34 members have voted

1. 1.

• i don use it, so who cares
    • i use it, but if passengers don use it, its ok
    • at least the front one must buckle up
    • all must buckle up
    • if u don buckle up, get out of my car

Hi guys,

lately there's this thing on seat belts...

for me, when i was a kid, my parents car didnt have a seat belt in the rear seat.

then when i sat in my relatives car, it was always so fun for me to belt up, cos for me, it feels so " secured", like something holding you.

now, i always belt up when i drive.

and i make sure my passengers do.

which can lead to arguements at times cos they'll be like " WONT GET CAUGHT LAH".

cos i don like to say " bad things", so just say " hey, better belt up, later police catch we all kena"..

but in reality, *touch wood*, i noe it it will save a life.

what really pisses me off is that, i knew a girl, b4 i met her, she didnt like to belt up. when i met her and she rode with me, i made sure she belted up, and it became a habit for her.

then later on when she went to ride in her friend's car, they laughed and jeered at her when she belted up.. like " wahh, now so kiasu ah".

these pple are bloody childish to me..

anyway, what are your opinions?

I always tell my passengers about the case in which a guy got thrown out of a lancer. he was in the back seat, unbelted. believe bro thug posted it.

that's for my ride. for other pple, i got no beef with natural selection. let it take its course [sunny]

practically, for my own ride, not just about rear passenger getting flung out, but if rear passenger is flung into front seat, front passenger also kena.. [dead]

anyway, i don't meet much resistance implementing the rule. i'm quite fierce [sly][laugh]

think the road enforcers on the road also close one eye if the rear seat passenger never buckle up, the driver and the VC are the most critical in my opinion cos they are 1st on impact in any head on collision, but if doors are flung opened in those severe cases, then rear seat passengers will be at risk, so it best that all buckle up for their own safety

1. This topic always hotly [gossip] a few times here liao. Some said that there is always this issue of not enough seats for people who wanted to squeeze more than 5 people in one car but don't buy a MPV for whatever reasons. If more than 5, how to make sure all belt up?

2. On the other hand, some people who bought larger MPV/SUV felt that their cars are "tanks" and can cushion collsion better than normal sedan cars so long they drive slowly. It is actually common to see children un-belt and playing around behind these cars.

Regards,

people who love at others for belting out are just plain naive...

i always insist my pessengers to belt up not because mught get fine but because of safety.. u never know what might happned on the roads, with so many crazy drivers, cyclist and pedestrians on the road.

What happen to the topic of commercial vehicles ferrying workers? A lot of accidents whereby workers get flung out the back of a lorry. How ah? Ppl forgot already. So dun need seat belts lor?

To me it depends on situation. Let's say if big family go out for dinner but got limited cars but can squeeze abit in the rear. Children sit on the laps of adult blah blah blah. So how the hack to get belted up for everyone?

The thing is there's no 100% safety on the roads, even if all get belted up sh*t can still happen. Safe and relatively safe is a combination of many factors like seat belts, car construction & safety features, adhering to speed limits, road conditions, weather, driver, other road users and so on.

Unless our cars are equipped with "forced shield", it's difficult to feel 100% safe.

I don't really like to use belts but everytime don't use will be the du du du sound sibeh irritating [dead]

haaha..

i guess i forgot to mention,

i mean if like, a lot of passengers, ( 5 behind), this one no choice lah).

but i mean, if like normal, 2 passengers behind for most situations lor.

as for the lorries that issue, this one i also find very strange

i think in the US, it is illegal for a person to ride in the bed of the truck like how they do in singapore

but in singapore, govt thinks u put those aluminium bars, its safe for pple to ride liao..

whoever wrote this law is dam dumb

personally, I have told my passengers to belt up for their own safety. Most of them do so upon being told nicely, the rest just have to remind them I am not moving off unless they belt up.

I'm not a very safe driver... [sweatdrop][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Probably that's why all my passengers will belt up automatically... [laugh][laugh]

I remembered giving my boss pa a ride home and she refused to put on seat belt on the rear seats. Since the seats were just conditioned, she was sliding from side to side till she fell on the floor... [sly]

Me and my usual car pool buddy were laughing at her for the next 3 weeks... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

well. the key here is to use belts while possible.

there will be some pple who refuse to carry more than the stipulated number of passengers. i have nothing against that, though i will bend the law sometimes for convenience.

ultimately, the driver is responsible for ANYTHING which happens under his watch [:p]. blame or not is another thing, but responsibility? definitely [nod]

Seat belts are generally for safety but they pose dangers as well.

Many years ago when i was in sec sch, someone involved in accident near my house. She died becos SCDF unable to send her to hospital on time.

Why?

Becos seat belt got jammed.

hmmm.. for me, front must always belt up (passengers quite auto)..

rear is if they want to belt up they will belt up, but i will remind them first of the fine etc.. and also, if they want to sleep, i tell them to belt up.. [:)][rolleyes]

Huh... can't the SCDF just cut the belt? It is not too difficult to cut it.

???

Seatbelts only poses real danger if the child is under age and the belt are not place across the correct position of the body (ie. the hip bone and collar bone area). The child should be in child safety seat anyway.