Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 Not me...i think it's so silly to spend lots of $$ on a wedding. i dun even nead to wear a wedding gown or diamond ring to 'feel' married. n i can't stand those wedding dinner, they're so passes' you don't know what a woman wants. my sister's wedding is a very solid one with air force regulars holding swords at the side of the red carpets and her hubby and her walked under the swords.halfway through,her hubby carried her to the stage. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 Tiffany ring.. for a 6k, u probably can get a 35pointer there about. 6prong setting for that size is very presentable already. go check it out. also , do find out what make her like the tiffany. :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 Tiffany at 6k for 0.4carat? Unlikely you can get it. Other jewellers you will have no issues. Reason is simple. Tiffany took the best of the lots of quality diamonds out in the ww market. In fact, all the top 10% if I remember right. A diamond ring of VSS2 and D colour of 0.3 carat already sets you back 4-5k. And the price bracket is very much dependend on carat size range. A jump to a certain carat will see u jump exponentially as well in prices. Its not linear. Advice: go for the more common breeds one. Soo Kee, Lee Hwa .. etc. There, 0.4 will satisfy her. If not, like what panda say, good for u. If yes, good for you too.. :) Rgds the ever popular Tiffany bracelet cost a whooping $400plus. i think its only made of stainless steel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 nah, can live w/o all those fuss... i dun even fancy flowers, waste of $$..gv me a box of choco anytime.. yEAh, all my bfs r so lucky.. oops,you are a girl. surprisingly you thinks that way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madsumm 1st Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 yo.. i wrap myself up lah.. then put outside... "From Tiffany" Hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 so you rather have branded stuffs which can last you for more than 1 day. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 my bossy gv me the bracelet n ring for secretary week last year, they r still in the little blue box... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 (edited) your "boss"? lucky you. Edited May 2, 2007 by Turbonetics Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 yupz! i can carry a different bag everyday! dun call me materialistic huh, my bfs buy them willingly. i ddnt put a knife on their throat huh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 u think so? on my b'day last month, he tried to kiz me when gvg me an ang pow...YUCK! if he's cute, stil ok but he is NOT!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 since we are on this topic,may i ask those who are married or intend to get marries soon 1 question. did or will you and your partner be buying a new ring every year for your anniversary? if yes,did or will you trade in the old ring or just collect all the rings through out the years(every year wear new ring)? If every year you get a new ring, (whether you trade in or not), budget must be BIG. (assuming it is a trade up in terms of 5Cs...) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 Why the hang-up over a cert? Granted, i'd recommend a cert for peace of mind. But that is as far as the "cert" goes. It is not going to boost the resale price nor add to its 5Cs. If you need a cert, GIA or AGS will do fine. Whatever premium (if there is) is from the shopkeeper to you. not really, a reputable cert can add some value to the resale price (if there's any left ) key point: if there's any left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 (edited) 7 K for a 40pointers? i think that your female colleague is right to be upset.. she could have gotten a 1 carat for that price...and it's much better.. You can get a "cert" diamond of 0.55 carat between 3.5k to 4.5k (with reasonably good specs, this you can verify from the cert). The shop will usually be willing to do the casing for you as well. Rather than just get teh Tiffany, there's a more you can do in hunting down that elusive diamond that fits your specs to a T and have it encased in a design that you special wife likes. There is more "meaning" to getting a diamond this way rather then subject yourself to the usual sales talk. Edited May 2, 2007 by Sabian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 diamonds are illiquid investment? Investment? The only thing that outdo a car (on this island) is a diamond. Unless it is a rare and sought after (usually with a legacy story behind it) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dermocyma Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 if i can make my women happy, that itself is an investment. the risk are high just like any other investment as benefit may or maynot be there after sometime. so u get the idea? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chocobelle Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 i juz think it's a b100dy waste of $$ to spend lots of $$ on a diamond ring lor. that 6k can be put to good use like doing up the house or saving it up for a rainy day. as for the wedding dinner, most of the time the food suck! n the oni 1 laughing all the way to the bank is the restuarant owner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbonetics 2nd Gear May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 yupz! i can carry a different bag everyday! dun call me materialistic huh, my bfs buy them willingly. i ddnt put a knife on their throat huh so you must have got a sharp eyes to scan their bank account? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dermocyma Neutral Newbie May 2, 2007 Share May 2, 2007 average size lah, not big. u would be more afraids if the kids swollow it. anyway, its reserved liao. deal closing this friday. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...