

If you google, there are hundreds of dealers waiting for you in Japan. All except Mazda, they are so arrogant that they declared, if you don't buy a Mazda from you local disti, you should not even buy an original bolt from them lor.  So rather rare to see people selling Mazda.  That was last COE cycle.  Not sure now. Finally some humility.

Also, if you buy a JDM model, the maximum engine capacity you can get is 3500CC, there is a law in Japan that NO Cars on the road should be more than 3.5L.  So the 1M NSX 3494CC lor. I've already dedicated a previous reply to this. Not going to beat the dead horse further.

Another way, you buy in a country where it is not the car manufacturing origins.  Then hor LTA insist you register and deregister the car with the local transport authority and ship out within 14 working days after deregistration. Sources, sources...... from what I know, you can import a used car that is not more than three years' old from its original date of registration, and here is my source: https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/self_importation_.html

Look for a RHD countries, with low taxation or excise duty on cars. Because everything is counted by our customs OMV assessment . Because only two things in life are certain, death and taxes.

See how I threw in a profound quote to make myself sound more convicing?

Other matter of interest, shipping is called roll roll, a typical car size is about USD 700~1000. Takes about 3 weeks as it stop all over the place. Meaningless factoid, because you would have a shipping agent at least handling this phase. You cannot travel with your self-imported car.

Then you need to find a PSA appointed agent to help you get the car out of our shipping port (Tanjong Pagar Terminal). You cannot walk into our ports to collect your car.  Anyway, it is a Protected Area, no joke, they will shoot you with blanks. I think this sentence was meant as a joke.

There is a few agent in Ubi area that even provide storage for your NEW unregistered car, for a fee. LTA by-laws stipulated that unregistered vehicle(s) should be kept or put up in a Private Estate away from public view and/or public property like HDB carparks, roads, URA car park.   Let's assume there is a typo; I corrected it for you.

And yes, remember to get a copy of the vehicle manufacturing report, emission report and engineering specification from the seller.  Thanks for the helpful reminder!

All in all, you need to submit to LTA and Custom for approval BEFORE buying the car.  Because hor, without their approval, I doubt your car can even leave the ports lor.  Best is buy something already registered before like Wish la, Vezel la etc.  Its called "homologation". 

Then dynamo test, VITAS la, IU ....... the list go on.

So best buy from distributors or PI as they work closely with government to help you on everything, including bidding COE for you.  It is going to be a breeze buying from these agents. You are actually right about it being complex if you weren't so misguided about so many things else.

Got it ? I'm not sure I got it from you.

Hmmmm ....... may have changed since 2008 lor. I don't import car everyday lor. I never imported before.

Anyway, I am giving it, one last try.  Just found a sweet spot.

Check your information b4 says anything hor.

Toyota Century V12 6L has been in production since 1967

Hey thanks !!

Oh, I know, this is one of the oldest question of them all. Cite some implied history, establish your credibility. 

U see, Singapore happened to be the 33% of the world that is RHD. Throw in some numbers to drive home the point.

And LTA is rather specific that the new car you import should be from the manufacturing origin.  So that, if it is a Toyota, they expect you import from Japan or Its factories overseas.  Toyota Thailand sure dont sell you as they are LHD. Would love to see the chapter and verse for that. 

So PI best buy is Japanese JDM car as Japan is RHD.  You can't buy a Kia or Hyundai as Korea is LHD. As someone else stated, Germany is LHD but there's PI Mercedes Benz, Porsches, etc.

So until this point OK ? Making like a school teacher, "educating" all of us huh?

In Japan, these are many secondary 2nd tier dealer who sell new car.  They are commit to sell a specific quota PER month. Aren't all car dealers, even in Singapore? 

If they failed to hit quota, there are penalties.

This is a very sale jargon. Yes, yes, throw in some jargon to further impress us. And then now you're telling us you've never even imported a car before. Are you even in the sales trade?

So, they are most willing to help to import one into Singapore.

If you google, there are hundreds of dealers waiting for you in Japan. All except Mazda, they are so arrogant that they declared, if you don't buy a Mazda from you local disti, you should not even buy an original bolt from them lor.  So rather rare to see people selling Mazda.  That was last COE cycle.  Not sure now. Finally some humility.

Also, if you buy a JDM model, the maximum engine capacity you can get is 3500CC, there is a law in Japan that NO Cars on the road should be more than 3.5L.  So the 1M NSX 3494CC lor. I've already dedicated a previous reply to this. Not going to beat the dead horse further.

Another way, you buy in a country where it is not the car manufacturing origins.  Then hor LTA insist you register and deregister the car with the local transport authority and ship out within 14 working days after deregistration. Sources, sources...... from what I know, you can import a used car that is not more than three years' old from its original date of registration, and here is my source: https://www.onemotoring.com.sg/content/onemotoring/en/lta_information_guidelines/buy_a_new_vehicle/self_importation_.html

Look for a RHD countries, with low taxation or excise duty on cars. Because everything is counted by our customs OMV assessment . Because only two things in life are certain, death and taxes.

See how I threw in a profound quote to make myself sound more convicing?

Other matter of interest, shipping is called roll roll, a typical car size is about USD 700~1000. Takes about 3 weeks as it stop all over the place. Meaningless factoid, because you would have a shipping agent at least handling this phase. You cannot travel with your self-imported car.

Then you need to find a PSA appointed agent to help you get the car out of our shipping port (Tanjong Pagar Terminal). You cannot walk into our ports to collect your car.  Anyway, it is a Protected Area, no joke, they will shoot you with blanks. I think this sentence was meant as a joke.

There is a few agent in Ubi area that even provide storage for your NEW unregistered car, for a fee. LTA by-laws stipulated that unregistered vehicle(s) should be kept or put up in a Private Estate away from public view and/or public property like HDB carparks, roads, URA car park.   Let's assume there is a typo; I corrected it for you.

And yes, remember to get a copy of the vehicle manufacturing report, emission report and engineering specification from the seller.  Thanks for the helpful reminder!

All in all, you need to submit to LTA and Custom for approval BEFORE buying the car.  Because hor, without their approval, I doubt your car can even leave the ports lor.  Best is buy something already registered before like Wish la, Vezel la etc.  Its called "homologation". 

Then dynamo test, VITAS la, IU ....... the list go on.

So best buy from distributors or PI as they work closely with government to help you on everything, including bidding COE for you.  It is going to be a breeze buying from these agents. You are actually right about it being complex if you weren't so misguided about so many things else.

Got it ? I'm not sure I got it from you.

Hi!  I am currently living in London and I have been driving my Range Rover Evoque for 5 years now.  I am coming back to Singapore in 2018. Checking the price of the same car in Singapore (Sgcarmart), the same car will cost S$253,000.  A brand new Evoque cost £34,000 (without 20% UK VAT since we are exporting) here (www.landrover.co.uk) (roughly S$61,200 - OMV).

Self import costs:

Shipping cost (London to Singapore):  £850 (roughly S$1530)

Excise duty 20% = S$12,240
ARF first $20k =    S$20,000
next $30k at 140% = S$42,000
Remainder S$11,200 at 180% = S$20,160

GST 7% of OMV + ARF:  S$10,035

Total cost of car brought into Sgp:    S$153,395

Now add COE about S$48,000 (Cat B).

So, the car will be around S$201,395 (not including your insurance costs, registration, time and effort). 

Savings is around S$50,000.   Your views? :mellow:  Anyone gamed?  If we import more than 1 car, it is worth the effort.

Edited by KahLupLee

Hi!  I am currently living in London and I have been driving my Range Rover Evoque for 5 years now.  I am coming back to Singapore in 2018. Checking the price of the same car in Singapore (Sgcarmart), the same car will cost S$253,000.  A brand new Evoque cost £34,000 (without 20% UK VAT since we are exporting) here (www.landrover.co.uk) (roughly S$61,200 - OMV).

Self import costs:

Shipping cost (London to Singapore):  £850 (roughly S$1530)

Excise duty 20% = S$12,240

ARF first $20k =    S$20,000

next $30k at 140% = S$42,000

Remainder S$11,200 at 180% = S$20,160

GST 7% of OMV + ARF:  S$10,035

Total cost of car brought into Sgp:    S$153,395

Now add COE about S$48,000 (Cat B).

So, the car will be around S$201,395 (not including your insurance costs, registration, time and effort). 

Savings is around S$50,000.   Your views? :mellow:  Anyone gamed?  If we import more than 1 car, it is worth the effort.

cool! am looking to import merc too, but in UK the odometer is in mph, how much it cost to change to kph and do they do it for u?

Odometer?  All the new cars are electronic display.  Just select instead of mph to kmh.  I do that when I drive from London to France or other parts of Europe.

My only concern is the GPS map.  The cars here have Europe maps.  No Asia maps.  But I guess that can be updated easily.