How do I park head in first

There are times when parking head in first is the only practical option, and this was one of those that was never taught. So need advice from more experienced bros / sis on how to do this. Please share, how far must I be from cars which are at the side, at which point to turn in etc....

Thanks all!

if you manage to find 3 or more vacant lots in a stretch,practice first.

lets you gauge the distance you need for your car.otherwise,don't try this stunt in a packed car park. [sweatdrop]

if your car is stock,u can park head first.lowered cars can simply forget abt it [laugh]

Agree with Jezter. You will need to find time to practice. The method actually varies slightly depending on the space, etc...

But generally, you need to leave as much space between the side of your car and the row of parking space you intend to park head in. Drive till the front bumper almost perpendicular to near edge of the parking lot and do a almost full turn until you car turn 90 degree into the lot.

I agree with you that sometimes head in is good eg. buying grocery, need to load/unload large items like pram in a tight spaces, etc...

Edited by Silver_blade

When you want to park head in, be aware of how are you going to back out later. Will the car beside you park too close to you? will there be enough space to turn to back out? Certain parking situation can have the space around your car changed due to other cars parking and leaving.

Know your car dimension well, know the corners of the car, how much does your car turn....practise is the way to go. During parking, if not sure of distance, don't try. Get out of the car to see before moving.

Yup ...i definately with you ...if not sure ...just get out of the car to check the gap or curb height ...don't need to feel pai sei ...

Many a times when i went to Long House along thomson ...the parking there nearer to the road almost 60 degee all head in . And the worse thing that could happen is that right infront of the car is a small low wall ....

Been there a couple of times ...Saw at least 2 car had their front scratch or dented ...

My formula is:

Move until the side mirror is aligned to the edge of the opposite car and do a FULL turn in SLOWLY. or else will hit the car on the other side.

Should roughly be able to get in.

Then its a matter of in-out to adjust (which is tricker actually).

Find the hole & poke your head in.

It's that simple. [;)]

But seriously, you should do reverse parking. safer for you & the guy parked next to you.

I really cannot tahan those parked head in and does not know how to get out properly.

My car bonnet kena before from such a idiot. [furious]

Edited by Slonez

eh...1st u got to know the lenght of ur bonnet...

if u turning right in..then makan nearer to the car on ur left and then go in and straighten...

vice versa ...

then reverse a little if u nid to make adjustments...

no need to reverse much bah..the most is like 1/2 car out for me tongue.gif

that is why for me..me will on headlights if me not sure where the head of the car is at

or when me is too tired to realli notice...

at least headlights will reflect the light back to u...

and u would roughly noe the distance from there tongue.gif

sort of acts as a front 'sensor' for me tongue.gif

That's a pretty good idea, never really thought bout it this way. [thumbsup]

but can only work in multi-stories car parks.

There was one guy who parked head-in into a lot in front of a coffee shop.

My car was parked at an opposite lot, behind him.

When he tried to reverse his car out, his rear hit my front bumper (on the side) and left behind a scratch. He pretended nothing had happened and drove off quickly!

nod.gif..actualli works anywhere lah...

except the low walls mentioned at long house...

that is if they are realli low...

coz the light will generally reflect off the cars on ur side...

so yeah ..give it a try lah bro tongue.gif

but not sure bout daylight though...me normally confident with head parking tongue.gif

Oh ya, forgot bout light bouncing off other cars. Paiseh, didn't realise cause my present job allows me to come back pretty early when the sun is still bright and shining. [sunny]

Hmm ...i also never thought of opening highlight as well...normally i compare my car bonnet with the car next to me ...lucky mine is those shorter type ...So i try to compare the side mirror next to mine.

Speaking of Long house ...to make head in parking worse ...if anyone been there, you would noticed that the floor is not even ...there is a slight slope when you need to move up ...So the angle you see would be higher from usual. The low wall in front is about 40 cm to 50 cm tall i think ...definately would not go under any car or SUV front bumper...