Don't mind using less common brand names in tyres?

Kelpie

1. Anyone here believe in using underdog brands? Something with less popular branding but have good performance tyres.

2. For example, Hankook, which is a JV between Michelin and the Korean. Barum brand which is used in road rallies and owned by Continental.

Regards,

I'm on Hankook. Nevertheless, thumb-up for it. I believe every brand has it own strong and lousy tires. Is how much one willing to spent. [:)]

Tires, like many consumer goods, are typically priced for the attributes they bring. For 4 rubber strips that keep your car planted on the tarmac - I think we should not treat all tires as equal.

On the other hand, having the best of breed sports tire means nothing if one drives recklessly.

I dun think it's fair to label any brand underdog ... opinions differ and unless you try personally it's basically taking with a pinch of salt what other opinions might offer.

I have tried Hankook K104 before and I'm quite happy with it. Have used CSC2, S-03, F-512, CPC ... all gave me no issues - maybe i'm not a very aggressive driver - hence dun really push the tire to their limits, not that I want to anyway [sweatdrop]

Less popular in Singapore perhaps.

But the car market in China and Korea are using Hankook every where!

In China, I see cars Chinese made cars and even, Audi, VW Golf, Taxi all use Hankook as OEM tyres.

Good or not.....I don't know...but I see in 0-10degC weather, China drivers still use the same summer Hankook tyres. Still speeding 120km/hr on their expressway like summer time!

1. Anyone here believe in using underdog brands? Something with less popular branding but have good performance tyres.

2. For example, Hankook, which is a JV between Michelin and the Korean. Barum brand which is used in road rallies and owned by Continental.

Regards,

BRO DONT play play with rubbers....

it's life and death...

Will u go for Doolek brand condom made in Surabaya?

No right???

i see before apollo tyre in SG. cannot be bothered to take pix tho

anyway, as long as one does his homework, doesn't matter about brand. i've used bridgestone, yoko and two kinds of hankook. only one of the hankook models quite impressive. the other 3 tyres lousy [laugh]

forgot to add that my OEM hankook also sucks. but it's not meant for chiong driving la..

use correct tyre for correct usage, brand not so much of an issue. i'd look at price over brand

I'm the king of chupalang tyres brand [laugh]

I used Nankang, GT Radial, and what have you tyres on my Altezza [:/] no money to change good one... Too much chamber and rubber burning... [dead]

But I usually don't play corner... becoz no matter what tyre you use, it is the size of your balls that matters [laugh]

And also usually those totalled cars are those who play hiong hiong cornering [dead] so what if you run power tyres becoz all it takes is a little oil on the surface and you have to "watch out for that tree"! [laugh]

Tires, like many consumer goods, are typically priced for the attributes they bring. For 4 rubber strips that keep your car planted on the tarmac - I think we should not treat all tires as equal.

On the other hand, having the best of breed sports tire means nothing if one drives recklessly.

I dun think it's fair to label any brand underdog ... opinions differ and unless you try personally it's basically taking with a pinch of salt what other opinions might offer.

I have tried Hankook K104 before and I'm quite happy with it. Have used CSC2, S-03, F-512, CPC ... all gave me no issues - maybe i'm not a very aggressive driver - hence dun really push the tire to their limits, not that I want to anyway [sweatdrop]

I've used K104 and K105 and they're not bad really. As mentioned Hankook is a JV with Michelin, so I suppose there is technology transfer. For Barum, it is owned by Continental, the one that makes those famous CSC. Barum has been used in rallies so again, I suppose it also has Continental blood. So thought worth trying since I've +ve experience with Hankook.

Regards,

i just change mine with tcss.

Suppose to be goodyear but no stock they never tell me they change to another brand call

sumitomo...............

Lanlan use liao then see how liao

1. Alamak [sweatdrop], before I start getting recommendation on China and Indian brands, lets put it this way, look for promising brands that have technology transfer or JV from/with the more established brands. Alternatively, those that are rated as par with the more established brands in tyre reviews in UHP and Max Performance grouping.

2. I have been mentioning the 2 brands, which are good examples:

a) Hankook and Michelin

b) Barum and Continental

Anymore?

Thank you.

Regards,

i just change mine with tcss.

Suppose to be goodyear but no stock they never tell me they change to another brand call

sumitomo...............

Lanlan use liao then see how liao

Actually, Sumitomo is not too bad. So which model did you get from TCSS.

Regards,

Using Maxxis MA-Z1 Victra now. More grippy than Hankook K104, but also more noisy. This is a tyre designed for drifting with very aggressive-looking threads.

http://www.maxxis.com/products/automotive/...ail.asp?id=5456

Paid $130 for 16" which is a good price for a Z-rated tyre.

And for those who believe $$$ tyres are better, f**k off with your herd mentality. It's people like you who make things more expensive than they should be. [mad]