Migrating

Yeshe

And at least you guys get to enjoy the benefits of National Health, in Oz, I have no idea when we can use the Medicare levy, they should just lump it all as part of our income tax, instead of giving us hope that someday we might get to use it! [thumbsdown]

how much are you paying for consultation to see a GP? are you using a medicare card?

You can buy all kinds of medical insurance to cover your backside...

Maybe it could not really fully cover but I think it is still much much cheaper than the tax you paid at Britain [laugh]

why use so much your hard earn $ (about half your income) to pay tax? [shakehead]

Obviously you can't compare the 40% tax structure to our system. where the policy makers are thinking differently.

The system there had already been tailored to the 40%, just like how the employers take the cpf contribution here as part of the expenses in employing Singaporeans.

And do you see them getting poorer and poorer.. nope u dont... in fact we singaporeans are getting poorer and poorer...

Some other countries encouraged citizens to take public and avoid private by lowering the fares.

But we are the other way round. Obviously something is not very right for us.

Some other countries encouraged citizens to take public and avoid private by lowering the fares. But we are the other way round. Obviously something is not very right for us.

In Texas, you can buy a monthly bus card at US$10.

With this card, you can take unlimited bus rides for the whole month.

For daily card, it's US$1 for unlimited rides within 24 hours.

The point is, i rather the tax i pay is being used wisely to help the poor/sick instead of channelling to the gahmen's foolish investments or ridiculous salary.

==============================

This must be the most sensible reason i have seen for year 2007 [thumbsup] It really speaks what the bottom of our hearts

how much are you paying for consultation to see a GP? are you using a medicare card?

Consultation??? Yeh, that's covered by medicare, but the drugs are not, common flu and cold medicine will set you back AUD$70, does my medicare card take care of that??? [hur]

I just caught a cold in Singers last month, the consultation and prescription came up to a whopping SGD$32! But I didn't pay cos it was covered by my company, in Oz, that's a fringe benefit, and that's taxable as a separate component of your "income" at the maximum rate!

Next question please?

I thought it should be the other way round... only small percentage of ppl getting poorer. Sorry if I am wrong... [hur]. I have read that S'pore is the fastest growing millionare (US$ exculde living property) in the whole world in term of % [idea] .

I have benefited more wealth through S'pore system... so I won't want to go to high taxing countries (example: 40% [shakehead] ) to maintain their royal famlies and invading troops expenses. Also heard that most of their pension $ goes to thoes bludgers who do nothing because they can just get "benefits" $ at the expenses for those who work hard [:|] . Because they can get pension $ easily, that's why they are not eager to look for job...

Rather stay in lower taxing countries and do donation to charity, old folk or children home myself at my comfortable rate of expense for good.

Edited by Ncss

Like i say before, if you are in the 40% tax bracket then don't leave as Sg is design as a pro-business place. It's a good place to make money and you are also consider elite or "1st class citizen" here. Our pro-rich gov will look after you. [;)]

In every country... the lower bracket citizen are complaining their own gahment.

That's the nature of human la... usually ppl who can't cope with their country's living standard complain [:p]. It can't be blame as no policy is perfect.

Agree the S'pore has many ploicies that is not good to the mass and there is lots of room for improvement but I think generally it is still good.

I think the MRT and bus fares are generally reasonable for the mass... should be quite affortable to most ppl right?

If increases the car owners tax to encourage public transport... car owners complain, those ppl who want to own thier 1st car also comnplain.

If push public transport slightly higher to cover losses... more ppl complain. So there is always a balance point.

bro. then stop complaining about the medicare levy. I paid AUD$80 for just consultation when I was in Sydney.

It was then I was hit by the reality of how medical fees are heavily subsidised by the OZ garmen (ie. paid by tax payers).

In Singapore, you pay for your own consultation when going to a private clinic, even if you go to polyclinic, you still have to pay consultaion, plus wait at least 4 hours.

In all honesty? I rather grow old somewhere where I won't die in a queue.

Edited by Slowmo

Thats over generalising and a sweeping statement.

There are people from the lower bracket citizen who don't complain their govt. What makes you think that higher income citizen will be happy? If they are not happy, they can simply just bring their business(es) elsewhere! Thats why!

From what I read on several medias, only SG people complain a lot, because that has the least effect on our daily life, whereas other places they hold strikes, protests and (god forbid) demostrations... this of course disrupts the normal way of life. So we Singaporeans are peace loving people.

No mortal wants to earn less or have less money, even if you already have heaps of cash in your bank - this is the fact of life.

Frankly speaking, no ppl wants to pay high taxes...

Many rich ppl migrate mainly due to picky in lifestyle and security... because they are rich, they can survive anywhere, so they are more towards choosing lifestyle.

For example, S'pore is hot, crowded and only see buildings everywhere. Very hard to see mountains, lovely beaches or own big luxury houses and zoom his sport cars for hours.

Some rich ppl don't like S'pore lifestye, so they migrate elsewhere... is not they don't like their gahment.

Small little land with 4mil+ ppl... bo bian, everywhere has to queue [laugh].

unless you sebe rich, everytime use expensive private with less queue [laugh] .

Many rich ppl migrate mainly due to picky in lifestyle and security... because they are rich, they can survive anywhere, so they are more towards choosing lifestyle.

correction, many rich will stay in SG, rich from nearby countries will flock to SG, because the gahmen here protect the rich and rich gets richer!

if the rich needs to see mountain or sea, just buy a resort or house in another country and go for holiday lor!

read that S'pore is the fastest growing millionare (US$ exculde living property) in the whole world in term of % idea.gif .

And remember the recent article on how many of these millionaires are actually Indonesians ...

honestly, if i am a rich materialistic person, Singapore lifestyle is best.

Just eat, sleep, shop, plenty of golf courses, and once a while take the limo for a drive down town to watch gold class movie, otherwise head down boat/clarke quay area. All these you can do from 10am thru 3am. every weekday. Weekends can go marina for sailing and watersports, or even the occasional private plane flights. Thailand/malaysia/australia/taiwan - the other shopping/relac relac corners is few hours flight away.

Not happy still got banyan tree resorts within few hours of ferry ride of airplane.

Because SG is located right smack in the middle of everywhere, its the ideal place to be!

High Tax is something needed to help The People (note the capitalisation), but the income of these taxed ones have to be higher. Thats the common understanding.

I always use this logic:

4mil people, just take 0.01% of population of elderly..etc that needs to go polyclinic.

just counting singapore health group alone which only have 8 polyclinic to service this 0.01%...

Yes, we have to be very realistic with the waiting times.

Edited by Slowmo

I still find 40% unacceptable...

Moreover, everything you buy, they tax another 17.5% VAT again... [dizzy]

Which mean your total tax is around 57.5%... WTF, more than HALF of your hard earn $ goes to tax [:/] .

At London, I cannot drink 60cent koppi O and 60cent yummy rotti prata... and also my $2.50 Lasak and Lor Mee.

You have your own destiny, some ppl find there better which I also think London is a wonderful place except the tax system.

But my choice is clear (S'pore) as I don't want pay so much tax and I don't want depart with my friends and family.

I don;t think Singapore tax system is any better. Everyone have their own opinion and its good that you think singapore is a great place to live in.