Kelpie 2nd Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 1. Anyone here believe in using underdog brands? Something with less popular branding but have good performance tyres. 2. For example, Hankook, which is a JV between Michelin and the Korean. Barum brand which is used in road rallies and owned by Continental. Regards, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Katou Neutral Newbie January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 I'm on Hankook. Nevertheless, thumb-up for it. I believe every brand has it own strong and lousy tires. Is how much one willing to spent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fos19 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 Tires, like many consumer goods, are typically priced for the attributes they bring. For 4 rubber strips that keep your car planted on the tarmac - I think we should not treat all tires as equal. On the other hand, having the best of breed sports tire means nothing if one drives recklessly. I dun think it's fair to label any brand underdog ... opinions differ and unless you try personally it's basically taking with a pinch of salt what other opinions might offer. I have tried Hankook K104 before and I'm quite happy with it. Have used CSC2, S-03, F-512, CPC ... all gave me no issues - maybe i'm not a very aggressive driver - hence dun really push the tire to their limits, not that I want to anyway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 Less popular in Singapore perhaps. But the car market in China and Korea are using Hankook every where! In China, I see cars Chinese made cars and even, Audi, VW Golf, Taxi all use Hankook as OEM tyres. Good or not.....I don't know...but I see in 0-10degC weather, China drivers still use the same summer Hankook tyres. Still speeding 120km/hr on their expressway like summer time! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 How abt Nankang tyres? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 GT Radial Champiro HPX. http://www.tyres4u.com.au/brandselector_do...mg-gt_show.aspx Cooper tires. http://www.coopertires.com/Flash/index.aspx Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apollo 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 wu pix wu tok.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
UncleWolve Clutched January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 1. Anyone here believe in using underdog brands? Something with less popular branding but have good performance tyres. 2. For example, Hankook, which is a JV between Michelin and the Korean. Barum brand which is used in road rallies and owned by Continental. Regards, BRO DONT play play with rubbers.... it's life and death... Will u go for Doolek brand condom made in Surabaya? No right??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Boyboy 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 i see before apollo tyre in SG. cannot be bothered to take pix tho anyway, as long as one does his homework, doesn't matter about brand. i've used bridgestone, yoko and two kinds of hankook. only one of the hankook models quite impressive. the other 3 tyres lousy forgot to add that my OEM hankook also sucks. but it's not meant for chiong driving la.. use correct tyre for correct usage, brand not so much of an issue. i'd look at price over brand Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chisiang 2nd Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 I'm the king of chupalang tyres brand I used Nankang, GT Radial, and what have you tyres on my Altezza no money to change good one... Too much chamber and rubber burning... But I usually don't play corner... becoz no matter what tyre you use, it is the size of your balls that matters And also usually those totalled cars are those who play hiong hiong cornering so what if you run power tyres becoz all it takes is a little oil on the surface and you have to "watch out for that tree"! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 31, 2008 Author Share January 31, 2008 Tires, like many consumer goods, are typically priced for the attributes they bring. For 4 rubber strips that keep your car planted on the tarmac - I think we should not treat all tires as equal. On the other hand, having the best of breed sports tire means nothing if one drives recklessly. I dun think it's fair to label any brand underdog ... opinions differ and unless you try personally it's basically taking with a pinch of salt what other opinions might offer. I have tried Hankook K104 before and I'm quite happy with it. Have used CSC2, S-03, F-512, CPC ... all gave me no issues - maybe i'm not a very aggressive driver - hence dun really push the tire to their limits, not that I want to anyway I've used K104 and K105 and they're not bad really. As mentioned Hankook is a JV with Michelin, so I suppose there is technology transfer. For Barum, it is owned by Continental, the one that makes those famous CSC. Barum has been used in rallies so again, I suppose it also has Continental blood. So thought worth trying since I've +ve experience with Hankook. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 Have u heard of Hero tyres? http://www.herotyres.com/performance.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Valx 2nd Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 i just change mine with tcss. Suppose to be goodyear but no stock they never tell me they change to another brand call sumitomo............... Lanlan use liao then see how liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 31, 2008 Author Share January 31, 2008 1. Alamak , before I start getting recommendation on China and Indian brands, lets put it this way, look for promising brands that have technology transfer or JV from/with the more established brands. Alternatively, those that are rated as par with the more established brands in tyre reviews in UHP and Max Performance grouping. 2. I have been mentioning the 2 brands, which are good examples: a) Hankook and Michelin b) Barum and Continental Anymore? Thank you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 31, 2008 Author Share January 31, 2008 i just change mine with tcss. Suppose to be goodyear but no stock they never tell me they change to another brand call sumitomo............... Lanlan use liao then see how liao Actually, Sumitomo is not too bad. So which model did you get from TCSS. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear January 31, 2008 Share January 31, 2008 ic. how abt firenza and falken? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 Using Maxxis MA-Z1 Victra now. More grippy than Hankook K104, but also more noisy. This is a tyre designed for drifting with very aggressive-looking threads. http://www.maxxis.com/products/automotive/...ail.asp?id=5456 Paid $130 for 16" which is a good price for a Z-rated tyre. And for those who believe $$$ tyres are better, f**k off with your herd mentality. It's people like you who make things more expensive than they should be. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alex72mk Neutral Newbie February 2, 2008 Share February 2, 2008 bro!! can u give the adders& ph number 4 the tyre shop i'm also looking 4 cheap & good tyre 4 my suv tucson thk"s ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...