Hotsoup Neutral Newbie September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 Hi MCFs, Just curious to find out from the rest whether u keep yr car spare tyre (not tummy ) inside the car. Cos i'm thinking od removing it to reduce car weight. Any comment? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 I do. I don't see a need to have it taken out. Did that for a short period of time with my previous car...but no significant improvement to FC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jerry Clutched September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 For me,i took out my spare tyre as i have sub woofer custom fitted on my spare tyre hole. Anyway,singapore so small.Anything can just call friends for help mah. Unless you frequent Malaysia,then its best to keep the spare tyre.For me,i keep a punture kit in the car just in case. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crossback Clutched September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 yes i do keep the spare tyre in the car.. u nvr noe what will happen...and won't improve the fc that much also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nutty 4th Gear September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 I keep it in my car because I have nowhere to store my spare tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mzrmazda3 6th Gear September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 For me, i have been keeping it inside my ride ever since i started zooming many years back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 If your ride is an SUV, the spare tire will act as an extra buffer in the event of a rear collision. Saw some pics of accidents involving SUVs and saloons, the spare tyre covers of these SUVs got slight dents and scratches whereas the saloon cars' front very jialat-ly caved in. Anyhow, unless your tyre is the really big and heavy type, I doubt it will create any significant savings in your wallet by leaving it at home. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crossback Clutched September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 ya quite true hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitekid Neutral Newbie September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 I threw it away the day i got my car. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kingcopa 1st Gear September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 Yes i keep my spare tyre in my car and it once save me when i had a flat tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 Ya...we dun really have a car boot behind (SUV) so the spare tyre acts as a buffer and extra protection for the rear passengers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotsoup Neutral Newbie September 27, 2007 Author Share September 27, 2007 I think i'll modify my Colt plus and use the spare tyre as SUV(behind the rear) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenfarm Turbocharged September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 That is going to affect your FC alright Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starengine Neutral Newbie September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 i keep it in the car, although i don't know how to change... btw, the spare tyre also need to pump air every a few months, rite? didn't touch it for long time.. Hi MCFs, Just curious to find out from the rest whether u keep yr car spare tyre (not tummy ) inside the car. Cos i'm thinking od removing it to reduce car weight. Any comment? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 Hi MCFs, Just curious to find out from the rest whether u keep yr car spare tyre (not tummy ) inside the car. Cos i'm thinking od removing it to reduce car weight. Any comment? 1. It is important to have spare tyres when in Malaysia. In Singapore, it is not always a necessity, just pay and get thing done. 2. I have a thought of getting the same size rim and tyres just like the four that I'm using but it will not fit. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotsoup Neutral Newbie September 27, 2007 Author Share September 27, 2007 The last tyre changed was more than 10 years ago. if situation arises, i also dun know how to change liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Starengine Neutral Newbie September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 what will happen if use 3 bigger size rims&tyres and the spare smaller one together? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marcostan 4th Gear September 27, 2007 Share September 27, 2007 For me, I sold my spare tyre at brand new condition. Usually can sell at around $80 to $100 (225x65/17) and find a free one, same size that other ppl take out to change to new tyre. Usually those old one is not in good condition but I only use it for spare. U keep your new spare and never use it, IMHO just waste money. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...