Peeling prawns shells

Rollagt

Trying to be too "civilised".

I consider anyone trying to eat chicken or shell fish with utensils as barbarians.

Who is the right mind wants to exercise dexterity with eating utensils to tackle these?!

Such food is like sex. You use your hands. Grab them and break them and shove them into your mouth. Like some grisly bearded Viking! laugh.gif

Wa! I like your table. [laugh] Depending on the freshness of the prawns, I can deshell each prawn in approx 3 secs [scholar]

u need to deshell?? i simply put the whole prawn in my mouth and split out the shell in 2 sec... 1 sec faster than u! [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

Erm, there's a few express peeling method. Mine is from personal experience.

- Pinch and remove head

- Pinch and remove all legs (in 1 move)

- Using your thumb in 1 motion dig into the "leaves" (or shell segments) starting from the head side all the way to the tail end, and "open" all the "leaves".

- You should be able to grab the prawn meat away from the "leaves". Pinch the tail and you have deshelled the prawn.

Takes abit of practice. I'm a prawn lover so i guess i've gotten alot of practice [:p] ... and also alot of body itch the next day [laugh]

anyone using fork and spoon to peel the shells without using bare hand? [sweatdrop]

I've mastered the art of de-shelling prawns with fork & spoon at lightning speeds... [laugh]

But most pple claim prawns cooked with shells intact taste better.. [gossip]

depends on how you cook.. some like coated with wasabi is different [sly]

This is pro. But i think only your wife and kids would allow you to deshell for them using this method [:p] someone should hold a prawn deshelling competition! [laugh] Is there a guiness record for this event?

Actually its not necessary to use utensils to peel prawns or whatsoever.

I used to werk as a waiter in a 5 star hotel and I had served VVIP guests from overseas and guess what? they eat chicken wings, prawns, those finger food without utensils lor.

For the peeling of prawns, they did it with 4 fingers (2 on each).And they did it very nicely and not much mess is created.

I use fork and spoon or chop stick and soup spoon when i'm out.. needs a lot of practise intially prawn keep flying..wahahaha

it all depends on locations.. at home or at seafood place.. NB i used my fingers faster and can eat more.. wahhahaha

Recently I went to a wedding dinner and I found that youngsters nowadays are getting either too pampered or lazy.

On my table there are a few 20+ yrs old youngsters..when the prawns was served, no one touches it except me and 2 frens.

One guy ask the other guy "eh ? I thot U love prawns ?dun wan eat ah ?" The guy reply "I duno hw to peel, normally my mum peel for me" then he added, U help me peel then I eat lor.

wah kaoz ! A grown up man duno how to peel prawns ? In the end one big bowl of prawns juz wasted.

ermm i'm pretty sure that guy is just toking kok n joking w his friend lah...

for me, i sometimes don't eat the prawn because lazy to peel, esp at wedding dinners or outdoor bbqs...

[thumbsup] Good, I would have the whole plate of prawns all to myself [laugh][laugh]

BTW, I never need to touch my prawns with my fingers, just use chop stick and de-shell it in my mouth.

Clean and fast