Engagement Ring Advice...

Mica_blue

This one from Tianpo is quite a good value I think for 0.43ct, VS1, E, Crystal Needle, ~3k.

Is it the Hearts on Fire range from Tianpo? I think you don't have to be concern too much as I believe the brand itself somehow guarantee it is a good diamond. I read somewhere that Hearts on Fire range they have slightly deeper depth (such as your example of 60.4%) so as to bring out more 'Fire' (i.e. those colour flashes from refraction instead of reflection), hence their name Hearts on Fire. wink.gif But since they cut it slightly deeper, 'Spread' will be compromise, this is inevitable.

Edited by Octopus

Really cheem. So much info... Nvm when I have time then slowly analyse. [:)] Appreciate your kind advice.

Wah still not expert? What Hears on Fire u also know. I think mine is eyes on fire - I just go to established shop, based on min clarity vs2, F if not G, compare the "fire" with 2 other diamond with naked eyes, dun need branded, coz branded ones also has lower range, right? Afterall, not big diamond how branded also no use. Betterr is the design and cut. [:)]

To TS, do take note you need to get wedding band too if everything is well, I am sure your girl will want another Tiffany diamond eternity ring. I suggest one single roll of princess cut, wow.

and I'm glad my comments have attracted 3 replies from 3 ladies from MCF.. although we have yet to fully authenicate one of them... [:p]

One of them is still under "classified" zone [;)]

What is classified zone? [rolleyes]

Diamond is one of the most successful marketing scam EVER....

those stones dun really cost that much....

[hur]

diamonds are illiquid investment, buy only if u must. a couple can spare the extra $ on other creature comfort and necessity.

though individual preference, fancy cuts are for glitters and some looks 'fake' to that extreme. good side - it can hide those yelow and flaw ones. so far, standard 66 facet are most commonly desired.

as for certificates like GIA, AGS etc, you can get a rock certify personally if you bought it from the dealer. the price wise will be cheaper than retail shop, but you need to know the market. appointment is required for dealer sale.

i do have a 1kt E-VVS1 and a 1.5 kt G-VS2 around if you are interested.

PM with details and asking price for the 1kt E-VVS1. Also, the type of cut and propotion if you don't mind. I've been to the SK, Citigems, goldheart.... and their prices at this moment of the GSS (50% discount) is still kinda high and inconsistent amongst the different shops.

Thanks.

Congrats...

Diamonds are just stones!

That's what my hubby always said..

But he still bring me to choose and select my proposal ring one year ago...

In the end, I went to Leehwa and got myself a destinee...

Only 0.33 carat..but it was D colour and VVS1 grade...

But the price is $4.5K... sweatdrop.gif

Manage to get more discount from the usual 10% off from the sales exec...

In the end, still within hubby's budget of not more than 4K..

Hahaha~

I wanted to upgrade my current one to a bigger carat..

100% trade in value within 2 yrs for destinee range..

The 0.4 was abt 5K and 0.5 was 7K! sweatdrop.gif

Was thinking to trade in for a normal range so that I can get at least 0.5!

Hehehe laugh.gif

Hubby was scolding me that spending on $$ on stones are worthless..

So suggest to get me a rolex watch for our 1st anniversary!

If, I mean oni is "if" my hubby wants to give me stones / flowers / rolex watch for our anniversary, I would rather choose to use that $$$ & I top up some if not enough for us (2 adults & 2 kids) to go for holiday.

To think spending K on stones - To me is [jawdrop] . Wont have chances to wear, not wearing to work, no D&D, seldom attend wedding dinner. So kinda waste of $$$ for me.

Flowers - waste $$$.. thou I like flowers but rather keep for kids use.

Rolex watch - 25 hours watch is more than enough & I like 25 hours watch..

I did bought myself a small stone @ a few hundreds but I seldom wear it. Now, it my personal safe-box... Abit regret of buying it.

I'm not saying I don't like stones / flowers / rolex watch, just to me, is a waste lor.

[laugh][laugh] U'r right bro. But somehow only ppl from this trade are aware.

But if they ever try to sell their diamond ring, they'll be wondering why it worth so little.

Haha, stone r worthless for resale, but priceless as a gift.

Buy gold lor, in kgs, price can even go up when u wana sell.

It is in the genes lah. Noticed how little girls always prefer shinny glittering toy stuffs over car or robots? This fondness never disappeared even when she grew old.

Being the hardest stone, diamond is forever. So there should be abundance in the world, but howcome the pricing never fits 'Demand vs Supply'? yet it's going up, up and up.

I wonder if put 2 thick long gold chain and 2 x 0.5 carat diamond ring side by side, the thief would take which?

Getting Tiffany is like paying for their brand and etc.

But when wear on the finger, who will know it is from tiffany, unless look at the laser engraving of the word 'tiffany' on the diamond with the microscope.

If you get Tiffany, I rather you use the money and get Larry instead.

It is more brilliance than the tiffany.

Once you hit the 1 carat mark... its in a different price range. [sweatdrop]

It might be kinda worthless on resale..... But I guess it earns the owner braggin rights. [rolleyes]

How many women won't want to own a 1 carat diamond (of course must be able to afford lah) .... once in their life time??? Maybe 1.5 or 2 carat is an over-kill... price being one thing.... but too big and it won't look too good unless one has got big, thick fingers. [:p]

If, I mean oni is "if" my hubby wants to give me stones / flowers / rolex watch for our anniversary, I would rather choose to use that $$$ & I top up some if not enough for us (2 adults & 2 kids) to go for holiday.

To think spending K on stones - To me is jawdrop.gif . Wont have chances to wear, not wearing to work, no D&D, seldom attend wedding dinner. So kinda waste of $$$ for me.

Flowers - waste $$$.. thou I like flowers but rather keep for kids use.

Rolex watch - 25 hours watch is more than enough & I like 25 hours watch..

I did bought myself a small stone @ a few hundreds but I seldom wear it. Now, it my personal safe-box... Abit regret of buying it.

I'm not saying I don't like stones / flowers / rolex watch, just to me, is a waste lor.

different people have different opinion.

holiday is like after you come back no more already,only left with memories and photos.

but a rolex watch is like a thing which you can see and touch for long term in my personal opinion.

Edited by Turbonetics

Aiyo, u wanna meetup wif me oni wan 2 cfm I'm [gorgeous], right? Like that also can't proved mah, I can just tell my female friend to show face to u & pose as ms_tan, right? Still, it's up to u all 2 believe or not after tat... As I said b4, I wont meetup wif any bros & sis whom from whatever forums... sending junk mails thr email maybe consider... But I want to ask, why do a person nid to pose opposite sex when that person really nid advices? No point mah, if wan to become famous, just in every topic create or jump into conclusion & make all fedup can liao lor.

Being accuse is not something that one feels great... But I see aso no point to prove that I'm [gorgeous] . If everyting nid to explain, I'll b very busy.. U can regards me as "bros" or those 2 pax lah, I'm still ms_tan, nothing can change the fact..

Sorry for my long-winded.