Engagement Ring Advice...

Mica_blue

u think so?

on my b'day last month, he tried to kiz me when gvg me an ang pow...YUCK!

if he's cute, stil ok but he is NOT!!

you must be very pretty then.inlove.gif

yupz! i can carry a different bag everyday! dun call me materialistic huh, my bfs buy them willingly. i ddnt put a knife on their throat huh.

so you must have got a sharp eyes to scan their bank account?

a smart bf would keep the $ offshore.

im juz being myself...

guess they appreciate coz i nvr insist on expensive candlelite dinners, flowers etc..

im cool wif gng to food court or fast food on dates..

Edited by Chocobelle

since we are on this topic,may i ask those who are married or intend to get marries soon 1 question.

did or will you and your partner be buying a new ring every year for your anniversary?

if yes,did or will you trade in the old ring or just collect all the rings through out the years(every year wear new ring)?

If every year you get a new ring, (whether you trade in or not), budget must be BIG. (assuming it is a trade up in terms of 5Cs...)

have to depend on the price as well.

about $2-3k per pair?

its still cheaper than my car for 1 year.lol.laugh.gif

u think so?

on my b'day last month, he tried to kiz me when gvg me an ang pow...YUCK!

if he's cute, stil ok but he is NOT!!

obviously he's buying your love... wink.gif

if i can make my women happy, that itself is an investment. the risk are high just like any other investment as benefit may or maynot be there after sometime. so u get the idea?

after u inserted the word "my women", it all makes a lot sense. hell hath no fury...

1st Gear
Why the hang-up over a cert?

Granted, i'd recommend a cert for peace of mind. But that is as far as the "cert" goes. It is not going to boost the resale price nor add to its 5Cs.

If you need a cert, GIA or AGS will do fine.

Whatever premium (if there is) is from the shopkeeper to you.

not really, a reputable cert can add some value to the resale price (if there's any left [:/] ) [laugh]

key point: if there's any left. [laugh]

got lar.. even if the diamond not worth, the setting also can fetch some money back

1st Gear
7 K for a 40pointers? i think that your female colleague is right to be upset..

she could have gotten a 1 carat for that price...and it's much better..

You can get a "cert" diamond of 0.55 carat between 3.5k to 4.5k (with reasonably good specs, this you can verify from the cert). The shop will usually be willing to do the casing for you as well.

Rather than just get teh Tiffany, there's a more you can do in hunting down that elusive diamond that fits your specs to a T and have it encased in a design that you special wife likes. There is more "meaning" to getting a diamond this way rather then subject yourself to the usual sales talk.

ya.. I know.. the journey of search is exciting and fun. Thus in one of my post in this thread, I have said that my search went all the way to HK and Belgium as well...

Anyway, a good 0.59 can be brought for 3k and below with very good spec (G, VS2 and excellent cut grade ). casing included as well [sly] .. That was one of the diamond I shortlisted but I went for another one that is even better

1st Gear
i juz think it's a b100dy waste of $$ to spend lots of $$ on a diamond ring lor.

that 6k can be put to good use like doing up the house or saving it up for a rainy day.

as for the wedding dinner, most of the time the food suck! n the oni 1 laughing all the way to the bank is the restuarant owner.

the reason why the food suck is that people usually go for the cheaper package.. try the shark fin at Four Seasons and you can really see the shark fins there swimming instead of others that are more like one or two strand floating on the starch water..

1st Gear
average size lah, not big. u would be more afraids if the kids swollow it. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

anyway, its reserved liao. deal closing this friday.

Congrats.. so I presume the buyer is going for upgrade at the shop?

BTW, what prompt you to sell? Convenient to talk about it here?

1st Gear
im juz being myself...

guess they appreciate coz i nvr insist on expensive candlelite dinners, flowers etc..

im cool wif gng to food court or fast food on dates..

ahhh.. that must be the honey moon stage... [inlove]

I wonder if it will be like diamond.. eternity for life [sweatdrop]